We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great unless you want to ski.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberline Lodge Ski Area

Timberline Lodge Ski Area
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not great unless you want to ski.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went up expecting nice views and a good lunch. The best view is from the parking lot, of all places. Nice area with history of the resort and short film. We made the mistake of skipping the lunch buffet in the lodge and going over to the ski shack's dining, which was terrible. Over cooked, greasy food. Wish we had done the buffet, but hadn't wanted to eat that much food for lunch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank demlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    53
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent many weekends with my young kids skiing at Timberline this winter. Overall highly recommend going to Timberline for skiing.

Positives
* wide range of runs - from beginner to advanced
* long runs
* great views, especially from Magic Mile and Palmer
* long ski season (they get alot of snow)
* Good parking (not far from ski zone)
* Modern lifts - fast and have safety bars
* Fascinating Timberline Lodge hotel

Negatives
* if you are an advanced skier, you might find the black diamonds at Timberline a bit easy
* ski school for kids - instructors are mostly HS or college kids. They do more "accompany skiing" vs actual teaching. (If you have young kids who want to learn how to ski, I recommend Mogul Busters ski school at SkiBowl)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DT861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just walked through the lodge, but it is just so rustic and interesting - I'd love to come back and spend some nights and eat dinner there. Great access to the ski areas and special storage lockers for gear and inside storage for your boots.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great place to enjoy the snow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

A good place to learn to snowshoe! The lodge is beautiful and easy to stop in for a beverage or food. Good service!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Conrad2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great variety of runs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The ski resort at Timberline has a variety of runs, from the easy to the black diamond. I recommend the beginning leg of West Leg run but not after that, it's a bit too flat. The lifts have short lines, quick lifts and all runs can easily lead you back to the Timberline lodge for a hot beverage.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timberline Lodge Ski Area also viewed

Government Camp, Clackamas County
Government Camp, Clackamas County
 
 

Been to Timberline Lodge Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing