We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Decent Rooms, a Bit Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Hillsboro
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The rooms were decent and fairly clean. A good value. They were about average size. A bit dated. The floors were hollow and very loud for kids to run and jump on. Pretty good area. Overall a decent experience.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank slcresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 79 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a two-storey motel located in a mixed commercial-residential area in the center of Hillsboro, not far from Intel Jones Farm and Aloha. I stayed here for four weeks on business and paid $65 a night initially, and then a weekly rate.

My room was the "suite" style, which isn't any bigger, but has a short partition wall and a couch, instead of a second bed and a desk. The building is rather old (and very dated in its exterior styling) but kept in good repair. Furniture and appointments were quite good for the price level.

A breakfast bagel, muffin, & juice is included. If you get bored with it, a McDonalds is next door. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave, but the ability to prepare food is stymied by the complete lack of a suitable sanitary surface; the best I could manage was to spread a bath towel over the coffee table.

The area has a Mexican blue-collar vibe to it, with Mexican restaurants, taco trucks, and travel & remittance agents, plus the occasional car with ridiculous chrome wheels and mariachi music blaring instead of rock or rap. I did not see any evidence of a crime problem, though, or anything suggestive of drug-dealing or prostitution. A spike fence around the parking lot keeps pedestrian traffic from wandering in. There is a coin-operated clothes washer in the stairwell, but if it is busy or you have a large amount to wash, you may be better served by the laundromat around the corner. Just about anything else you may need is about a mile down the T.V. Highway: Target, (English-speaking) Grocer, Drugstore, etc. The "MAX" trolley line, a cheap and convenient option to central Portland or the airport, has a stop within walking distance, but also consider the frequent service of bus 57 which hooks onto the MAX in Beaverton.

The city operates a fitness center, called the SHARC, directly across the street. For $6 admission you can use a complete weight room, indoor/outdoor pool, hot tub, and sauna. You may want to pack a bath towel in your gym bag. A libary and park are also there.

For a long stay like mine, I would suggest requesting a second floor unit, to avoid the noise of overnighters moving in and out.

In conclusion, I found this place very satisfactory for my needs, and the area decent enough. I believe it is also very suitable for overnight stays. The price was good but not low enough for me to consider it a hidden gem.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank The_Conductor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Let me say we stayed here july thru Sept. Hotel staff is nice. Rooms are small and dated. Very noisy with traffic if you are in the office building. Stayed here but moved to another hotel because of noise with clients. I realize the staff can't predict who is going to act up, but it happened too often. We moved to another hotel. Old style TVs. Linens need to be updated. I will say the housekeepers did a good job tho.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

stayed here for 21 nights in september "12 with my wife whilst we visited my son who is on contract out there.

pros. very clean,crisp sheets, comfy king size beds, friendly helpful staff, great value (between 53 and 59 $ per night), quiet well away from road. microwave, fridge tv, free safe, a/c, free toast and bagels and coffee,laundry facilities.---------no one thing you could fault.

cons. dated appearance, gloomy rooms due to small windows.

its a budget hotel with no frills ,no pool, games or gym, but at this price who could grumble?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rogerdodge_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

It was everything we wanted. Economical, quiet, clean, great bed, in room fridge, fast internet, great coffee, nice continental breakfast, nice managers. The exterior and neighborhood are unassuming and the neighborhood is nice with a pretty park for walking across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SimpleManBillG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were in Hillsboro for a tournament at the Hillsboro Stadium. We decided to make a long weekend of it and see the Hillsboro/Portland area. The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. It has free wireless high-speed Internet access and Pet-friendly hotel. Its a perfectly safe area with lots of families and professionals out and about. We got coffee there one morning when we let the kids sleep late. The beds are heavenly, I would love to purchase one. The kitchens had just enough to make a simple meal including, stove, dishes, and a full size fridge - although we ate out mostly. We ended up not spending too much time in the room because we found alot to do on our off time. Room was tidied up nicely and the desk staff was helpful too with directions etc.

This location is in Hillsboro downtown, but you would not know it, its such a nice area. All the high-tech compainies have expansive, landscaped properties. Its close to several Intels, Sun Micro, Genentech, Solar World, FEI and many many more. Again, its close to the stadium. Its also less than 3 mile from 2 great shopping/dining areas: Orenco Station at Cornell or Tanasbourne on 185th. Bottom line, tons of food choices, maybe too many. It is also a quick drive out to the vineyards and golf courses in the countryside along US 26. My husband and son say that Pumpkin Ridge Golf Club is not to be missed. You really need a car but the commuter train is a fun way to get into downtown Portland from a max Station near to Econo lodge, for just a few bucks which is worth it just to not have to park!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carrie_lewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed here in mid October. Cleanliness is important to me. I found the room to be both clean and in good repair. The bed was also comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful in making sure I had a quiet room. I will definitely return the next time I'm in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hillsboro hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Conference Center
0.2 mi away
The Dunes Motel
The Dunes Motel
#16 of 19 in Hillsboro
34 reviews
4.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Hillsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Hillsboro-Evergreen Park
3.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Hillsboro
Larkspur Landing Hillsboro
#7 of 19 in Hillsboro
179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland West/Hillsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West

Address: 622 SE 10th Ave, Hillsboro, OR 97123-4627 (Formerly Hillsboro Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hillsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Hillsboro
Price Range: $67 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge Hillsboro-Portland West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hillsboro
Hillsboro Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing