We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming!”
Review of Buona Sera Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buona Sera Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had heard about this little motel from our daughter, who urged us to stay there after having a great experience there herself. Trip Advisor reviews looked good, so when we found ourselves in Grants Pass we decided to stay there. It is like staying in a someone's gracious and comfortable home. Each room is decorated in a unique way, and in fact it feels like one is staying in a B&B because of the "homey" ambience. Everything is super clean and tidy. Our room had a king size bed with a lovely quilt covering it. The bathroom wasn't heated and only had a shower, no tub, but that was fine with us. Floors are laminate, no carpet. The room heater worked quickly and efficiently and we didn't need it on for long. Breakfast is basic, but enough to satisfy. Make no mistake, this is not luxury, but it is comfort and charm. The couple who operate the motel are charming too, and very welcoming. They do everything themselves, and work hard to be sure your stay is comfortable. When we asked about a place to eat, they recommended a nearby restaurant that turned out to be quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beegee36121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    93
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
79
181
59
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We found this little jewel thanks to Tripadvisor reviews, but we didn't realize that different rooms offer different kinds of experiences. We used our Tripadvisor 15 percent discount coupon and asked for a room as far from the road as possible, which got us the great rate of $68, but also the tiniest room in the small complex, smaller than an inside room on a middling cruise ship. The room, named the "Eleganzia," did have some elegant decorating touches, like an antique love seat, but the room really made us think of what this motel was like when it was new, probably in the 1930s or 40s. Our medium-sized suitcase wouldn't fit crossways in the closet and our knees almost touched the wall when sitting on the toilet. There was no way any kind of counter would have fit in the tiny bathroom, but the owners had built a couple of small decorated shelves that helped. We felt like we were in a genuine "Mother Road" type of motel, but one that was so much cleaner and better maintained than those motels ever were in the "good" old days.

The owners have obviously put a lot of love and pride into this place. They originally wanted to buy an old house in Ashland, Oregon to turn into a B&B, but prices there are ridiculous, so they turned this old motel into a sort of a B&B instead. As we were checking out we got a chance to see a couple of the king bed rooms, which are much larger and lavishly decorated, and better approximate a romantic B&B experience. We'll definitely try one of them next time. Even though they are closer to the busy three-lane street, their walls are better oriented to block traffic noise.

Noise was our only problem with this place. The sound of passing cars has become white-noise to the owners, but it was difficult for us to adjust to it in one night. Guests who live closer to busy streets probably wouldn't think this one was noisy. The fan in the heating/air-conditioning unit made just the right kind of white-noise to block out the street sounds, but like many new units, it turns itself completely on or off every time it hits a certain temperature, and that was more annoying than the street noise. It also seemed to take its temperature reading from the outside air, pumping more and more heat into the room as the temperature fell outside. I had to constantly get up throughout the night to turn it down. The room was also so small that the fan had to be directed to either blow right on us or to blow the drapes around. As for the bed, I found it very comfortable but it made my wife's back hurt. I believe we can completely avoid these problems next stay by upgrading to one of the larger rooms. My wife kept saying this room was really more suitable for a single traveler.

Despite our difficulty getting to sleep here, we were very impressed with this motel. Why? It is probably the cleanest motel anywhere at any price. The owners either obsessively clean every room or double-check everything after the maids do it. They maintain it just as carefully. There are no loose wires or cords, everything runs through channels. Nothing in the room is high tech, but it all works perfectly. Our tiny shower was nevertheless one of the best I've ever used, with loads of water pressure and a fully articulated rain-type shower head. The breakfast was continental, but with quality tea, bottled juices, fresh fruit, Yoplait yogurt and Costco muffins (the best). The owners have a wall in the office posted with dozens of well-deserved thank you letters and cards from all their guests.

The owners bill the motel as a "European-style inn," but due to our room choice, we had more of a historical Route 66-type experience, which is good in a different way. Those traveling with kids or pets would be much more comfortable in the chain motels a mile up at the freeway interchange, but couples looking for an affordable B&B would love this place, provided they choose the right room.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one of the king bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Belago,Ca
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Found this little gem on Tripadvisor and thrilled I did! Have traveled many times to Grants Pass but until recently had a private home to stay in. LOVED THE STARRY NIGHTS ROOM! Room was not at all like traditional motel, smaller and more like someone's bedroom. All amenities present and both Noel and his "people" were friendly and always eager to help. There was the softest blanket on the bed, it provided the coziest night sleep. And a small surprise awaits you when the lights are off. Stayed 5 nights but won't be my last.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to office -less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ca-native48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night while roadtripping the west coast. We were welcomed by the owners of this family-run motel. Due to our late evening arrival, they advised and called ahead to several restaurants for us. Our room was individually themed, very clean, and wonderfully decorated. They have put a lot of work into remodeling this property. Everything was comfortable for us and we felt like we were family. Parking was sufficient and well-lit but I don't know if there is room for a trailer. We were thankful for the drinks and snacks for our trip upon check-out. Price was reasonable considering the service. Overall, we loved our stay and would recommend to anyone visiting the local area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Master_Caution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was such a delightful find and all because of reviews on Tripadvisor. This property has been totally and very beautifully renovated. Each room has it's own character. We stayed in the Romantica suite with a VERY comfy king bed, wood floors, charming furnishings and sparkling ceiling stars...morning surprise was excellent coffee, pastries and fruit, and a delightful conversation with the owners. well located and spotlessly maintained. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Each room is distinctively decorated and fun. I think all the rooms are quiet even though this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stumbling upon this delightful motel was such a surprise with rooms individually decorated with such ambience. I stayed in the Rose room on the way over to the Redwood area and loved this room so much. It really felt like I was over in Europe! The owners were so friendly & welcoming & when I was returning from the coast I stayed another night. The welcome I received made me feel like I was returning home which was so special since was so far away from my home in Melbourne. I couldn't fault anything as beds were very comfortable in both rooms & very quiet & look forward to staying there if ever I'm back in Grants Pass. So look no further for a stay that will stay with you forever.

Room Tip: If the Rose room is available ask to see it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nicely decorated and maintained. Old motel, but everything worked fine.
Very comfortable bed. Free wireless Internet. Refrig & microwave.
Tube TV has larger screen than some other hotels' LEDs. 100 channels.
The room (#14) was quiet despite being only one room away from a busy street. Refrig was quiet. Room heater a little noisier, but didn't keep me awake.
Breakfast was limited: coffee, fruit, pastries, granola bars, but even that was a bonus, since the website only mentioned coffee. Owners are friendly and went out-of-the way. When I asked for a no-sugar item for the breakfast, they made a special effort to get a bagel and cream cheese for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilowatt953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
499 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#11 of 18 in Grants Pass
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bestway Inn Grants Pass
Bestway Inn Grants Pass
#13 of 18 in Grants Pass
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buona Sera Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buona Sera Inn

Property: Buona Sera Inn
Address: 1001 NE 6th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-1113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buona Sera Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 15 minutes' walk from Grants Pass city centre, this charming motel offers a continental breakfast. Free Wi-Fi is included in each guest room. Grants Pass Golf Club is 5 miles away.Satellite TV is featured in all rooms at Buona Sera Inn. Comfortably furnished, each room is equipped with a fridge and microwave.Jet Boats, Wine Tours, and Top Rated Restaurants are minutes away from our location. Grants Pass is a great starting point for visiting everything Southern Oregon and Northern California has to offer! You must show a valid photo ID and credit card upon check-in. Please note that all special requests cannot be guaranteed and are subject to availability upon check-in. Additional charges may apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Buona Sera Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing