We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Riverside
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My new favorite”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've stayed here several times while in the area on business. Jake at the desk in the evening is personable and accommodating. The evening wine and cheese and later cookies are a bit of fun. The lobby was decorated for Christmas and felt cozy and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara B, General Manager at The Lodge at Riverside, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Betsey C, we are so happy to be your new favorite place. Thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoy your stays with us.
Warm regards from the entire staff at The Lodge at Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    151
    35
    5
    6
See reviews for
180
223
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

On business trip in Grants Pass, Oregon. Outstanding facility with very helpful front desk. This week Jake and Katrina decorated the lobby including Christmas Trees. An outstanding job. Breakfast is served by Jesse (always with a smile). A recommended stay

Room Tip: Travelers can ask for view rooms overlooking the beautiful Rogue River
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara B, General Manager at The Lodge at Riverside, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Tim H, thank you for taking the time to post a review recommending us to other travellers. I am glad that Katrina, Jake and Jesse helped you feel comfortable and welcomed.
Warm regards from the entire staff at The Lodge at RIverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Rustic charm, great hospitality, and large rooms describe this hotel. I stopped here on a trip to Portland over thanksgiving and though traveling solo, quickly felt right at home. A crackling fire, wine and cheese, and later fresh baked cookies are all part of the charm.

Pillows were a little soft, and though large, the room furnishing is about average, my room felt kind of empty, but that's a nitpick, we'll worth a stay!

Room Tip: View rooms cost more but may not be necessary for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We chose this location as part of our honeymoon down the coast and it seemed like a good stopping point on a long stretch from Oregon to the redwood forests. Jake was tending the desk when we arrived and it seemed that there was only a couple of rooms occupied that evening. Our reception was a little rude from him...he eyed my husband suspiciously when he walked in looking for the restroom and told him that there was none here and "if he would wait a minute he was checking us in as fast as he can". He inquired into our trip which I replied was a trip down the coast, forgetting to say it was our honeymoon. Not until we were walking out the door did he finally decide to give us our complimentary bottle of wine and 2 glasses to carry upstairs. He stated, "I don't know why they are giving this to you I just have a note here saying to give it to you". Which I'm pretty sure he was waivering on giving to us in the first place. There are no elevators in the hotel and they put us on the 2nd story so if you have oversized luggage and in this case a bottle of wine and 2 glasses to carry it makes it quite difficult. The view is nice but you are right next to the busy highway and the road noise cancels out any tranquil feel you get from the river view. We checked out early the next morning so we weren't able to enjoy their breakfast. It was a nice touch to have the wine but it would've been nicer had it been in our room so we didn't have to carry everything up the stairs. Front desk was not the friendliest as we had hoped based on previous reviewers comments but the rooms were nice. I would not waste my money on the upgraded room next time though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from street for a quieter stay. Riverview was blocked by trees so I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara B, General Manager at The Lodge at Riverside, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Lodge at Riverside. This review saddens and disappoints me. It appears what was supposed to be a nice surprise for you from the hotel turned confusing and just awkward. As well, your experience with Jake is so far his normal enthusiastic, helpful and accommodating spirit, it really surprises me. I assure you the comments that you noted from previous guests is the normal experience at The Lodge at Riverside and I am sorry that was not your experience as well. Your review is a reminder that every encounter with our guests is as important as any other and will definitely be shared with the staff. We would love for you to give us another try and if you would like to contact me directly, I would appreciate hearing more about your experience.
Warm regards,
Tamara Bushnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel (lodge) is within walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Grants Pass. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. If available, ask for a room with the view of the Rogue River. Their breakfast was more than " continental" offering freshly made waffles, cold and hot cereal, fresh fruit, etc. In the late afternoon, wine and cheese was offered in the lobby by the fireplace. At 7:30 each night, cookies and milk. The service fabulous. In particular, Katrina, Jake, Pam and Tamara were extremely helpful.....thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Rogue River are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferrybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel while in Grants Pass for a family wedding. It was a great location and the room was spacious and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were greeted by a great guy named Jake when we arrived and he was very knowledgeable about the area! Pam, in the breakfast area, was so friendly and accomodating. Overall this hotel worked very well for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

From our 2nd floor balcony we had a fine view of the river and parklands. Our room was clean, well appointed but the good first impression was slighttly affected by an odour - perhaps cleaning supplies. We opened the windows and fresh air soon improved things. The continental breakfast was served in a bright and inviting separate building and we enjoyed chatting with other travellers. A nearby restaurant offered patio dining along the riverside. Nice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
0.2 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
397 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
516 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at the Rogue
Best Western Inn at the Rogue
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
761 reviews
5.0 mi away
Weasku Inn
Weasku Inn
#1 of 15 in Grants Pass
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Riverside

Property: The Lodge at Riverside
Address: 955 SE 7th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grants Pass
#2 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Riverside is located along the scenic Rogue River just 2 miles from Interstate 5, convenient to Hellgate Jetboat Excursions, downtown shopping, Historic G Street and Applegate Valley wineries.We offer 33 oversized guestrooms and suites, most with private patios or balconies facing the Rogue River. All rooms feature pillow top beds with feather duvets, robes, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers, coffee makers, air conditioning and refrigerators. Complimentary parking, wireless Internet, cable TV with HBO and local phone calls.All accommodations include an evening wine reception, fresh baked cookies and full hot breakfast.The Lodge also offers meeting and event facilities for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Riverside Hotel Grants Pass
Hotel At Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing