We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Chennai Food in USA”
Review of Chennai Masala

Chennai Masala
Ranked #61 of 282 Restaurants in Hillsboro
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“True Chennai Food in USA”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very true Indian food, fealt that i am in Chennai ........
I was told that with 80 per cent of its ingredients sourced from organic farmers across India. Meals are served in style, with 90 per cent of the recipes steeped in tradition while 10 per cent are fusion — a mix of tradition with modern tastes. I begin my meal with the dosa, one of my all-time favourites. Of course, It has Leamon rice, The chef has mastered the art of perfect aloo cooking and does a brilliant job of it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SachinIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    11
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“They kicked us out before we finished our food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Why do you go out for lunch, with friends and family on a christmas like occassions (in this case it was Diwali)?
Celebrate? Food? Service? Ambience? Space? or mix of some or all of these.. We also went - keeping these in mind - to celebrate!

Unfortunately for us it turned out to be NIGHTMARE..

We ended up getting sub-standard food, unjustified and partial treatment, absolutely HORRIBLE service (or none at all) and to top everything up THEY KICKED US OUT WITHOUT LETTING US FINISH OUR FOOD.. Now if you end up paying $15/meal for such a horrible experience + RIDDICULOUS 18% gratuity on buffet.. It is painful. It should not happen even to your worst enimy when they are with their friends and family to celebrate something!

Well, may god be with you if you go there. This is how it looks like-
- When you enter on a crowded day, a lady welcomes you with that fakish pro smile - after all you are customer!
- She would give you a buzzer - which would never go on in the order that you are expecting
- You would think your turn would come eventually in that order. But BEWARE, you would be caught by surprise if you aren't paying attention. She would take other people OUT OF TURN (not sure what is the winning combination to be such lucky guy!) and you would keep waiting.. and waiting..
- Once you get place to sit, thats pretty much end of all the service they provide. Rest all is horror.
- You get your meals, eat and spare few minutes to decide whether you want to go for next course or Indian Tea.. AND THIS IS WHERE SHE COMES AGAIN, REMINDING YOU THAT SHE OWNS THIS PLACE, SHE NEEDS THE TABLE FOR OTHER CUSTOMER, YOU PLEASE GO.. Remember, you have not finished all that you paid for already!
- If you try to talk to her to explain, she would push all the burden on to you "HOW DO I MANAGE THIS CROWD, TELL ME?", "I HAVE SO MANY PEOPLE WAITING" ... as if you are the expert consultant on Food channel.

Restaurants have right to refuse the service. But once you pay it is your right and they cannot deny what you have paid for!
May be such a hopeless and horrendous treatment to customers would be pretty much a walk of life in "Chennai" but that is not how entire India is. If you want to see the beauty if customer service just try going in other superb restaurants around the town.

And mind well, staff over there would keep on talking in their local Indian language around you. Dont be fooled by their tone and facial expressions, chances are that they are swearing on you! May be just because you came few mins before closing bell.. Thats another icing on already "delicious" cake that they serve in the form of food and service..

Chef Robert Irvine, are you listening? This is the restaurant for you, if so much comes out in front of hundreds of customers, I cannot imagine what would be going inside the kitchen.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanjitVash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good lunch buffet”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Their Lunch Buffet has always been good.
But they have not always been consistent with the Biriyani that we have ordered to take home.Also the food is pricey compared to other Indian Restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baburaj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon, USA
1 review
“Tasty Restaurant but little pricey”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We , as a group of 15 people had been to this restaurant just a week back for one of my colleague's farewell party. The food was delicious and mouth watering ..But it was more pricey as they charged $12 for a Lunch buffet and top of it they charged 20% tip for a group of more than 6, so we ended up paying $14.4 per person and I feel it was expensive for a Lunch Buffet

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SantoshSubramani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great Food and taste- Buffet”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Food and ambience is good. Service is discreet. Can do with a change of menu on the buffet service. Pricing is nominal. Bollywood music does not over power the conversation. :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chennai Masala also viewed

 

Been to Chennai Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing