We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Birthday Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Government Camp
Pullman
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Birthday Visit”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Six of us and a two year old had plenty of space and lots of fun in unit 3. It is furnished so well; comfortable and everything you need, along with an ambiance that is just right for the area. It is so well built also and great details like heated slate bathroom floors, a shower that turns into a sauna if you choose, a little balcony that looks out over a view and town action, and just above a store that has everything you need! One has access to the pool at Timberline, but we didn't have time for that.

Room Tip: I would come back to unit 3; looks like they are all decorated differently so may try another also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PullmanPullman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place turned out to be a double black diamond. We had no idea how nice it would turn out to be staging our outings from here. Everything except the slopes are within walking distance. Unit # 3 was very clean, the Staff very friendly & professional. The price and amenities were just as we had been told they would be when we booked the unit. I would come back and we highly recommend this Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Lodge was a great choice for staying in Government Camp. Really great people to work with, fair price, good clean facilities, good parking and great location. We really loved being able to use the pool and VIP parking up at the Timberline Lodge, this was a great perk.

We will stay here again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the courtyard side which had a skateboard park while we were there. The skatepark is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seymourkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in Unit 8 over the Christmas holidays and loved every minute. In the past we have stayed at Timberline Lodge. It is certainly historic and unique, but the rooms are small. In the Lodge my wife and I stayed with our son, his wife and two girls. Plenty of room for all and our ski/snowshoe equipment. The best thing about this facility is the covered parking space under the Lodge, assigned to you (only one per unit). You enter around back. There is also a storage unit behind your car for your snow gear. They also have some patio furniture there for summer use on your deck (upstairs in our unit). There are two complete bathrooms, one downstairs and one up. The girls stayed in the loft while the parents stayed in the two bedrooms downstairs by the kitchen and great room (boy, is it every great with fireplace, TV and huge windows). The location was super for renting gear (across the street) or eating (within walking distance along the main street). Also, we went up Mt. Hood via the side street next to the lodge to look at other single family rentals. There are several places where kids can sled. Farther up we put on our snowshoes and followed the cleared (of trees) trail for a mile up for awesome views. Timberline Lodge is only 3 miles by snowshoe from the Lodge at GC. We would of hiked it, but the weather looked iffy at the top of Hood and we all know what that means. There was so much snow there that we took a sleigh ride, complete with two large horses and bells...what a treat. They can only do it when snow covers the streets. The office for picking up/turning in your keys is not in the store, but at an entrance on the west side. There is an elevator in the Lodge, too. We will go back.

Room Tip: We were on the north side...the only view of Mt. Hood was from our 2nd floor patio. However, we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarryR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are going to stay in Government camp, The Lodge is a good choice. We have stayed here previously and that experience was not a good one. We decided to give it another chance and were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in unit 4 this time. It is very "lodgie". That is a good thing. My only negative would be the upstairs queen bed us very uncomfortable. The sun, if shining, will wake you up if you are in the loft. There are no blinds. This unit is not very soundproof and if others get up to catch the the first powder, you will hear them.
All in all, we will return.

Room Tip: Avoid east facing units unless you like waking up with the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in Unit 6. It was decorated beautifully and comfortably. Perfect location atop of the grocery store. The grocery store and rental staff were very nice and helpful. This unit spared no expense, from the towels to the awesome floor pillow. Which by the way, I have been searching for since I got home. The view from our balcony was gorgeous. Our unit was very clean and appliances were brand new. On recommendation from the staff, we tried Charlies (which from the outside didn't look good). It was the best restaurant there. Each time were were impressed with the quality of our food and the friendliness of the cooks. We will definitely go back to stay at this Condo. I highly recommend it! The location was perfect. Right across from Skibowl and only a few miles from Timberline.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VBC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have stayed at Timberline Lodge may nights. The rooms have always been beyond perfect. We thought this trip we would give their condos a try. Big mistake! To start with, our condo #3, had not been cleaned that well. While my kids were unpacking they found old/dirty underwear and socks in the drawers. Then a very foul smell began to make it's way out of the kitchen. Come to find out the previous tenants must have had fish and the leftovers were still in the sink drain.
There is no coffee, or creamer, or sugar provided either. Even Motel 6 gives you complimentary coffee for the mornings.
My advise, stick to Timberline Lodge up on the mountain and avoid the Lodge/condos in Government camp. Unless you like filthy accommodations. Makes me wonder if the beds are clean. Yuck!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
490 reviews
2.8 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
930 reviews
10.6 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
14.4 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
12.2 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Government Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Government Camp

Property: The Lodge at Government Camp
Address: 30521 E Meldrum St, Government Camp Loop Road, Government Camp, OR 97028-0199
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Government Camp
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Government Camp is in the center of the historic village of Government Camp. Only an hour east of Portland, Oregon, Government Camp is the hub of Mt Hood, the gateway to Mt Hood recreation. Whether you want to ski, snowboard, fish, hike, bike or just relax and enjoy nature, our Mt Hood condos are ideal for your Mt. Hood vacation. Just 6 miles away from historic Timberline Lodge on Mt Hood in Oregon, the Lodge at Government Camp boasts six spacious Mt Hood condos. Each richly-decorated luxury condominium is unique and inviting, with fully-equipped kitchens, fireplaces, wireless internet, cable TV and comfortable beds. The Lodge at Government Camp offers you the comforts of home in a boutique hotel setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Government Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing