We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, ancient, friendly, great back window on River/Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel Del Rogue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel Del Rogue
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Comfortable, ancient, friendly, great back window on River/Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's quite inexpensive, it's a very, very old building in which everything works like it was built yesterday. Good bed, and a deck outside over the Rogue river with the fridge and microwave included on the deck. Nothing to gripe about here at all. Would be great for a couple as well as singles, and I understand that they have suites, but I was alone so I don't know.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired_old_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear retired_old_jj,

It was nice to have you here and great that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you so much for the feedback. We really want to know what our guests feel about the Motel Del Rogue.

We hope to see you again.

Safe Travels.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    31
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
61
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been coming to the Motel del Rogue for several years as a pre-vacation decompression on the Rogue river before we hit the high pressure vacationing world of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.
Constance and Kevin are consummate hosts. Sylvia is quite a bonus! Friendly and informative with an addition of stimulating discussion. The grounds are excellent. We stay in one of several rooms that have a large deck for breakfast overlooking the peace of the Rogue River, and we have dinners on the extensive lawn, cooked on the provided barbecues, sitting at one of the many tables, watching the birds fly by as the sun ebbs. It is sweet! Wine touring in the Applegate valley by day, gourmet (albeit self-cooked) meals by night.
The rooms we have stayed in come with kitchens, gourmet coffee and eclectic 60's retro decor. It just feels very good to be there.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. Deck on the river? Separate bedrooms? Living area, kitchen? They have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Linda R,

It makes us feel so good to see families on the deck, in the yard, down by the river...

We wanted the Motel Del Rogue to feel like home and for our guests to have anything that they need to enjoy this amazing spot.

We hope to see you, again, soon!

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family of 5 adults stayed at The Motel del Rogue in August 2013. I think we stayed in room 3, which isn't on the river but was perfect for us! My husband and I had our own room, the three adult children stayed in the other room together and watched tv and chatted etc.There are tons of games in a closet. The kitchen was perfectly outfitted, for a long stay even. There are bbqs, chairs and chaises down near the river, Really cozy fun after a day rafting on The Rogue!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. when families like you are able to be comfortable and happy we feel that all of our hard work is worth it.

Thanks. We hope that you will be able to return one day.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Step back into a little piece of Heaven...where the air is easier to breathe, the gentle sound of the river and crickets lull you to sleep, and the rustic atmosphere is soothing to the soul...and you'll find Motel Del Rogue. It is wonderful to step back into time before all the noise of the modern world.

Our family stays at this motel whenever we come to visit. We've found the proprietors to be friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the rates reasonable. My husband and I first rented room 4 and were so thrilled with the atmosphere, cleanliness and wonderful service, that whenever we travel to Grants Pass, this is where we stay.

Being animal lovers, we particularly loved the visits from their kitties

We would highly recommend your stay here.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are wonderful, and they can accommodate large families as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are so delighted that you keep coming back!

We try so hard to make this a home away from home and feel gratified when people feel so comfortable.

Thank you so much.

You are the reason that we do what we do.

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
(and the kitties)

PS: We inherited 17 feral cats when we bought the Motel Del Rogue 13 years ago. We have spade and neutered 24 and are down to 10 - no babies in 4 years. It has been a real challenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We haven't stayed in Grants Pass before, but we do like rustic Americana style motels. so we went to our favorite site "Trip Advisor" and picked Motel Del Rogue on Hiway 99 over the bridge. Kevin and Sylvia couldn't be nicer and we were thrilled with our room 7. Right on Rogue River. (Yes, a little quieter stretch), but nice deck and chairs, lots of trees. Full kitchen and a second bed for my late night reading jags! Yes, it's older, but so cozy. And clean. Staying two nights so we can take in Jacksonville, Or. And two flat screen TV's to watch the Ducks football game!

Room Tip: Go online and check photos first, do your research. It is down away from the hiway. We had picked r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestotravelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. This section of the Rogue is unusually quiet and pretty.
Sometimes our proximity to Highway 99 makes people think it will be noisy. In reality it is only a 45mph two lane road and we sit down closer to the river than to the road.

It is also nice for us to see people enjoying the decks.

We hope that you will come back.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very quaint place, reasonable rates. We booked a single room with queen bed and when we arrived, we were upgraded to a 2-bedroom with kitchenette. Nice outdoor deck with tables and chairs. woodsy and clean. Right on the Rogue River. I'm sitting here right now looking at the geese and watching the occasional river rafts pass by. The manager\owner (not sure which) is so friendly and accommodating. Definitely a place to return to. The only downside is nearest restaurant about 1/2 mile down the road. There is also a good deli 1/4 mile away. We enjoyed deli sandwiches while sitting outside on the deck. Weather is sunny and warm in the 80's.

Room Tip: opt for the upgrade to upper room. nice river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are willing to share your experience.

Our policy is to always upgrade if we have the room.
We love that our guests love our beautiful property, rustic, historic rooms and attention to cleanliness and detail.

Thank you so much,

We enjoyed having you here!

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had been looking for a place for us to stay just as a stopover driving from Sacramento to Gold Beach, OR. The chain hotels were nearly the same cost as this darling place, and I'd much prefer to keep a Mom and Pop place going than the big corp hotel. We were due to arrive after 9ish. We gave them a call from the road to let them know and they were aware and so friendly and kind. As you drive in their driveway, it's like the sweetest little park, sitting area in the middle, lush and green. Anyhoo, we pulled up and walked in the office and we were greeted like family. Got the paperwork done quickly and was told our room was right next door. The motel kitty, Fillibuster followed us in and gave us a quick tour. Cute little room-think the sweetest room in your grandma's house. Fireplace, queen sized bed, cute mini kitchen with yummy fresh smelling coffee awaiting a brew with all the accoutrements like cream (in the fridge) and a variety of sugars, teas and hot chocolate. Nice little bathroom, but the best part, and we didn't really have a long enough stop over to enjoy it was the covered patio overlooking the Rogue River. Oh bliss!! I want to go back. Oh, the sheets on the bed were wonderful, like ones you have at home, again not like the ones at the aforementioned chain hotels... : ) If you're looking for a place that has charm, no workout area, but also doesn't take your credit card until you're leaving, please stay here. You won't regret it...

Room Tip: I believe we were in Room 4, I think it's the only one that has a covered porch overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Previous Guest,

We are sad, too, that you did not enjoy your stay. Yes, your bathroom is on our list of winter projects. The previous owners had placed the hot water heater in the attic and it leaked. We replaced it with a Tankless On-Demand Hot Water Heater and have not, yet, remodeled the bathroom. Your extra toilet paper was placed on a shelf - not under the sink - so that you would be able to access it without opening the cabinet. Thank you for reminding us that it should be in clearer view and that the bathroom should remain on the top of our repair list.

Our potential "gold mine" has been in operation for over 80 years and was in terrible disrepair when we bought it. We saw the beauty and the potential and we truly bust out the elbow grease and effort every single day to try to make it the best that it can be for our guests. It can be daunting, but we persevere. We know that there is always more to do and want to have your feedback.

We wish that you had told us of your concerns. We will always do anything to please our guests. We would have been happy to move you to another room or even to another property.

We are glad that you appreciated that we managed to have the River's Edge Restaurant stay open to accommodate you and that you enjoyed it.

Thank you for acknowledging Kevin's hospitality as well. It is his passion and he really loves his guests.

We hope that you will keep in touch with our reviews and perhaps come back another time.

Thank you for your stay and your input.

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
2.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#11 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Del Rogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Del Rogue

Property: Motel Del Rogue
Address: 2600 Rogue River Highway, Grants Pass, OR 97526
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Motel Del Rogue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Rogue
Del Rogue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing