We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, it's very good but do not overpay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Riverside
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Yes, it's very good but do not overpay”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There is much to like at this hotel. The staff are, without exception, friendly and helpful. The rooms are, while a little dated, spacious and very clean. The hotel's owners have a done a really impressive job of adding on a lounge to give the hotel some character. The downsides are firstly the price. Its popularity means that it is able to command top prices for what is on offer and that doesn't really add up. I should add that my tip for getting the best price is to go through your rafting company, they will get you the best price.

The second downside is the breakfasts. Provided in a characterless building, the breakfast offering is really poor. Lots of hotels cannot run to a chef for breakfast but that is no excuse for the poor choice and mediocre quality of the food on offer here. Despite really nice staff serving the breakfast, the overall experience was on par with the very worst chain hotel.

Despite all of this, the Lodge is worth a visit. Just do not overpay and look elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    149
    35
    5
    6
See reviews for
177
223
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were greeted by very friendly staff and found that every interaction we had with the staff at The Lodge was top notch. We stayed in one of the master king suites. It has plenty of space, a nice jetted top, a nice deck looking out over the river and park. It was quite and relaxing. While we ran out of time and didn't have time to use the pool and hot tub our room overlooked the hot tub and was just a few steps away from the pool as well. The wine happy hour was nice and we enjoyed the breakfast they provided as well. After a long day of driving we really liked the fact that we were able to walk across the street to the taprock and have dinner on the deck overlooking the river. If you are going to take advantage of the Hellgate Jet boat rides your in the perfect spot because they load the boat just across the street. We will be back!

Room Tip: The master king suite was really big. In the future for two people I would probably just rent a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Lodge at Riverside is an attractive, very comfortable hotel right on the Rogue River in Grants Pass. Our relaxing room looked out over the river, and the bed was very comfortable. The front desk staff recommended Umi Sushi for dinner, right across the parking lot, and we gorged on delicious sushi, but not before enjoying the complimentary wine tasting in the hotel lobby. Overall they got it right, and we'll probably stay there again the next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: The river view king was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the lodge for business. It was the first of 4 on this particular trip. This was my favorite! Unfortunately there was smoke from a large wild fire just to the north-a lot of it! despite that, the hotel is situated on the rogue river with nice patios shrubbery all around, large rooms, clean bathrooms and free breakfast. It's what I would call a classic Oregon experience-woods, river, nice staff and perks. There is free coffe in rooms, local wines and beer in the lobby to purchase and its off the main drag, yet just across the street from adventure (river trips) and great resteraunt. I picked this as a place to come back to for family fun!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinepeli14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Wonderful staff..helpful, friendly and courteous. I show up there once a month in the early morning and they always do their best to get me a room asap. Rooms are spacious and overlooking the river. Pool and hot tub outside next to river. Will stay there anytime I am heading thru Grants Pass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Lodge at Riverside sits along the rogue river in Grants Pass Oregon. We stayed two nights. Very nice rooms. Most rooms face the river. Our room 105 was perfect on ground floor. Two queen beds, very large room slider to patio. Pool and hot tub a few steps away. Daily breakfast included. Wine tasting and cheese and crackers. Also a cookie and milk hour. Very clean great location to hop on Jet boats, just below on river. Very close to many winerys and about 1-1/2 hour from the coast area. Across river from hotel is a nice park to walk around or have a picnic.

Room Tip: rooms in the middle have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived to friendly staff members, Aaron and Jesse, who were extremely helpful and friendly (especially Aaron) He gave good instructions, told us about the wine and snacks (and later the warm cookies and drinks). I asked about the nearby fire and he got back to us with the latest news and the name of the fire (Douglas Complex fire). He told us about a good place to eat to celebrate our anniversary. He was right. It was delicious. Room was perfect facing the pool, spa and the River Rogue. We enjoyed the accommodations and the price was reasonable. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
0.2 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#11 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at the Rogue
Best Western Inn at the Rogue
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Riverside

Property: The Lodge at Riverside
Address: 955 SE 7th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grants Pass
#2 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Riverside is located along the scenic Rogue River just 2 miles from Interstate 5, convenient to Hellgate Jetboat Excursions, downtown shopping, Historic G Street and Applegate Valley wineries.We offer 33 oversized guestrooms and suites, most with private patios or balconies facing the Rogue River. All rooms feature pillow top beds with feather duvets, robes, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers, coffee makers, air conditioning and refrigerators. Complimentary parking, wireless Internet, cable TV with HBO and local phone calls.All accommodations include an evening wine reception, fresh baked cookies and full hot breakfast.The Lodge also offers meeting and event facilities for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Riverside Hotel Grants Pass
Hotel At Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing