We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was very average”

Taprock Northwest Grill
Ranked #5 of 205 Restaurants in Grants Pass
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
235 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Food was very average”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good menu, but average food. Some food was nearly room temperature. Generally great atmosphere and beautiful outside deck, so rate high for that. Prices fine, and selection is good, but ultimately the food was below expectation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ssmhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    290
    161
    85
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent lunch but not out of this world.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We arrived earlier than expected for the jet boat excursion so we decided to have lunch at their fancy restaurant next door. The building is beautiful and have a wonderful patio.

The food was decent (had a BBQ chopped chicken salad) however nothing to write home about. Their beer selection was decent as well. The one big knock was our waitress as she was very edgy and didn't seem to want to be there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kbrenneman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We live in South Carolina, our daughter lives in Grants Pass. We eat at Taprock everytime we visit. I love the ambience and being on the river. We couldn't decide about the beer so we were offered tastings. Tonight the waitress, Alex, asked my husband if everything was OK. She was astute enough to notice his lack of response and dragged out of him that he didn't care for his meal (Shrimp and Crab Pasta was bland). She immediately offered to replace it with something else at no charge. He took her up on it and we had to laugh, the blackened fish tacos was definitely not bland. Two managers came separately to the table. We were also offered a free dessert. Jack Daniels Bread Pudding was yummy. I loved my Organic Chicken Salad. What could have been a ho hum evening turned out to be a lovely experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Welcoming service,great food & lovely view”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the swift, cheerful service, lovely salads (chicken with organic greens and crab salad), super view and local beer. We would happily return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location ok food terrible service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The headline is about all I have to say. It's right by the river so it's scenic if you get the patio. The landscaping is nice as well. The service was poor, slow and forgot to put in an order and didn't even realize the mistake then forgot the side. I had my plate cleared when I went to take my kid to the restroom with my dinner still in progress. The kids were hungry after their meals so we ordered an extra plate of pasta and waited 30 minutes for that to come out. The server was apologetic but really, 30 minutes for some buttered noodles that my 12 year old said were overcooked? The first time in about 10 years I've felt like an undertip was deserved.

My roasted chicken was mediocre, the roast red reds were a bit under cooked, my wife really liked the salmon, but honestly she's going to have to talk me into coming back.

Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taprock Northwest Grill also viewed

 

Been to Taprock Northwest Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing