We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to stop during our road trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilo Inn Grants Pass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place to stop during our road trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

I called up the hotel as we were driving in the car. They quoted me a price and I asked if I booked on a travel site if they would get the reservation before I arrived. The gal on the phone was really nice and said she would match their price to make sure there wasn't a problem. The beds and shower was nice. Breakfast included some fruits, bagels, breakfast burritos, and juices.

Room Tip: This hotel was right off the freeway which was great. Dutch Bros was right around the corner, as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4portillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    45
    23
    20
See reviews for
52
60
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed at this Shilo on a road trip to So. California and was impressed with the welcoming reception from the manager (Mark, I think). Our room was spacious with two double beds, immaculate, and in a quiet location of the hotel. (No street noise though the hotel is just off the highway.) There was a steam room and sauna that we did not use but looked enticing. We found this place a good value and conveniently located next door to the Black Bear restaurant which we enjoyed. We will return on our next road trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boatyard_Langley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were here on one our road trips this summer, the second or third time we've stayed here. It is just a quick overnight stop for us, so we look for cleanliness and quiet at a good price, and Shilo delivers. Just don't look for anything fancy. The continental breakfast is pretty basic, but there is a restaurant or two within a couple minutes walk if you want a hot meal.

I always look for a coupon online, this Shilo had one on one of the hotel coupon sites.

If you travel with a pet, there's good news and bad news. Shilo allows pets, but the pet fee is $25, which is a lot for a room in this price range. I know that someone snuck in a pet on one of our previous visit here, so if you have allergies like my wife, be aware that even if you ask for a room a pet hasn't been in, you might get one that it has been the temp home of a pet unbeknowst to the motel. That is my problem with the high fee - it encourages cheating. OTOH, you can try to negotiate with the clerk.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room way back away from the street, though we had no noise trouble with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Where to start...

What an incredible experience. The owner was so friendly! We got a warm welcome and an excellent dinner recommendation when we checked in!

The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown, but it's off the street and removed down into a little valley, so it feels like you're in a park setting. It's quiet.

The rooms were clean, functional and spacious. All rooms are non-smoking (yay!) and the hotel is pet friendly. (Double yay!)

The continental breakfast was FABULOUS. Real quality food items that you would never see at another chain hotel. From the yogurt, to the breakfast burritos, it was excellent!

Oh, and the hotel is eco-friendly, and had organic soaps and shampoos. A+

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanFam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My family stayed at the Shilo Inn Grants Pass for one night before rafting recently. The Shilo Inn is only minutes from many of the rafting companies in nearby Merlin and offered great rates.

The hotel is older, and could use some updating. I was surprised to get an actual 'key' when checking in. The front desk was super friendly and check in was a breeze.

The hotel is built on a slope and there are a lot of stairways to navigate in odd places. Make sure to ask for a first floor room if you have mobility issues.

The room was spacious but very dated. The bed was unfortunately NOT comfortable. I had a very difficult time sleeping. They did not keep any extra pillows in the room (I did not call to request any so this might have been resolved; it was just so late and I was ready to go to bed). The bathroom was small but provided ample storage for longer stays. The AC worked great.

Included with the rate is a complimentary breakfast which includes coffee/tea/juice, cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, pastries and packaged breakfast burritos. Again, the front desk were present and very accommodating in the morning.

Unless they replace the mattresses, I do not think I could stay here. If a hard bed is something you can live with, I suggest this hotel for it's friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FanofFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn Grants Pass, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
I am so glad to hear that you stayed with us during your recent trip to Grants Pass- Shilo Inns. I am very sorry to hear about the mattress not meeting your expectations. We have made some adjustments to our rooms, so that you might come back and sleep comfortably. We do have building maps available as we do understand that it can be difficult to get around. I was glad that we did provided you with the best customer service. I hope that you will revisit us soon.
Warm Regards,
Rebecca Walters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed here for one night as a stopover on a roadtrip. Unlike so many other places along the Interstate, this hotel is not right alongside the highway and is actually set back a bit from the street in Grants Pass. I managed to get a good rate online and found it good value. The room was decent sized and very quiet (I was facing the back, into a field I believe).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heliconone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn Grants Pass, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Grants Pass- Shilo Inns. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Shilo Inns partners with many online travel sites and would be happy to honor our lowest available rate on any of these sites through our 24 hour call center. We I hope that you come back and stay with us again and can enjoy our beautiful city and some of the wonderful attractions in Grants Pass.
Rebecca Walters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We arrived after 10:00 pm and had informed the hotel of our late arrival. The desk was open upon our arrival and we were greeted with hospitality. The room was clean and comfortable and had a good showerhead in the bath/shower. There was no microwave nor refrigerator which was fine since we were there only one night and gone by 8:30 the next morning. The room was quiet with no outside noise and the parking was safe. The continental breakfast was nominal with usual assortment of bagels, muffins, gravy and biscuits but not much for healthy eaters except for yogurt, cranberry and orange juice in cans and Cheerios and Total cereal. I suggested they might include instant oatmeal and the hostess said she'd pass that on to the management.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahoe_Bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloinns, General Manager at Shilo Inn Grants Pass, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you, so much for taking the time to write us. We do have a few select rooms that do have microwaves and refrigerators (suite rooms available) . I hope that you are able to come back and stay with us longer and enjoy our facility with our great expanded continental breakfast and pool, and the wonderful city of Grants Pass. Thank you for choosing Shilo Inns--"Affordable Excellence"
Warm Regards,
Rebecca Walters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
2.1 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 18 in Grants Pass
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Grants Pass
Super 8 Grants Pass
#9 of 18 in Grants Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Grants Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Grants Pass

Property: Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Address: 1880 NW 6th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-1038
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Grants Pass 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shilo Inn Grants Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Grants Pass Hotel Grants Pass
Grants Pass Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing