We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food in town.”

El Patron Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 204 Restaurants in Grants Pass
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in town.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Everything on the menu is above average, veggie burrito is best anywhere. Great fast friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
153 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great food and good atmosphere. I like the outdoor seating and they do kind of leave you alone and not come by every five minutes asking if you are ok.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrincessP541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue River, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An off night or a trend?”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've been to El Patron a number of times before and liked it well enough. This last visit, though, I was somewhat disappointed. While the service was good, my chili rellano tasted not quite. I'm not sure exactly what was wrong. Prices are comparable to other Mex places around town. Service was friendly and pleasant. As other diners have said, the decor here is converted 1950s diner and not in a good way. That wouldn't matter to me as long as the food and prices are good. I do hope the food picks up; this used to be a pretty good place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Razzcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality has gone down”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We've dined at El Patron off and on for years. Our recent lunch wasn't especially good. My husband's chile relleno was made with a canned chile. The tortilla soup was thin and lacked the flavor of past years. Would we go back? Probably not.....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not every day Mex”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great Food, Good Margaritas a bit out of the way but worth it. Has liquor & beer but no lounge. I agree with Dog walker...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patron Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Patron Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing