We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent condo accommodations & great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Collins Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Government Camp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Collins Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Coquille, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent condo accommodations & great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed 5 days at Grand Lodge condos. Beautifully maintained properties, excellent service and friendly staff are just some of the reasons to stay & play here. We used the condo as a staging and base of operations to support a family wedding that took place up at Mt. Hood. The experienced staff were a great resource for our needs and they went out of their way to help accommodate our requests.
Govt. Camp is a fun little ski village. Decent cafes and bars in town. The Ratskellar has excellent pizza.
Highly recommend this resort for anyone who loves the mountains, skiing, snowboarding or just hanging out in the beautiful Oregon back country.

Room Tip: Grand Lodge rooms overlooking Collins Lake are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    24
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
81
18
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lots of equipment ( heater, fireplace, barbque) didn't work properly and the maintenance department had to be called numerous times. They was damaged furniture and woodwork. The paint in some of the rooms was in poor condition. When I complained the manage just said " you were on a coupon so don't worry about it. No refunds" not my idea of a well run company that deserves my business. See ya losers. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Kiwi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Fischer, Manager at Collins Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
I was very sorry to hear about your visit to one of the condos here at the resort. Based on the information provided, it sounds like the rental may have been through a different company. If and when you return to the Government Camp area, please be sure to contact the Official Collins Lake Resort ™ to guarantee you are staying in a home managed by the onsite management company. Our number one goal is to offer a comfortable and memorable stay in a well maintained home, whether it be a full price stay or discounted. If our guests are in need of anything, the Collins Lake Resort™ staff is right on site for immediate assistance. Guests that rent through us are also offered exclusive savings on discounted lift tickets to Skibowl, Timberline, and Meadows during their stay - they can be purchased right onsite through our concierge! If you are visiting during the summer, guests of Collins Lake Resort® can save on passes to the Summer Adventure Park at Skibowl as well as rent kayaks, canoes, and more at a discount from the local guide and recreation outfitter, Mt. Hood Adventure. We hope you will give us a try next time you are on the mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Government Camp is a unique little town with very friendly people. The Collins Lake Resort (in Government Camp) is exactly that! Everyone is so helpful and friendly. The condo we stayed in was very roomy, clean, and comfortable. Even though we were out skiing most of the day, it was a pleasure to come "home" to a relaxing and pleasant atmosphere. Our teenage children loved it too.

Room Tip: Any location would be appropriate and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneBabylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights with 3 other couples. Very roomy and well appointed. The kitchen was well stocked with clean, new utensils and pots and pans which is not what we usually find in vacation rentals. We usually rent in the Florida panhandle. The hot tub is 100 yds from the bldg so that could be closer but otherwise a great place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was my second trip to Mt Hood, and my first time staying in Government Camp (last year we stayed closer to Zig Zag). I definitely recommend staying here because it is so close to the ski resorts. It made it super easy to get up to Timberline when the lifts opened without having to get up insanely early, and the drive home was pleasantly short.

The only drawback is that the walls are a little thin and the beds in our unit were only queen size. That being said, the unit is well sized for two families to share–4 adults and 3 kids in our case. Everything was well maintained and clean before we arrived. The kitchen was a great size for preparing meals for two families. The staff in the main office was always cheerful and helpful. There is a great outdoor pool that the kids swam in every day, despite the temperature ranging from 30-40 degrees F, and the hot tub was a relief to use after a long day skiing. The whole complex has a nice vibe and we found the people there, both residents and renters, to be outgoing and friendly. This is a very kid friendly place.

Room Tip: Request an end unit. You'll get a lot more window light and half the amount of noise from your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

If any one would have any excuse to be just good rather than excellent it would be an establishment in tiny Government Camp. Not these guys. They are pros. Good communication and friendly service. This past week we had our second visit. The town houses were spotless and well supplied. Very comfy furnishings, a pool, and a clubhouse which we never used.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReisenRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Two car garage, gas fireplace, pool, hot tub, beautiful furniture, fully stocked kitchen, helpful and crazy friendly staff, convenient and close to restaurants, shops, ski bowl, etc...! I was very impressed! Made our family trip luxurious, we felt so spoiled! We highly recommend it and will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Fischer, Manager at Collins Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Exceeding a guest's expectations is our team's number one goal! Nothing makes us happier! We wish you a Happy New Year and look forward to seeing you again at Collins Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.9 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
10.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
12.0 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
0.0 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collins Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Lake Resort

Property: Collins Lake Resort
Address: 88149 E Creek Ridge Rd, Government Camp, OR 97028-0078
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Collins Lake Hotel Government Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing