We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalets at Collins Lake”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Government Camp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Collins Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Chalets at Collins Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Chalets at Collins Lake is a very beautiful property to stay at. It was very close to everything in the small town of Government Camp and close to the ski resorts of Ski Bowl and Timberline.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The kitchen was fully stocked, tons of linens and towels, beautifully designed and very clean - very warm and inviting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    24
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
83
18
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place was just what we needed - a great alternative to staying in Timberline Lodge which is often booked. By staying at Collin's Lake Resort in Government Camp you have a choice of cooking at home or walking to local restaurants and bars. You can walk to Ski Bowl if you don't want to venture out to other area ski spots. The condo we rented was tastefully furnished with everything you need in a kitchen and more. It was nice to be able to drive right into the garage to unload luggage and not have to worry about snow removal. The mattresses in the bedrooms were very comfortable! In addition, the pool and hot tub at the resort were a delight after a long day of skiing and provided an opportunity to socialize with other guests. The people in the office were very friendly and helpful. We will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice condo, kitchen was fully equipped, convenient to inner-tubing and Government Camp for evening activities.... the only caveat would be our unit B11 had VERY steep stairs from the entry and again to get to the bedrooms. If stairs are an issue, find another unit.

We had prompt responses from all the Collins Lake Resort staff when questions or assistance was needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpgfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The property was perfect for our needs; it was spacious and clean. The kitchen was well stocked as well as the house with games, DVDs and other stuff. We also enjoyed the outdoor hot tub this time and loved it (on our previous stay in spring break was not opened).

Room Tip: Master is a bit noisy because backs to a road. It did not bother us though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FumikoKutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Fischer, Manager at Collins Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
It's great to hear you enjoyed your return stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again...maybe this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

De-icing roads around condominiums could have prevented my injury. I saw couple of people falling hard while stayin there. They do very little to keep their guests safe. Also a lot of dust in apartments. Not the cleanest place I have been. If you come on summer time it's probably good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szmajdov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Fischer, Manager at Collins Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your note; with warmer temperatures and rain quickly turning to freezing temperatures, the last few days have reminded all of us of the power of Mother Nature. I appreciate you sharing your experience as it is very important that all guests visiting the Mt. Hood Area be prepared for winter conditions whether driving, walking, or playing.
We hope you return in the Summer, it really is a beautiful place to be when the snow has melted, opening up trails for hiking and biking, lakes for paddling, and Skibowl's Summer Adventure Park! Thank you again and I wish you the best in the month's to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a great weekend staying Building D, Chalet 21 at Collins Lake Resorts! The condo was very comfortable, spacious, clean and fun! The bedrooms were big and each had their own bathroom. The kitchen had everything you'd need and the condo was stocked with movies and games with a foosball table in the garage. The balcony off the living room overlooked a lovely stream and forest. The condo is within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants/bars of Government Camp and a short 15 minute drive to Timberline Lodge. I will definitely be back to this condo!

Room Tip: Stay in Building D, Chalet 21!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

There were a few things that seemed odd, no one really felt like real people lived there, yet it was billed as owned privately, the wi fi didn't work, the kitchen faucet leaked, and there was no bread knife.

Aside from this:

-The condos are nearly new, and well equipped and each with 2 car garage which seemed heated (has the furnace and water heater in the same space).

-Location is great, we recommend the W block. A good central point, town is just a short walk away across the snow and there are slopes for boogy boards next to the building if you have kids.

-The price seemed very reasonable for a place that would sleep 6 or 8 persons.

-The weather was perfect.

-No problems with street noise. The condo next to one of the two we rented had noisy neighbors (loud music) but it wasn't noticeable from the bedroom level.

Note that these condos are on three levels, entry and garage on 1, living room kitchen on 2, and bedrooms on 3, and the stairs are quite steep.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OregonArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
3.0 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
10.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
14.2 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
12.0 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collins Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Lake Resort

Property: Collins Lake Resort
Address: 88149 E Creek Ridge Rd, Government Camp, OR 97028-0078
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Collins Lake Hotel Government Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing