We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rory and Ryan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rory and Ryan Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hines
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been driving forever tonight trying to find a decent place to stop. Every town so far has had zero vacancy until we get to Hines. The parking lot is basically empty so we decide to give it a shot. They have plenty of rooms available but only 3 "pet rooms" and they are all taken. Why can't a place just take pets or not take pets? Thanks for nothing

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleBGM, General Manager at Rory and Ryan Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear TiffanyB,

I do apologize for the inconvienence with our pet room policy. It is very hard to allow pets in every room of our hotel due to access purposes for the pet area, cleaning standards and alergic reasons for other potential guests. We do realize that pets are family members also, and this is why we allow pets in certain rooms. Unfortunately they were full the night you were in town. Again, I do apologize for the inconvienence. I do hope that the next time you are in our area, you will be able to enjoy our hotel with your family, just give us a call to reserve one of our pet rooms.

Sincerely,
Danielle Buckner-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
33
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had been driving all day and had just "had it". We stopped in here just for relief from the car and not expecting much. Well at least the price was reasonable. Wow, the entire facility was very clean and well cared for. The room was terrific! The breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly. I very well may go out of my way to stop here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleBGM, General Manager at Rory and Ryan Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Bill W,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us while you were in the Hines/Burns Oregon area. We strive to make everyones experience as enjoyable as possible and I thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our staff. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Danielle Buckner-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
278 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

There are two Rory & Ryan Hotels in Hines. The first we stopped at (Best Western) reeked so badly of cleaning/freshener spray in the lobby that we were glad that we weren't staying there.
Unfortunately, the same, albeit milder, odor greeted us at the other R & R Hotel. My sinuses went crazy! Why such a huge spray job if it's a smoke-free hotel? The refrigerator in the room did not work; luckily for my insulin, there was ice. The room clerk acted as though she would rather be somewhere else, and the room was depressingly average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stillhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rory and Ryan Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Stillhall,

I do apologize for the air freshener that affected your sinuses. We like our hotels to smell fresh and clean. Unfortunately it may affect some differently then others. We clean our hotels and rooms thoroughly and want them to smell this way also. Again, I do apologize that it affected you. It is our priority to make every one of our guests feel welcome and comfortable when they are with us and am also sorry you may not have felt this way, I will speak to my staff about this so we can better serve you and many others. We have been doing some upgrades with furniture, artwork and amenities so I do hope you would give us another chance to give you an enjoyable, memerable, pleasant experience with us.

Sincerely,
Danielle Buckner-RRGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin
Level Contributor
256 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

As the previous reviewer stated, this is not the Rory and Ryan Best Western, which is a few hundred feet down the road. Some reviewers seem to be confused by this. Even more confusing, in the room the stationary and a note about the answering machine are labeled "Cross Keys Inn" while the telephone and fire exit guide state that it is the "Comfort Inn". And they were busy changing the bed headboards for some reason as well, maybe "Comfort Inns" have some patented headboard design?

Anyway, the place is quiet and clean and the bed (we had a King) was fantastic -- soft yet supporting. The only feature we could ask for more was the breakfast, where "hot breakfast" consisted of coffee, a waffle machine and biscuits and gravy. The eggs -- hard boiled, the cereal -- cold.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equal here. None open to the outside and they are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rory and Ryan Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thanks Almyt for your review. You are right we DO have an identity crisis. The establishment was the Comfort Inn until we purchased it and took it independent. We have another motel right around the corner that is called the same name - Rory and Ryan, but is a Best Western affiliated hotel. And to further complicate things, we also own the Inn at Cross Keys in Madras and that is our corporate name!

We are updating the hotel you stayed at with new beds, headboards, chairs and ottomans. So next time you stay with us we hope you don't see the old Comfort Inn furniture.

We are also working on improving our breakfast, so your comments are timely and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

(Don't be misled by the title above. The Rory & Ryan Inn at this address is NOT a Best Western. It is an independently owned motel. There is another Best Western close by.)

Although it seems to have all the trappings of the Best Western a block away in Hines, the devil is in the details. We stayed two nights and didn’t sleep well. The room was quiet, the surrounding vicinity quiet, but you can hear when any guest on your hallway leaves or enters because the doors close loudly by themselves. Luckily, there were not many guests on our hall. Our mattresses were the hardest we have ever encountered in a motel. The springs on one side of the Queen bed squeaked. The four pillows per bed were very firm or a little less firm. The air conditioning we tested developed a loud roar that would have been intolerable had we needed it. The refrigerator started ticking randomly when it turned itself on. (To the management’s credit, they replaced it swiftly with a one so quiet we weren’t sure it was working.)

Breakfast included large waffles you can make fresh. I enjoyed smearing one with peanut butter and honey. The bread was white, the muffins and pastry miniscule, the English muffins normal. There was gravy with fresh biscuits, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, and two kinds of cold cereal, among other packaged offerings. The coffee was not up to the Starbucks standards we’re accustomed to in the Pacific Northwest.

It was clear the management was earnest and wanted to please. There were just too many details that needed attention for us to be fully pleased. Your stay will certainly cost you a lot less than Best Western.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justducky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleBGM, General Manager at Rory and Ryan Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Justducky13,

I want to thank you for staying with us while you were in town. I do apologize for any inconvenience with the two hotels. We are in the process of doing some upgrades and remodeling. We have purchased new beds for the rooms along with other items, so I do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future. And do value your input and am very interested to hear how the changes affected your stay the next time you stay with us.

Sincerely,
Danielle Buckner-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
282 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel in the off season was very clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. The facility was in very good condition, the breakfast was good but nothing real special, and the bed was comfortable. We chose the Inn over the Best Western next door, owned by the same people, as it was almost half price. This place was a solid 3 rating with the basic features, and if you want a little more on the estethics book the Best Western. We went for a family gathering and it worked well.

Room Tip: Used to be a former Comfort Inn. We took the top floor for less noise. No elevators that we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4cents-worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here both before and after hiking in the Steens. The rooms were clean and came with a refrigerator and microwave. It took a long time to get hot water but it did arrive. The water running in nearby units was loud. The AC worked well and it seemed a typical (and decent) Best Western- very popular. The have a second motel (also a RORY & Ryan's Inn) next door. It looks identical. I'd stay again as they let us leave one car there for several days while we hiked.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hines
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rory & Ryan Inns
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Burns
Days Inn Burns
#3 of 3 in Burns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rory and Ryan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rory and Ryan Inn

Property: Rory and Ryan Inn
Address: 504 N Highway 20, Hines, OR 97738
Location: United States > Oregon > Hines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rory and Ryan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent family owned hotel in beautiful Southern/Central Oregon. The Rory and Ryan Inn is partners with the Best Western Rory and Ryan Inn with in walking distance, but remains independent. We offer 51 rooms, cable TV, HBO, WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, heated pool/spa, RV/Truck parking. Rory & Ryan Inn is located in Hines/Burns, Oregon and offers many attractions for the outdoor enthusiast. Our location offers easy access to many recreational sites in the area including the Steens Mountains, Malheur Bird Refuge and Ochocco National Forest. We are the central point for the popular annual John Schariff Migratory Bird Festival. Guests staying at Rory & Ryan Inn will have convenient access to a variety of activities including golf, dining and shopping in cozy downtown Hines/Burns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rory and Ryan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rory And Ryan Hotel Hines
Best Western Hines
Hines Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing