We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quaint cafe that is very surprising”

The South Store Cafe
Ranked #27 of 280 Restaurants in Hillsboro
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Soups
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a quaint cafe that is very surprising”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were told of this café to try breakfast so 4 of us went on a Sunday morning. What a great surprise. Instead of a normal, typical breakfast, the menu had interesting choices. and some unusual names. Two ordered a quiche type which was delicious and hot. I had a sample and decided that is what I would get next time. I had an egg/bacon sandwich on homemade bread which was great. Good flavor and filling, not a skimpy sandwich. We also split a creamy cinnamon roll lathered with topping. We heard that they have good sandwiches for lunch so we look forward to trying them. The place is out in the country and the café is very old and quaint. A good atmosphere for a meal. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend breakfast/lunch”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is my "go to" cafe for homemade comfort food, good coffee and service. Pastries are gorgeous; sandwiches made with the best bread, soup is great. Very cozy, homey place to meet up with friends. Outdoor seating available. This is not a fancy place....just one of those places where you feel like the owners really care about quality food and their customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Casual dining in a quirky historic building.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

South Store Cafe is my go-to place for lunch when I have out of town visitors. They have affordable lunch combos of homemade soups, salads, and sandwiches, plus fresh brewed espresso drinks and tasty desserts. The atmosphere is funky and fun. The building is over 100 years old and has a rakish tilt to the floors and walls. All my guests have enjoyed the experience and the drive through the countryside to get there.
Lunchtime is busy so get there before the noon hour to get a parking space.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adnylp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
“Perfectly quaint, with unexpectedly decedent food.”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Great place to get out of the city for a lovely weekend brunch. Delicious baked goods, simple breakfast menu, they don't overload you with too many choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I would walk barefoot through a desert for their pecan carmel rolls.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Amazing sandwiches and soups and salads and yummy breakfast make it easier to justify having one (or two...take home!) baked goods. Been eating here for years, the staff knows us and are friendly and warm and the food has never been a disappointment. Then again it is small so maybe everyone else should stay away ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The South Store Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The South Store Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing