We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service! Good Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #18 of 204 Restaurants in Grants Pass
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
274 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Service! Good Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I usually do not do reviews of chains, but the Black Bear Diner was such a lovely experience I am going to change my own policy:)
Our waitress was delightful. After several dismal experiences with the Grants Pass waitstaff offerings, it was so nice to have an attentive, helpful, and socially apt waitress. Ivy was excellent in every way. She was knowledgeable about the menu, perfectly attentive, and enjoyable.
We ordered the corned beef hash and the California eggs benedict. Both were excellent. HUGE! and delicious. It was November in Oregon, so I had little hope for the avocado or the tomato on the benedict, but both were ample and ripe. I would suggest splitting a breakfast unless you are hungover or especially ravenous. They truly were generous servings.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piercedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    94
    53
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“When your hungry as a Bear......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I had eaten at the Black Bear Diner in Medford, Oregon whenever we were over that way and had the chance. Imagine my delight when they built one here in my hometown of Grants Pass ! The atmosphere is wonderful, not noisy or music that is playing too loud. The staff is fantastic. We had a young man who I am remiss in remembering his name wait on us for a meeting we were having in the conference room and we were so impressed with his attitude and thoroughness. The food is great. I only had to send back a burger one time for being a bit on the underdone side. They do their burgers medium so if you want it well done just say so and they are more than willing to accomodate. My favorite item on the menu is the Cheeseburger. It is juicy without being undercooked, the fries are hot and fresh. From Breakfast served all day to dinner you cannot go wrong. You also should not go hungry the portions are generous. Yumm yumm ! We go here once a month as we voted to hold our club meetings here !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cristalrose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Arrived in Grants Pass tired and hungry. The diner was easy to find, the food was good and the noise level was lower than at many diners. Being able to share a conversation without so much background noise is extremely important to me. It was a pleasant atmosphere and a relaxing dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarDene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“HUGE portions of pretty tasy food. Best pancakes I've ever had.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

At a restaurant or otherwise. Seriously, I have no idea what they put in them. And I don't care. Best not to think about calories when dining here. Homemade biscuits are also delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grants Pass Black Bear”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My first visit to a Black Bear Diner was a few years back at Shasta Lake. I didn't know Grants Pass had one, was looking for someplace to have breakfast, but wasn't familiar with any in the area. As I drove, I noticed the Black Bear sign, and knew I could get a delicious and hearty breakfast there........and I did. The service was great, and my only complaint was in ordering hashbrowns instead of country potatoes. The hashbrowns weren't what I expected as far as how they were cut, and these were a little overdone. BUT, the rest of the breakfast was great and will continue to stop at any Black Bear restaurant when the appetite calls.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Javastreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing