We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good breakfast and good reception” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“good breakfast and good reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I came for a photo trip to Trillium Lake.
Hotel has a nice lobby with fireplace inside.
Free hot drinking water is available 24 hr in the lobby with coffee.

Hot breakfast was available starting at 6 am, but since my group went to the hunting spot before 6 am, the reception guy was allow us to have breakfast earlier.
The reception, Lisa , was helpful and really understood us.
When we were in the lobby around 5 pm , she took out the fruits and hot snacks for us.

Wifi is great.

Another plus about the hotel : my friend by coincidence left her bag on the lobby .
Hotel reception kept it and arrange the shipment to another BW hotel where we will stay in the following day.
Appreciate this help

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our property. We offer many amenities included in the rate that other lodging in the area does not. It makes our property a great value in Government Camp, OR.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    146
    55
    36
    22
See reviews for
167
161
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch Harbor, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I only stayed one night and did not take advantage of many of their commodities. However, I enjoyed my stay here. It was very quiet due to the government shut down and the skiing being closed. The whole place is decorated Adirondack style, and they have a lovely fireplace in the lobby and chairs around to read or relax by the fire. There are also a couple computers in the lobby, so you don't have to bring your computer. The room was adorable! The view wasn't the best, but there is a restaurant and local brewery right next door. Sadly, they close rather early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy your stay was enjoyable. The government shutdown in our area was unfortunate. We have some rooms with a view on clear days. I would suggest requesting a back side room during your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Best Western Mt Hood is situated on the south base of Mount Hood in Oregon. It is surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery anywhere The hotel room was spaciouos clean and well furnished and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Next to the hotel just a one minute walk is a bar/restaurant serving a varied bar type menu and many different beers--the food is good and reasonably priced.
The hotel offers a good seletion free self service breakfast with free coffees soft drinks water etc
The car park is of a good size.If I have the good fortune to return to the USA and Oregon I would stay at this hotel again,I had a good experience staying there and i recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in that part of the states.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We strive to provide an excellent selection of breakfast items. The scenery in our area is beautiful. I think about every day driving to work. We greatly appreciate all your wonderful comments and recommendation.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

After driving 22 hours to pick up our daughter from the Legacy trauma center in Portland - we had a great night and lots of help at the Best Western Mt Hood. Our girl was injured after falling in the rocks while skiing on the glacier at Hood - lacerated liver and undetermined leg injury - 3 days in the hospital and a 3 day journey home. Our first night was at Mt Hood to collect equipment and check with fellow skiers. It was a harrowing journey and we were very glad to be able to stay again at this hotel. We love this hotel. Beds are great, breakfast will get you by the lobby is comfortable and I like the location. The best part is the staff. Lisa Galbraith the front desk supervisor was especially awesome. We were struggling to transport our daughter - she was in a lot of pain and her leg was immobilized. Lisa made the world of difference. We asked if there may be some extra pillows we could by or have (old ones). As a past ski patroler she knew what we had to deal with. She returned with a pillow of her own and a 12 pack of paper towel rolls. She said it was the best thing for cushioning all the difference spaces around the body to help make an injured persons trip more comfortable. She had helped many injured skiers make their trip to the emergency room with out having to call an ambulance. We look forward to our next trip to the BW at Govey camp and hope to see Lisa again. I hope her empoloyer knows how awesome she is.
Many thanks for all your help - the Butler family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Lisa is an excellent example of how we pride ourselves on customer care. We hope that your daughter is recuperating quickly. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon. I have talked with Lisa and she would like to say thank you for the wonderful review.

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

situated on the south base of Mt. Hood with hiking trails right across the street from the hotel. The room was clean and adequately furnished with a comfortable bed and reliable wi-fi. Breakfast was above average and different choices were offered for the 2 mornings I was there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Our property is extremely close to hiking trails. Our location is great in relation to all the activities in our town. We strive to bring a good quality breakfast to our guest’s. We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Our room was quite large and contained a fridge and microwave. Nice clean friendly place to stay. We got snowed in up on the mountain overnite so didn't get to sleep in the room so I can't say anything about the beds but they did look comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It brings us great joy your stay was so wonderful. We are so sorry you were stuck on the mountain during your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

the mt. hood brewery offers great food & great tasting beers & it's next door to the hotel. the hotel had a fire roaring in the lobby as you walk in. the hot tub(large Jacuzzi with no jets). the water was 103-4 & room for 6-8.breakfast was good and filling. a return trip to this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Tom,

We are happy your stay was enjoyable. Our hot tub is a great place to relax after hiking or skiing. We do have jets on the hot tub. There is nothing like a nice fire when there is a chill in the air. We cannot wait to see you on your next visit.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
10.1 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
12.0 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Government Camp
The Lodge at Government Camp
#2 of 5 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028-0108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing