We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Half order please!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trufflehunter

Trufflehunter
Ranked #3 of 173 Restaurants in Gresham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Half order please!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I found this place on trip advisor and am more than pleased with the food. The service, although sweet and pleasant, was pretty slow but the food made it worth it. So worth it we are driving my leftovers back to our cottage to finish later!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    67
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

this is a reat local place that is in an old house. wonderful atmosphere. wonderful service. homemade bread. soups and sandwiches are delicious. only comment would be to serve smaller portions or be ready to share a sandwich. I do not want to take a sandwich home. meals are priced right.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Centa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Large sized sandwiches - mmm' good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A friend of mine once met his petite wife there for lunch - for her first time. He joking claimed that he wasn't hungry an ordered only a salad - which impressed her. But, he got her to order a whole sandwich (even though she really wasn't hungry). Obviously, she was flabbergasted when it came; and of course insisted that he help her eat it - which was the plan all along. Truffle Hunter is unique and very inviting. It's in a quiet old house, but nicely remodeled and conveniently located on Powell Blvd. The "Hunter" has always been an old favorite amongst Gresham-ites.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad, but sandwiches need to be your thing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We eat at the Trufflehunter once a year because that's when my sis-in-law comes to town, and it's her favorite place. I agree with others that the Mushroom soup is really, really good, and that the portions are very large. Also love the garlic fries. However, as a group we have found that sometimes the homemade sandwich bread can be dried out; I think it's best to ask which bread is the freshest that day (if that doesn't seem rude). A huge sandwich is great, but a huge sandwich on dried out bread is a tough thing to work through. I like to order their blue cheese pasta off the dinner menu.

On a side note, the last time we went, the owner very oddly eavesdropped on our group several times. Weird.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DPitZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not a good place for a group terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

They seamed inabble to wait on a group of 20 people at a time are drinks were always empty and food served cold, when we said something the staff got very angry and we were being very nice about it. I will never go here again after how we were treated!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fergusonfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trufflehunter also viewed

 

Been to Trufflehunter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing