We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We couldn’t have enjoyed our stay more!  ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Collins Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Government Camp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Collins Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“We couldn’t have enjoyed our stay more!  ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Collins Lake in unit 98 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. This unit is beautifully decorated and well appointed.  All the comforts of home, complete with 2 separate bedrooms, each with their own bathrooms.  Beautiful granite countertops in the kitchen, 2 fireplaces, big screen TV and leather furniture make the living area very comfortable. The views from each window are beautiful - even a view of Mt Hood. This unit is located away from the noise of the highway traffic and definitely in a serene setting.  We loved the convenience of having a garage so we didn’t need to remove snow from the car before venturing out. This location is perfect for accessing both Ski Bowl, Timberline and sledding areas. Restaurants & nightlife are walking distance in nearby Government Camp.  We love this unit so much we have returned with out of town guests.  We highly recommend a stay at Collins Lake.  

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddbluedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    24
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
81
18
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were 4 adults and 2 children and this condo was a great fit for us. We loved the pools, especially the therapy pool in the trees. After a day of skiing it was the perfect way to wind down. We also enjoyed the Wii in this condo and that alone was reason enough to chose this unit over others. We felt very well cared for by the management staff and had everything we needed for a great stay (and those things we forgot to bring, such as tin foil, were a short walk away at the general store). The beds were very comfortable, the furnishings great all around. We highly recommend this unit and Collins Lake Resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnside745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better weekend. I wish we could have said no to the Ratskeller's pizza more than once but it was way to good. The weather was amazing at Meadows and the place we stayed at in Collins Lake Resort was perfect. Friendly staff and it's walking distance to everything. We will be planning another get-away weekend there soon! The only thing I wish Collins Lake would change is their garbage bags in the town houses :-) While picking up and taking the trash out, every single bag broke and made for a messy clean up. I'll just remember to bring my own next time :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austin_lyndsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Fischer, Manager at Collins Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing! We hope to see you again at Collins Lake Resort and will be sure to pass along your nice words to the Ratskeller Crew. We have also started looking in to alternative trash bags to provide in our homes. Thank you again...see you on the mountain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

What a beautiful unit...someone knew what they were doing with decor and lighting...not to mention a great selection of spices and decent pans! Great attention to detail. Nice hot tub area and pool, beautiful club house to use as well. unit 100 building W. ps..the bed was heaven.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpalena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo here for 5 days/ 4 nights over spring break- my husband and I and our 3 kids. The condo itself was wonderful- very comfortable, well appointed, clean. Having the basement to park in and stay out of the snow was great, and there was plenty of room down there to hang and dry ski/ snow clothes and gear. The open floor plan of the main level is great for families, and having 3 bedrooms/ 2 baths was a plus as well so we could all get a good nights sleep. We were in unit W94, which I would recommend, as long as you don't mind that the beds were a little soft. It had toys for my youngest to enjoy, and a good selection of family movies. Being in building W at the back of the property was nice- we had views of Collins lake (really more of a pond), lots of snow covered trees, and the slopes of ski bowl. This gave it a little more of a secluded feel. From many of the other buildings you really only saw other buildings and parking areas- I much preferred our view, even if we did have a slightly longer walk to the pool and hot tub.

The kids loved the pool! The pool is heated for winter use, although I still found it a little chilly and preferred the hot tub. The larger of the 2 hot tubs out in the woods was amazing!

We spent the week sledding at various places, tubing at ski bowl, and skiing at timberline and meadows. There is even an open area at the entrance to the resort that had some good snow piles for sledding and snow play. If you book directly from Collins Lake, you can get very good discounts at the ski areas and on tubing. I compared the prices from the resort to various units available on VRBO and we got a much better deal directly from the resort as they took 20% off for staying more than 2 nights (but we did book almost last minute too).

I highly recommend Collins Lake Resort!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sail_into_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in #55! We had six adults and 3 small children. The home was clean and had plenty of dishes, bedding and towels. We were there in a BIG snowstorm and practically had the place to ourselves. We found the staff to be attentive and pleasant. The pools and sauna were great! Great location to skiing at SkiBowl, Timberline and Summit. We would def stay again. Bring your own plastic ware for leftover food storage as well as plastic wrap and foil. The kitchen faucet needed a repair, hopefully its been attended to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our ski club recently stayed two nights at Collins Lake Resort. No complaints. I would recommend it for large groups -- the reservations staff worked with us to book a mix of condos that fit our group's sleeping arrangements. All the condos were modern, clean and comfortable, with two car garages (one car behind the other) and additional parking nearby. The location is excellent: right in Government Camp, and close to the three nearby ski resorts. If you want you can party late at Charlie's (Government Camp's best local apres ski hangout) and walk home to your condo within 10 minutes. There is a hot pool that is open until 11PM at night which our members enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.9 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
10.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
12.0 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
0.0 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collins Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Lake Resort

Property: Collins Lake Resort
Address: 88149 E Creek Ridge Rd, Government Camp, OR 97028-0078
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Collins Lake Hotel Government Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing