We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuck” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yuck”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is old and dated. We paid $170 for the "family room" for one night. It was dirty (popcorn & debris on the floor under beds and under the a/c unit), and LOUD! We were by the elevator, but there must have been something else next to our wall, along with the elevator, for us to hear the level of noise we heard fromt he second we got there.

Breakfast was minimal, not the typical HIE -- they didn't have the signature cinnamon rolls my kids were looking forward to. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboys1fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear cowboys1fam,

We appreciate you choosing our hotel and leaving us your feedback. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the noise challenges you experienced and the unusual condition of the room you received. It is regrettable that these impacted your experience at our hotel. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
55
60
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We arrived in Grants Pass after a day on the road driving through Hwy 101 in
California on the Redwood Highway. We had no reservations but arrived
early in the evening so we were able to get a king non smoking room
with no problem. The room was very nice and comparable to other
HEI we have stayed at. The bed was very comfortable and the free
continental breakfast the next morning was one of the best on our trip.
I probably won't be in that area again since it was a 5800 mile road
trip but if I did return I would stay at this same hotel again.
After traveling 2 lane roads for two days this hotel fit our needs
since it was next to I-5 which was our destination for the next
leg of our road trip heading northeast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murvil An Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was our second stayat the Holiday Inn Express in Grants Pass,Oregon in less than one week. First, I booked the second stay through the Holiday Inn toll free phone # for one night,king bed with a small dog.When we arrived to check in there wasn't a room with a king bed,which wasn't a big deal. Second, the hotel wasn't aware that we had a dog. That was the first priority when I made the reservation and the main reason to stay at the Holiday Inn, Grants Pass,OR. Walking down the corridor to our room all you could smell was marijuana and it was getting stronger as we got closer to our room.Once we entered the room it didn't get much better.In fact it was getting stronger.It was coming from the room through the ajoining room door. We took a towel,rolled it up and placed it at the base of the ajoining room door but it
didn't make a difference. I called the front desk to complain about the smell of marijuana smoke and was told that we could move to another room on the opposite end of the floor. After all of the trouble with the reservation, the smell and moving to another room I was just about had it with the Holiday Inn. There was sign at the front entrance that said " No Smoking Within 10 feet from building". Nothing was done to correct the situation other than moving us around. I would hessitate at making another reservation through Holiday Inn and staying at the Holiday Inn Grants Pass, Oregon again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rt805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear rt805,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
229 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had 2 adjoining rooms due to having 3 kids with us. The mattresses were bad, very thin and not comfortable at all. I didn't like that we had to go down 2 or 3 sets of stairs to the pool and hot tub area that is shared with the Best Western. There also isn't a bathroom down by the pool and hot tub so you have to go back up to the lobby, which was out of toilet paper. When I asked the girl at the front desk if there was a bathroom by the pool she didn't even know. The pool area was beautiful and nice that it is outside, we spent a lot of time there. We stayed 2 nights and when the maids cleaned our room they did not vacuum and did not do our kids room, which we did not notice right off as we saw ours was sort of done so we assumed theirs was until we popped our heads in later. Breakfast was typical free breakfast fare, although, a pet peeve with kids is when there isn't hot chocolate- and this did not have hot chocolate.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor so perhaps that made our room a little more quiet than the ones lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunusstein, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Pleasantly surprised with quality of this property. Freshly maintained rooms of a reasonable size. Breakfast buffet was better than past experiences with Holiday Inn Express. Grants Pass is a reasonable stopover on the I5 corridor and this is a good place to do it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrmdispatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The outdoor pool is shared with the best western but it was nice to have it outdoors. The rooms were clean, breaky was the standard Holiday inn. Be forewarned, there are TONNES of mosquitos so use repellent if you are spending time outdoors!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenmelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We liked this hotel, situated very conveniently and a warm welcome. Rooms fine, spotless and facilities what you would expect. And a great pancake-making machine for breakfast! But the noise from above (who ARE these people who seem to pace up and down their rooms for an hour or more??) was a bit much, and the walls were thin too. Suggest you ask for a room on the top floor. There is an Applebee's within 5 mins walk, which we used for a budget-conscious but tasty dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrington_UKVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
1.9 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
#15 of 18 in Grants Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 18 in Grants Pass
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass
Address: 105 NE Agness Ave, Grants Pass, OR 97526-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass is conveniently located at the junction of Interstate 5 and the Redwood Hwy (Hwy 199). Our lodging offers you easy access to Rogue River thrills, antique shopping, wildlife watching and wine tasting. Seasonally, catch the exciting action of Grants Pass Downs horse racing, enjoy summer theater and art, try whitewater rafting, fishing or a jet boat excursion on the wild and scenic Rogue River. Shop in the open air at the Southern Oregon Public Market and in the Historic Towne Centre or enjoy a round of golf at one of the local courses. The Holiday Inn Express hotel accommodations feature: Simply Smart guest bath and bedding, Smart Roast in-room coffee, free local and 800 calls and free wireless HSIA. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning. Featuring a selection of cheese omelets, bacon, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries & muffins, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Grants Pass, OR and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass Hotel Grants Pass
Holiday Inn Grants Pass
Grants Pass Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing