We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful motel but yes, service lacking.....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grants Pass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redwood Hyperion Suites
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful motel but yes, service lacking.....”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I could not agree more with the previous post. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the rates appropriate. The property has been so well landscaped. The pool area is nicer than many more expensive hotels. But for the most part, the service fell flat. It is simple and easy to improve service. Put a smile on your face and people want to give you their business. I have paid less for a hotel room and gotten a better breakfast. The people working in the breakfast area seemed angry to have to restock the Costco pastries. The nicest conversation I had was with the lady that was cleaning our room. No one was actually rude but the lack of friendliness seems odd for a motel.

I would return because it was a relaxing place to spend a few days. Hopefully some of these reviews will be read by the staff and they will get a lesson in customer service by then.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsunOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    55
    12
    17
    12
See reviews for
86
68
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a good hotel with nice furnishings, outstanding internet speed (15+ Mbits/sec), good quality toiletries, functional kitchenette, all in working order. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Exterior was clean and pleasantly gardened. I felt the price was on the high side, but not unjustified. As to the staff, I found the receptionists demotivated or unhappy - when I checked in, I was not made feel welcome and don't remember seeing anyone smile at me. Maybe people are overworked, or don't feel close to the hotel management. If they can improve the customer contact, I would give this place top ratings. PS: I agree with other comments that breakfast is too spartan and unaligned with the price. A waffle maker, some scramble eggs were missed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in the remodeled part. The room was beautifully done.. The bed was comfortable and the room soundproofed. I loved the beautiful landscaping. We would come back if we were in this area again.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulindamann59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR USA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We needed a one night stay for two families in Grants Pass and had booked the Shilo Inn, however the Shilo Inn's pool was closed when we got there. With 5 kids in our group, we needed a pool in the 95 degree heat, so we called this very clean looking motel down the street and they had the perfect accommodations for our two families. This is an independent property that is clean, in great shape with a mix of newer and older buildings. A very clean pool, and very nice landscaping and grounds. The continental breakfast was what you would expect in most places. The owner of the property was staying next to us in the family suite building and he said he had plans for a basketball court, bocci ball area, and more suites. This was a great find, and the best place I have stayed at in Grants Pass.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbollig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here while visiting family and friends in the area. We originally wanted to stay at another higher rated hotel but it was booked for the first night of our trip. We took a chance and decided to try Redwood. Within 30 minutes of checking in we had canceled our other hotel and booked two more nights in the same room at Redwood. We stayed in the new section and it was one of the best rooms we've ever been in. Brand new huge room with a king bed, beautiful bathroom, microwave and fridge. We enjoyed playing cribbage on the park like grounds and the pool provided some nice cooling moments amidst all the heat.

We're tentative to give such a good review in case the secret gets out and they start to charge more! We'll definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotraveler721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed for just one night in one of the newer rooms. Bed was comfortable, place was very clean but what I really liked was the large quiet ceiling fan over the bed. We will be back.......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8339flamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I've stayed here twice now, and the quality between visits was vastly different.

In the first visit we had a nicely appointed room for a good price and had no complaints.

The last time I visited the room was very old and it almost felt like I was at a different hotel. The beds were uncomfortable, the layout was odd, the bathroom was small. But the price was still the same (both booked within the same category).

Staff was nice, but almost too casual. Check-in was easy, but offered no help beyond that.

At least there's ample parking.

Still, for the options in Grants Pass, it is certainly your best bet if you don't want to stay at a chain property.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodMotel, Owner at Redwood Hyperion Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
We sincerely regret when a guest is not completely satisfied with their
stay. This year the Redwood Motel aggressively invested over $400,000.00 in
rebuilding a section of the motel from the ground up and upgraded all rooms
to AAA-three diamond standards. We invite this guest back for a third time
to experience the improvements and attention to the details that they expect
and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
1.1 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
501 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
400 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
#12 of 18 in Grants Pass
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Hyperion Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Hyperion Suites

Property: Redwood Hyperion Suites
Address: 815 NE 6th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-1555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
#7 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown location with easy access to shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. Upscale rooms and suites may be viewed and booked online. Awarded 3 diamonds by AAA with 5 diamond landscaping and amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel Grants Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing