We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a very comfortable, homey motel...great choice!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grants Pass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redwood Hyperion Suites
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I have stayed 3 or 4 times at the Redwood Motel and everytime I stay, it seems to be better. I love the landscaping! If you open your window, you can hear the little brook outside. The rooms are very nice, spacious, clean and upgraded. They have a fridge, a microwave and a workout room. I love the pool and spa. It is my preference everytime I go through Grants Pass, it just feels like home and the kids will not be bored.

Room Tip: The beds are very comfortable!! The staff is very friendly and accomodating
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katfeet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Redwood Hyperion Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely setting with trees surrounding the motel. Unfortunately, our a/c didn't work when we came in that evening. The lady at the front desk came by to look at our remote control and got it working. Thirty minutes later we were ready for a good night's rest after a long drive. The a/c started dripping water on the outlet beneath and the floor. When we called the front desk we were told to "Put the trash can under it. I can't do anything about it tonight." When my husband asked if there was another room available, she was kind enough to offer another room. This room smelled awful! Obviously, pets had been staying here and left more than a little dog hair behind. We chose to stay in our first room. We were out enjoying the beautiful Oregon rivers the next day, so we didn't have time to deal with the management about the issue or move hotels. When we did see the manager, she said to be patient that the local a/c repairman was a busy guy. We just sucked it up and stayed another night subjected to water torture. The sad thing was that an apology was never offered, much less any type of reimbursement for our discomfort. I would not recommend staying in this motel.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Shelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I could not agree more with the previous post. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the rates appropriate. The property has been so well landscaped. The pool area is nicer than many more expensive hotels. But for the most part, the service fell flat. It is simple and easy to improve service. Put a smile on your face and people want to give you their business. I have paid less for a hotel room and gotten a better breakfast. The people working in the breakfast area seemed angry to have to restock the Costco pastries. The nicest conversation I had was with the lady that was cleaning our room. No one was actually rude but the lack of friendliness seems odd for a motel.

I would return because it was a relaxing place to spend a few days. Hopefully some of these reviews will be read by the staff and they will get a lesson in customer service by then.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvsunOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a good hotel with nice furnishings, outstanding internet speed (15+ Mbits/sec), good quality toiletries, functional kitchenette, all in working order. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Exterior was clean and pleasantly gardened. I felt the price was on the high side, but not unjustified. As to the staff, I found the receptionists demotivated or unhappy - when I checked in, I was not made feel welcome and don't remember seeing anyone smile at me. Maybe people are overworked, or don't feel close to the hotel management. If they can improve the customer contact, I would give this place top ratings. PS: I agree with other comments that breakfast is too spartan and unaligned with the price. A waffle maker, some scramble eggs were missed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in the remodeled part. The room was beautifully done.. The bed was comfortable and the room soundproofed. I loved the beautiful landscaping. We would come back if we were in this area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulindamann59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We needed a one night stay for two families in Grants Pass and had booked the Shilo Inn, however the Shilo Inn's pool was closed when we got there. With 5 kids in our group, we needed a pool in the 95 degree heat, so we called this very clean looking motel down the street and they had the perfect accommodations for our two families. This is an independent property that is clean, in great shape with a mix of newer and older buildings. A very clean pool, and very nice landscaping and grounds. The continental breakfast was what you would expect in most places. The owner of the property was staying next to us in the family suite building and he said he had plans for a basketball court, bocci ball area, and more suites. This was a great find, and the best place I have stayed at in Grants Pass.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbollig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here while visiting family and friends in the area. We originally wanted to stay at another higher rated hotel but it was booked for the first night of our trip. We took a chance and decided to try Redwood. Within 30 minutes of checking in we had canceled our other hotel and booked two more nights in the same room at Redwood. We stayed in the new section and it was one of the best rooms we've ever been in. Brand new huge room with a king bed, beautiful bathroom, microwave and fridge. We enjoyed playing cribbage on the park like grounds and the pool provided some nice cooling moments amidst all the heat.

We're tentative to give such a good review in case the secret gets out and they start to charge more! We'll definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotraveler721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
639 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
523 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#7 of 18 in Grants Pass
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
#14 of 18 in Grants Pass
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Hyperion Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Hyperion Suites

Address: 815 NE 6th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-1555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
#7 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range: $91 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown location with easy access to shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. Upscale rooms and suites may be viewed and booked online. Awarded 3 diamonds by AAA with 5 diamond landscaping and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel Grants Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing