We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this motel tries hard, especially the front desk guy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Hillsboro
trevor-wa
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“this motel tries hard, especially the front desk guy”
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I've stayed here twice in the last month on sales calls - the front desk guy is great and the rooms are better than you'd expect- they deserve our business.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
23
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle,WA
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

My wife and I visited some friends in Hillsboro,OR. Before we left home from Seattle, we asked them for a hotel recommendation and they suggested the Econolodge. So we went ahead and made a reservation for the weekend at this hotel. When we got to the hotel, we received nothing but first class service!!!! Now I know why my friend recommended this place. With a great rate, a friendly staff, and a nice room, we couldn't ask for anything more. Next time we drive down from Seattle, we know exactly where we are going to stay. Also, as someone who travels a lot for work, I've stayed at many hotels throughout the northwest. And after staying at the Econolodge, I definitely give this place a 2 thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millercraig5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2009

One of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. The room was stuffy and stunk like wet carpet, cleaning agents, and I don't know what else. The shower knob had mildew. It appeared that there was more going on there than met the eye. The people next door partied all night and we couldn't sleep; we were afraid to call as we felt very unsafte there.

And worst of all, I had made a mistake on the initial transaction which I reversed within minutes online; the manager said that it wasn't "in the system anymore" so I could make a new reservation. Well I was charged TWICE and they refused to give me back my money, stating "the policy." I paid two times for one crummy room. Never again. If I did that it would be fraud, but these businesses get away with it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoliTicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I was in town for a week long business trip. The staff was very helpful - it was my first time in the Hillsboro area - they were very helpful recomending area sites for food and entertainment. The room was nice and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdmd1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Nice, clean rooms with all the amenities of a low-budget, average hotel. We got all we wanted! Big bed, everything was clean and washed. No major complaints. The hotel staff was nice. It's a bit of way from downtown Portland - about 20 mins off I-5 but we did not mind. The hotel is in a Mexican neighborhood and we had an amazing authentic Mexican dinner just steps away from the hotel. Ask the manager, he'll tell you where. We paid $50 for a queen bed and complimentary breakfast, not bad at all.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thaiaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews here and I have to tell I was not disappointed in any aspect. The room service was great, everything clean and there were absolutely no stains on either the bed linens or the towels. The hotel has been renovated and refurbished a year or two ago and the management is taking care of keeping everything in a very good condition.

The only thing that could be highly improved is the complimentary breakfast, however, there are lots of Mexican and other fast food places around the hotel so it means not a great problem.

The public transportation is very efficient and convenient. I would suggest one to take the MAX to get to Portland rather than a car as it is much cheaper, does not get into traffic jams and there is no problem with parking the car.

I must admit that recently this has been the best hotel I stayed in and can only recommend to anyone including business people, and you can even get a discount on the room prices, if you stay for longer than 6 nights.

  • Liked — Convenient location and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Breakfast and the rare but eventual break down of the WiFi.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ampiBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2007

This place has done a great job in remodeling there rooms. The price was great and the rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was excellent making us feel at home!

  • Liked — Clean Rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hillsboro hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Conference Center
0.2 mi away
The Dunes Motel
The Dunes Motel
#16 of 19 in Hillsboro
34 reviews
4.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland West/Hillsboro
4.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Hillsboro, Oregon
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Hillsboro-Evergreen Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West

Property: Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West
Address: 622 SE 10th Ave, Hillsboro, OR 97123-4627 (Formerly Hillsboro Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hillsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Hillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hillsboro
Hillsboro Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing