We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly, going downhill” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachfront RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachfront RV Park
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,024 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,617 helpful votes
“Sadly, going downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This RV park has such a wonderful location right on the beach that for many years it was one of our favourite coastal RV parks -- even with the mildly annoying public drive in front.

But, they have some problems now :-(

First, the TV system. Okay, this is not their fault, it's **Charter Cable's fault.

There is now some incredibly funky system where you have to essentially re-wire your TV to get cable! They give you some wires, some connectors, a remote and a cable box and you are then expected to be able to figure out what to do yourself! There is not only NO help offered, the girl in the office did NOT even tell us about it -- not until we had hooked up and went back into the office to see why the cable TV didn't work.

Fortunately my husband is handy and figured it out, but for $41 a night, I'd expect to be able to just plug into a cable system with no hassle.

Second, they have installed 50 amp plugs in the oceanfront sites, but you don't get 50 amps. The plugs are dead. In this price range, I'd expect 50 amps. Why aren't the plugs live?

Third, the price. Last time we stayed here I'm pretty sure we paid $26 a night. That might have been slightly off season but was only a year or two ago. Now, "summer" rates start the 1st of April and as I mentioned above, the cost is now $41 a night when we were there in May.

April on the Oregon coast is still early spring and it rains. A lot. It is *not* summer. I don't think we've ever been in an RV park that charges summer rates in April!

To be honest, for the tight spaces, TV problems, 30 amp service and putting up with the public park drive in front, I don't think it's worth it anymore.

Yes, the view is great but I don't think we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Point, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Here is the deal...the views are spectacular and that is what you are paying for. At $41 a night, there are certain things that I look for. Wifi is one and it is poor here. The sites are ugly and in fact the entire place is sort of dumpy. There are foxtails up and down the trail where everyone walks their dogs. Please cut them down! Not good for dogs!

However we keep coming back because of the views of the Pacific Ocean. It is spectacular. This place could be a 5 star RV destination. It's not and it's too bad. It certainly could be with a little TLC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ccusay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very nice views and sounds of the ocean, but during the day it can be noisy with the local traffic. There is a road between the sites and the water, but it does quiet down at night and the sunsets are amazing! Good place to stay for the hookups and location to the beach and harbor area. The bathrooms/laundry room needs maintenance but they are functional. Would stay here again for the nice photo opportunities.

Room Tip: Stay close to office if you want stronger WIFI signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aktraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

If it were not for the ocean this place would be bad. Narrow sites, poor WIFI and an office staff not friendly. The web site does not tell you that the ocean front sites are only 30 amp. The office does not tell you until you try to plug into the 50 amp and go down to ask. BUT, the ocean sites are fifty feet from the surf. There is a road and parking spaces in front of you, but you are right there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KegMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,024 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,617 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've been here a number of times since my first review in 2007!

The location is wonderful and many campsites have a fantastic ocean view. There are very few oceanfront RV parks in Oregon so this one is quite popular, even with its' drawbacks.

As I said in my earlier review, since this facility is shared by the public, there are cars driving by in front of the RV spaces, and they park there during the day. There are fewer people at night, and it's usually very quiet after about 11:00 pm.

This is not a deluxe park and there is limited privacy but again, the view is so great it makes up for the shortcomings of the RV park. We really enjoy sitting in our 5th wheel and watching the sun set over the ocean.

The sandy beach is just a few steps away and we enjoy walking along the edge of the ocean. If we're here in the summer, my husband often goes swimming, but the water is too cold for me :-)

We have always found the host and office folks to be friendly and helpful.

We will continue to return to this RV park!

Room Tip: Call and book ahead in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This public RV facility is a great place to stop and enjoy Brookings Harbor. It is a short walk to the beach, the utilities are easy to get at, The Coast Guard station welcomes visitors, and there is some pretty good dining in walking distance.
The bathrooms and showers are shared with the public beachgoers, fishermen, and surfers. They are kept clean, but are pretty warn. For men it isn't a problem. For women you may feel a bit exposed.
The staff is great and helpful. There are back-in and pull through spots with 30A service. The price is very reasonable.
We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Call ahead and let them know the length/type of your RV. They'll have a spot waiting for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayak_Couple_166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grants pass oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

we stayed in tent ,the kids useing area for party raceind through with ther cars . my 4 year old grand son almost got hit by one of them. host did nothing about it, police were called, and they said there was all local kids, police did not one thing. i talked with host , i asked if we could get credit on our spot, "not our money back but credit" and was told no. if i did not like it just dont come back, rude mean bad host.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank robertathenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harbor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.4 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
#3 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Spindrift Motor Inn
Spindrift Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront RV Park

Property: Beachfront RV Park
Address: 16035 Boat Basin Rd, Harbor, OR 97415-8307
Location: United States > Oregon > Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Beachfront Rv Park Hotel Harbor
Beachfront RV Park Oregon/Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing