We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation after tubing on the mountain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here after playing in the snow all day. It was a cozy getaway from the city. The lobby had a cozy fireplace and very nice office staff. We enjoyed the afternoon snack and walking to dinner across the street. The hot tub was relaxing. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Valued Fun Loving Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We are very fortunate to have terrific guests, our great location, and quality staff that combine for a fun combination. Please follow us on media sites for activities and events in the area all year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 529 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Best Western Mt. Hood Inn is a great place to stay. Right down from the mountain and surrounded by fun eateries and places to have an after ski beverage, it is a perfect alternative to a traffic filled drive home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. As the winter snows continue this year, we appreciate guests sharing with others' our location, convenience and value. We regularly fill up in advance on weekends due to scheduled events and holiday traffic. Please check out our mid-week specials with online deals such as TRAVELZOO.COM
We are looking forward to an extended season and hope to see you again soon.
Lisa Galbrath
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

From reservations over the phone, check in, rooms, lobby and the staff all were excellant. Food and microbrewery right next door, quick access to main part of town and the Hiway 26. Stayed for a wedding and the staff were fantastic. We all meet down in the lobby even brought the gifts down from Timberline and had a get together in the lobby. Rooms are big, staff again were fantastic

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank bawcomagents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Deary happily newly married guests,
Reviews like yours just make us smile. We enjoyed meeting, talking and laughing with your family and friends throughout the weekend. I suspect that wherever your wedding was held, it would have been a great success; we are so glad that you chose staying with us at the Mt Hood Inn in February, over that stormy Oregon Coast. I know that the weather was beautiful in both places, just made us laugh that a wedding at Timberline Lodge mid-winter seemed a better weather option. Looking forward to more visits to come. Thank you again for sharing your family and your special weekend with us.
Lisa Galbraith
Manager, Mt Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hospitality is great. The place is clean, and by all appearances, well-maintained. We were in room 220, which does look out onto HWY26, but the view is magnificent. The small problems were that it seemed we couldn't quite close the window, no matter how hard we tried. It looked closed, but we could still hear road noise louder than normal. Based on other reviews, I'm convinced the window really was open slightly. This also led to a cooler room, but adjusting the thermostat a bit was enough to compensate.
We did use the Jacuzzi tub, which was very nice, although no matter how hard we pressed on the drain plug, we couldn't stop the slow leak (which we could hear constantly if the jets were turned off).
The breakfast is basic, but good. The location is convenient to the ski areas. I would stay here again.
Skis are kept in lockers off the lobby (50 cents). They will issue a fine if they find anyone taking skis to the room.
While the restaurants are walkable (if you are ok with 1/2 mile up-hill), but if you want a great dining experience, go to the Timberline Lodge.

Room Tip: I'd recommend an odd numbered room if you want quiet, even number if you want the view and are n...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We always appreciate feedback from our guests. The details you included are a helpful resource to others, as well as a great tool for our team at the Mt Hood Inn. We do have excellent restaurant choices in our community of Government Camp. Timberline Lodge's variety of dining options are always a savory choice. Whether you pick the classic Cascade Dining Room (reservations encouraged), with Executive Chef Jason Stoller Smith's seasonal and local NW choices, the Ram's Head Bar, Blue Ox Bar, Market Cafe or Black Iron Grill, the food is terrific. They also own and operate the ever popular Ice Axe Grill brew pub right next door to us. The Village has an additional 6 dining choices a half mile further up in Govy.
I am sorry that closing your room window was giving your problems. We always appreciate it when guests contact staff at the front desk if there is anything in their rooms that need attention. The King Spa rooms are always a favorite for guests that have gotten to know our hotel well. Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again as the snow continues to build up this winter.
Lisa Galbraith
Manager, Mt Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here for a day during peak ski season, albeit a low-snow season (2013-14). We traveled with our two kids - 3 and 5. The hotel was comfortable and I had asked for a quiet room and we got that. The room faced the street leading to skibowl but we did not get very much noise at all. Rooms facing US26 would likely be louder. Breakfast was a small affair in the lobby and got crowded quickly with folks jostling. We got there early before the crowd but saw how crowded it got. Basic breakfast with cheese Omelet and sausages as the hot items. Only blemish to the stay was when I left a box of truffles in our room on checkout (It was our wedding anniversary and I had got it as a special gift for my wife). We went to skibowl and I remembered it around 1pm (checkout was 9am). The hotel staff was very courteous and the lady at the desk checked with house-cleaning but could not locate the box. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank patanjalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
It has taken me a bit longer to respond to the review of your stay with us a few weeks ago.
A vivid picture of your family and how kind and respectful you were during your visit has stayed with me since our last conversation.
Since we were not able to return the chocolates to you on the day that you had checked out, we have been on a Truffle Hunt to find some to take their place. Your box has been mailed today, and we all hope that you are able to enjoy them equally. Thank you for the feedback in your review, and we hope to see you all again as soon as your schedule allows.
Sincerely,

Lisa Galbraith
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We just spent three nights at the Best Western Mt Hood. Our family was in town for a wedding taking place at Timberline Lodge. Half of the family was at the Best Western and half of the family stayed at the Timberline Lodge.

We arrived after 11 PM -- but was able to ring the bell for service. The room reserved was available and was pretty clean. The bathroom is a little small but acceptable for this standard of hotel. The sink is outside the bathroom in the main part of the room so be aware that everyone can watch you brush and floss your teeth.

Breakfast was the basic breakfast included at this standard of hotel. One person was working and she was a little overwhelmed. She was trying to keep up with demand and it was awful. Coffee took 15 minutes to be replaced and worst was pre made pancakes that were so old and hard that one family member literally choked on a hard piece; it scratched his throat on way down. When brought to staff attention- she stated, "oh you got one of the hockey pucks". I'm pretty sure that's not in the marketing materials.

Next- we had a spa tub king room so I believe it was one of the larger rooms. It was fine for us. The bed is basic and not unbearable--- firm but comfortable. Only issue was there was not enough bedding on bed. Just a sheet, velour blanket and a thicker colored sheet passing as a bedspread. It needed a big comfy down comforter.

TV size is good size but reception is not the best. Analog and quite scratchy looking. They need to upgrade it to HD content.

Lastly- the day of wedding my husband got up early to iron his shirt with in room iron. I was still sleeping but woke up to room smelling like a ski/snowboard shop. I got up and said it smells like ski wax. Sure enough- the in room iron had been used for spreading wax on a snow board or skis and was in the internal part of the iron. Short version was my husbands only dress shirt was now covered in melted wax. It blew out the steam holes melted and stained shirt. Couldn't get it off and was so disgusting. He had to wear it though since it was only shirt.

After wedding, we returned at 10pm to find that all parking (both covered and outside parking) were filled. We had two cars and we were told we'd have to park on the main street. It's up a hill and the street is the main Government Camp Loop. Nice.

The front desk staff wasn't even apologetic that we had to park off property and walk back. Nor did he offer to pay the $6 snow park pass needed to park on the street. Amazing.

We will never stay here again- so no worries for us.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank DC-HubertP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodInnManager, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us this past week. Our front desk is staffed 24 hrs./day for guests that need to arrive quiet late or checkout very early. Our room linens are an integral part of our guest room design; we can always provide more of any item(s) upon request.
Our lobby and breakfast area can get busy with early morning activity. Our breakfast staff work very hard to keep everything warm, fresh and stocked. Occasionally we need to catch up, and I am sorry that you needed to wait for coffee. Our breakfast goals are always to have an excellent variety of continental and hot menu items available at all times.
One of our unique features that we offer here at the Mt Hood Inn is a dedicated wax room for our guests to use for tuning their equipment prior to skiing and riding on the mountain. You wrote that your in-room iron smelled of wax. We apologize that a previous guest did not follow our rules of not allowing skis or snowboards in the rooms. We will continue to work on improvement in these details. Thank you again for your feedback.
Lisa Galbraith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Clean, comfortable, friendly, inexpensive, easy access to everything. Larger parking lot. A selection of FREE movies! ( a little dated but worth a good laugh!) Perfect for the night! One of the nicer Best Westerns I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Damian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodInnManager, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We love our location also. Please visit our Facebook page for local events and activities as the year goes on. Love that you enjoyed our movie system. We always have popcorn as an option for future stays. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lisa Galbraith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,041 reviews
10.1 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
12.0 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#62 of 144 in Portland
156 reviews
10.0 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range: $154 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing