We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have Fun & Get Plenty Wet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hellgate Jetboat Excursions

Hellgate Jetboat Excursions
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great for the whole family, enjoy Hellgate Jetboat Excursions in Southern Oregon! Our interpreted Jetboat tours of the “Wild & Scenic” Rogue River and famous Hellgate Canyon are one of a kind & our 360 degree spins will thrill the whole family! We offer 5 different trips including our famous Dinner trip to the Ok Corral where you will stop for an all inclusive family style meal along the Rogue River. To learn more about our trips please visit our website or check us out on facebook. We do offer school, group and tour rates.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Grants Pass
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Have Fun & Get Plenty Wet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

So many cruises to choose from, we live here and suggest all friends that are visiting to experience this river ride. The boat drivers make it very fun! If you choose to go to the brunch the restaurant is great so arrive hungry! You will almost ALWAYS see wildlife and you will almost ALWAYS get wet! Kids and adults enjoy this ride. If you want to make a fun memory on your trip this is the thing to do! Have FUN!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    58
    8
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT Miss It!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wow, what a blast. The family is in Medford for a week ASA Nationals, and a teammate suggested this attraction. Honestly, I was a little unsure at first. We took the 2-hour Scenic trip (which I think is the same trip as the others, just without the food stop. Awesome! I noticed all ages, infants to seniors riding. The boat pilot was funny and had a lot of lot of local facts without being the least bit boring. Think Disney's Jungle Cruise at high speed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fun, great guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Guide was fun, gave us great ride. Loved the trip. Worth the money, saw so much and learned about the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelfunMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estacada, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great Dinner trip with the wife on the Rogue. Food was decent and the scenery was fantastic. Be prepared to get wet :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hellgate Jet Boat Excursions - Fun, Fast & Fanciful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our first experience taking the 18 mile jet boat cruise down the Rouge River out of Grants Pass, OR. The other two couples we went with had taken this excursion several times before and they assured us we'd enjoy the experience. My husband and I didn't really know anything about the trip so had no special expectations; we took the four hour dinner trip that leaves around 4PM. Each jet boat holds about 40-50 and are broad enough to hold about 6 people per row - every seat was taken so we were glad we had made reservations about a month in advance. Trips operate from May until September. It was warm the day we went, so sunscreen was important; however we soon found out hats had to be removed and sunglasses held on to because of the boat's speed. The Captain of the boat obviously was very experienced and knew the river well (he said he'd been doing this job for 17 years) plus he had a great sense of humor and gave interesting facts as the cruise continued. Now if you don't like being wet this may not be a trip for you so if you go, wear lightweight easily dried clothing. We found the water spray, speed, quick turns, etc. really fun. If you bring a camera you will have to take care so that it doesn't get wet. Told my husband that the trip made me feel like a kid again, you know giggles and all.

The BBQ dinner, (held very near the Hellgate Canyon section of the river - there have been several movies filmed on this area of the Rogue River), was in a new open air pavilion, served family style on long tables of 12. It was easy to find your table as there are name tags on the tables and a greeter to tell you where it is. The service was quick and very good - the food was surprisingly good too. They served BBQ Chicken and Ribs, mixed green salad, corn and scalloped potatoes with all the beer, wine, iced tea, lemonade you could want along with corn bread and biscuits, dessert was a blackberry crisp that was delicious. They served, I am guessing, at least 300 people in about an hour and a half quite efficiently. We saw Great Blue Herons, Egrets, Osprey and their nests, a Bald Eagle watching us from its perch on a large Fir tree by the river, many kinds of ducks and hundreds of Canadian Geese on the trip.

Don't think I have enjoyed an afternoon as much in awhile and highly recommend this trip for older people (like me) and for young families as all will enjoy the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank byebye2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellgate Jetboat Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Hellgate Jetboat Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing