We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful river location!”
Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Inn
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Riverside Inn in Grants Pass, Oregon, has the best location in town, right on the river, immediately downstream from Caveman Bridge. I don't know if there are other hotels/motels in town that are nicer, because this is the only place I would stay. The motel is on a bank above the Rogue River, so each room is like being in a tree house during the summer. With the sliding glass door open, you can hear the sounds of the riffle (rapids) below the bridge. A continental breakfast is included in the room rate. The motel is next to the jet boat office (white water rides on the Rogue) and sort of across the river from the city park. (Cross Caveman Bridge, and then walk under it and the 7th Street bridge, upstream, to reach the park.) For a longer walk, you can walk south through the neighborhoods to the sanitation plant and the sports park, across the pedestrian bridge, back up through the neighborhoods on the south side of the river to Caveman Bridge, and then to the motel. It shouldn't take more than an hour. It's only 4 stars by my rating standards, because the rooms are a little worn and in the 1950s and 60s. They are clean and the desk staff is helpful.

Room Tip: Third floor at 5th street end are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 537 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just stayed for one night. The interior is dated, definitely has not been updated in many years, but it was clean and comfortable. Nice view of the River. Our experience was bad because the room above us was noisy...we could hear them walking around and talking loudly all night. The breakfast was great (waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, tea, cereal etc), and the staff were very nice. Don't expect to find a restaurant open past 8pm in Grants Pass and everything is shut down on Sunday's and Monday's.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healinghiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideInn, Front Office Manager at Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your review and I am happy that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. I am also happy to hear that our staff was memorable enough to mention on a good note. We try to go above and beyond our guest’s expectations wherever we can.
As to the dinner options in town, our front desk staff makes every effort to stay up to date on area information so that when a Sunday, Monday, or even a holiday comes along, we can tell you which restaurants are open and until what time. For instance, directly across the street from the Riverside Inn is Taprock NW Grill, which is open every night until 10:00pm.
I am sorry though to hear you had some noisy guests in the room above you. We make every attempt to let other guests know if they’re disturbing others in an effort to make sure that everyone can enjoy their room, regardless of what they’re using it for – peace and quiet, or a reunion with friends. Apparently we weren’t able to do so in this case and I do sincerely apologize for the disruption. I hope this won’t stop you from returning to the Riverside Inn in the future. And again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I was with a large group for a convention. The accomodations were at a great price, basic, clean and with a lovely view of the river from our patio. The 2nd floor room was noisy due to heavy feet above us on the 3rd floor. If you neednquiet...pick the 3rd floor. The BEST part was Jessica in the breakfast room. So delightful, hard working, and knowledgable about the area. She is a keeper!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radnurse56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Recently, we had the pleasure of staying at the Riverside Inn. A special thanks to Cameron who provided us with exceptional service, always with a smile and a great attitude! He helped to make our stay enjoyable.

S & L

Room Tip: Ask for the 'newly renovated' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strategicic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I have just completed a nine day vacation at this hotel. We have been coming to this hotel for 35 years. The view of the Rogue River is wonderful from this hotel. The hotel is the place to go if you plan a cruise down the river. The rooms are clean with views of the river from any room. The office staff and housekeeping staff are most helpful. There is staff to help you 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have great views of the river but also of the wild life in the stately trees t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

As we had a 9 hour drive from Vancouver, BC on our trip to San Francisco, we chose to book a place in Grants Pass that we could look forward to, one I had stayed in many times but many years ago. Our expectations were met 100%.... a peaceful room with a view and sounds of the river, a relaxing pool, comfortable beds, a great breakfast. The staff was super friendly and responsive. Everything I asked for when I booked our trip was provided....a corner room on the top floor with a fridge. When I needed a microwave, it was brought to our room immediately. To top it off they offer a discount for our next visit. We shall return there!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The view from out room was Beautiful. Lots of wild life roaming about the river and the sound of the river is always relaxing. TV's are upgraded and the beds were so comfortable making for a good nights rest. The staff was very informative and helpful about the area. Vee gave us a map of the area and highlighted all the interesting shops and places of interest. Funny thing is Vee even took the time on the phone to help guide us back to the hotel when we got lost. Oh and lets not forget Laura our housekeeper who made us feel special by remembering that we like extra coffee. This hotel makes you feel right at home, We make Riverside Inn our home when we visit Grants Pass and we Highly recommend them.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor the views are so much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
646 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
1.9 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
428 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
#15 of 18 in Grants Pass
198 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at the Rogue
Best Western Inn at the Rogue
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Address: 986 SW 6th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Grants Pass
#4 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range: $119 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rogue River in Grants Pass, Oregon, the Riverside Inn has 63 guest rooms, each with a private balcony overlooking the river. The largest full service hotel on the Rogue River, the Riverside Inn is just next door to Hellgate Jetboat Excursions, Taprock Northwest Grill and a few blocks away from the historic 'G' Street shopping and dining area in downtown Grants Pass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Grants Pass
Riverside Hotel Grants Pass
Riverside Inn Grant Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing