We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lebanese food, casual atmosphere”

Nicholas Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 177 Restaurants in Gresham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: This is the newest location of Nicholas Restaurant, serving authentic Lebanese food in beautiful downtown Gresham. Convenient free public parking nearby, as well as street parking. Escape the hustle and bustle of the big city and have a relaxed meal with family, friends, and colleagues. Vegetarian and vegan options. Gluten-free bread for purchase or enjoy our free large pita, served hot from the oven. Best hummus in town. Dieter's menu for those counting calories. Beer and wine served. Turkish coffee. Scrumptious desserts.We also cater for meetings and events. All this and more can be found on our website. If you're traveling to the Portland area, schedule a little time to visit downtown Gresham.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese food, casual atmosphere”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Really good food. They bring a lovely large pita bread to the table with an olive oil dip that is fantastic. Downtown Gresham as quite a row if good resturant a these days.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaSue56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    42
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Soooo good, soooo affordable!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Authentic middle eastern food in the heart of downtown Gresham. Served hot, quick and cheap. The hummus is amazing, Swarma chicken and gyros are awesome, combinations plates with a taste of everything should be your choice for your first visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“It's the food that brings you in!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have gone to this restaurant since it opened, and to their family's other restaurant in town for years,
and NEVER BEEN DISAPOINTED. I get their Chicken Cabob, (it is never overdone, and it is nicely flavored) and their salad, with cucumbers, feta, tomato's, and olives, (I ask them to leave off the onion's and they do). I do not want any starch, so I don't order their rice or their bread, (or I would end up eating A LOT of worm yummy flat bread, because once I start eating that stuff, I CAN'T STOP, ha ha.
They have a good thing going here, and it is hard to keep a restaurant going here in Gresham, but they did so well, that they have expanded. This place is NOT TO BE MISSED!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5 star food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love the food at this place. Try Stephen's Beef- can you say YUM? I see no reason to order anything else. The food is so tasty and very fresh. Have never had a bad experience. It makes for some of my favorite take out at a very reasonable price for such quality food.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I don't care to dine in much. I am kind of a private person and most of their seating is comprised of long seats that run along the walls with tables scooted up to them with a couple chairs on the opposite side. I prefer individual booths which there are a couple of, but not many. The chairs are a little spindly as well..

If you are tired of the same ol', same ol' surely give this place a try:)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValuQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but extremely long wait”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our group arrived and waited a bit for water and menus. Then a long wait for the order to be taken. Then another extremely long wait for the food which came in three different, spaced out deliveries. Soda orders never did arrive. While the food was very good, it wasn't worth the two hours it took to have a simple lunch in the middle of the week. The restaurant wasn't real busy and probably had at least half, if not more, empty tables. We were given free desserts to take home to help make up for the wait. That was a nice touch and let us know they acknowledged service could have been better. Would go again on a weekend or when not having to get back to work. The humus is outstanding!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westcoastdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilda K, Manager at Nicholas Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
We are in the process of updating our staff training and procedures to improve guest experience and reduce wait times. We welcome direct feedback as well, so we can correct problems as they occur. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and feel free to call or e-mail us, so we can discuss how to earn your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicholas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nicholas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing