We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our go-to place in GP” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Laughing Clam

The Laughing Clam
Ranked #9 of 202 Restaurants in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our go-to place in GP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We've been to the Clam many, many times over the years. It's a consistently solid place to go -- with the kids, friends after work, date night, whatever. It's a casual pub atmosphere, often with live music on the weekends, with brick walls in a rehabilitated bar right in the heart of Grants Pass. There's a great beer selection, lots of fun cocktails (try the Whaler Inhaler) and good deals on happy hour appetizers. My husband enjoys the calamari and onion rings. The teriyaki burger is delish, and I love the three-cheese macaroni.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yakima4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    78
    30
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Neat Place in Old Town Grants Pass!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Went here on a Saturday afternoon for lunch - loved it! The building is old, restored brick and fun decorations - including bicycles hanging on the wall! Fish and Chips were excellent and their cole slaw is fresh made on site daily - a little different and very tasty. One in party had a mixed platter, and another had fried prawns w/fries. All were hot and good! We had a new server, so had to help her a bit, but she was pleasant and tried very hard to please. Would definitely recommend - they get very busy, so maybe a late lunch or early dinner would be good if you're in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch in a fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We are locals and don't go to this fun place as often as we should. Today we went for a late lunch. The fish and chips were hot and perfect....cooked to order. The interior is nice with it's brick walls and our service has always been wonderful. We enjoy have the Laughing Clam as an option for fish and beer. Saw another diner with a big bowl of mussels and will have to try those next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nelcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's all about the Clams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have honestly never tried anything else in this restaurant. The clam strips are wonderful and the ambience is fun; the service great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shansen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best clam strips I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you love clam strips, this is your place! They serve just the biggest, most luscious fried clam strips on earth with three very tasty dipping sauces. The rest of the food is also great but the clam strips are extraordinary!!! The restaurant is very warm and rustic inside with a great atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laughing Clam also viewed

 
Grants Pass, OR
Grants Pass, OR
 

Been to The Laughing Clam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing