We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine”
Review of Troon Vineyard

Troon Vineyard
Ranked #7 of 30 things to do in Grants Pass
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dick Troon planted this vineyard, one of the first in the Applegate Valley, in 1972. Forty years later, with the guidance of the Martin family, this stunning estate has grown to 100 acres with over 40 acres of grapes planted. Our commitment to sustainability (LIVE certified) combined with our relentless drive to improve our vines and wines, has propelled us as a leading producer in Oregon. Known for our signature Zinfandels and unique blends, we are also pioneering varietals such as Vermentino and Tannat.Located in the viticultural heart of the Applegate Valley, the winery and vineyard are set beautiful estate with panoramic views, providing a stunning backdrop for tasting our wines. Come experience our knowledgeable and friendly staff, picnic area and bocce ball courts.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Wine”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This winery was a great find in Southern Oregon. They have beautiful grounds, great vistas, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and the star of course is their great wines. They have a large assortment of wines and they offer free shipping to anywhere in the U.S.. The other wineries we visited that day would not ship their wines east of California. We bought two cases of a variety of reds and dessert wines. Hands down, the best is Druids Fluids. Strange name but it is a blend of reds very rich without being to serious. Loved the wine, the people and this beautiful winery!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank STXmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Box Elder, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were staying in the Rouge River area and wanted to check out some Wineries and drove out into the country to Troon... Glad we did! Really nice View and a Great "Italy" style Winery. They also have very friendly staff that made us feel right at home. I love a sweeter wine and the Semi-Sparkling White was perfect. Also tried other wines and fell in love with the "Druid's Fluid" too. Plus as soon as we walked in, there was a framed photo of "Gordon Ramsey" and the owners of Troon. Gordon had visted the winery just a month before on June 4th with his family...Couldn't of had a better experience. Worth the trip, and a must visit place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jminchofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds, Excellent staff”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The staff went above and beyond. We had a big group of family including kids. The chef, Walt, brought them out strawberries and whip cream and a bowl of chips to keep them occupied while we tasted the wine. The girls that were giving us the wine samples were very knowledgeable about what they were pouring. We had a great time here, both the kids and adults. We ended up buying 3 cases of wine and vowing to come back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BellatheBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlin, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Wine Tasting”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We took off one day for an easy tour of one of the wine growing regions of Southern Oregon. We left Grants Pass Oregon and within 15 minutes were driving in the picturesque Applegate Valley. It was a warm early November day and we had set out to enjoy the Fall foliage. On a whim we stopped at the Troon Vineyard to sample some of their wines. The window behind the counter of the new tasting room gave us a view of a portion of their vinyard where clusters of dark purple grapes were still hanging. Jennifier was our sommelier and guided us through a sampling that included the usual varietals. The wines were all very good and I confessed to her that I had a weakness for blended wines. We tasted their wine called Druid's Fluid which the winery dubbed "Their great mistake". It was excellent with all the flavor of real wine and not the overpowering sweetness of a "pop" wine. We left with 10 bottles including a seasonal sweet wine that is served warmed. They had a beautiful garden where we might have enjoyed our wine but chose to take our bounty home and finish our Fall tour. It was a very wonderful trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SiriusTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
“great place”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

beautiful location, informative servers and great wine.
yummy cheese and wine platter
definitely going back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank crw12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troon Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Troon Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing