We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must top on the Applegate Trail”
Review of Troon Vineyard

Troon Vineyard
Ranked #7 of 30 things to do in Grants Pass
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dick Troon planted this vineyard, one of the first in the Applegate Valley, in 1972. Forty years later, with the guidance of the Martin family, this stunning estate has grown to 100 acres with over 40 acres of grapes planted. Our commitment to sustainability (LIVE certified) combined with our relentless drive to improve our vines and wines, has propelled us as a leading producer in Oregon. Known for our signature Zinfandels and unique blends, we are also pioneering varietals such as Vermentino and Tannat.Located in the viticultural heart of the Applegate Valley, the winery and vineyard are set beautiful estate with panoramic views, providing a stunning backdrop for tasting our wines. Come experience our knowledgeable and friendly staff, picnic area and bocce ball courts.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must top on the Applegate Trail”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great place, great wine, so relaxing. Will stop again as the staff was very friendly and didn't rush us through. Parking was a bit tight so I do see a need for improvement given the number of customers that stopped by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank swlphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weed, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wine, not golf at this Troon”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

On our first visit about 6 months ago we were mesmerized by the wine, beautiful location and friendly staff. The wines are very good and reasonably priced. The people working the place are some of the nicest in the valley and the grounds are wonderful. Great place to relax and tip a few but not too much-curvy roads to and from but a pleasant drive. We are now members and hope to visit more often. Highly recommended stop if you are in the area!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon
2 reviews
“Best wine and experience!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Visiting Troon Vineyard in The Applegate Valley is a must for anyone wanting a great experience and wonderful wines! The friendliness of the staff and tasting room attendants were the best. They also have high quality wines at a great price. Also, "Throttle", the wine dog, is an experience in itself. He was my highlight! A HUGE Great Dane that looks like a Dalmation! We have wine tasted for many years and rank Troon as one of our favorite places to stop as well as some of our favorite wines. They also have a very reasonable tasting fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travellovers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Of course a case of wine”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

When we were putting our winery tasting list together, my dad's wife put this one first on the list. She had Druid Fluid on the brain. We went and my boyfriend and I walked away with a case of wine. The location of the place is great. Surrounded by hill tops and vines.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riddle, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Troon is it”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Troon has been in the wine world in the Applegate Valley since 1972 and was here before all others that have recently arrived other than maybe Valley View Winery. Some old vines and new vines give this winery the diversity to make exquisite wines. Vertical, Estate Zin are some of the best, but the more affordable Druid Fluids and Founder's Zin are not far off. With nothing to compare it to you will be glad with any choice made at this vineyard. The grounds, the giant chess game, and the ambience make for a great afternoon or evening with friends, family, and other.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troon Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Troon Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing