We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check this out for off-season accommodations at Mt Hood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We happened across this hotel on our across-Oregon tour, deciding to stay 1 nite near Mt Hood because of the positive weather forecast. The hotel was impressive from check-in to check-out.

The HOTEL:
* Located just off of Hwy 26 in Government Camp, OR; 7 miles from Timberline Lodge; plenty of free parking
* The lobby is bright, clean, and airy, they had a beans and miniature weenies in a crock pot and fresh chocolate chip cookies; coffee and tea were also available 24 hours a day
* A large flat-screen TV is available as well as a computer for those who don't travel with a laptop or other device, free internet for those that do
* Included a very adequate "continental breakfast" of yogurt, muffins, toast/bagels, egg omelet, and bacon - if this doesn't suit your fancy or you are really hungry, try the buffet breakfast up at Timberline Lodge for $14.95 per person

The STAFF:
* Friendly, efficient, and accommodating
* Gave us the best room available (which I always appreciate)

The ROOM:
* Extra Large, clean, free wireless internet

This is a great area with access to Mt Hood, Hiking, and not too far from Portland.

I give this one 5 stars on value and quality of the hotel - enjoy!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a peek-a-boo view of Mt Hood, but take the time to drive up there for dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smkinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 537 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel was lovely, very spacious rooms and very clean. Morning breakfast was hot with waffles, sausage and bacon, eggs scrambled, hot oat meal and all the rest of the goodies that most hotels only provide.
Staff was very helpful with any questions or needs.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable rooms and facility, which is impressive in snowy season. Good pet policy. Friendly staff. Nice location in Government Camp, across the highway from Mt Hood Skibowl, and not far from restaurants in Govy.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 384paulk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had to cancel my reservation due to last minute issue and although the front desk did not have the authority to rectify the situation, I was put through to the manager who was understanding and without hesitation cancelled my reservation. Although I never stayed here, I was happily satisfied with their customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was unable to make my reservation after my friend missed her flight from Florida. I explained the situation to the front desk representative at the time, emphasizing that my friend was now landing at midnight and I would be unable to make the reservation after picking her up from an airport that was over 2 hours from the hotel. The girl stated she would "check with her manager," so I thanked her and expected to wait on the line. Instead, I was hung up on and charged the full price of the room with no follow up from either the agent or her manager. I understand policy but in extraordinary situations a little more
Consideration and professionalism would be nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Reanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I travel for a living and stay in hotels nearly every week. I don't think I've ever been in a hotel as poorly managed as this one. It's unfortunate because the hotel is okay (nicer than most Best Westerns I've experienced) and in an awesome location without many other hotel options.

I hope to never stay here again.

After checking in we discovered there were no parking spots available. All of the covered spots and outdoor spots were taken. The front desk person (who was very nice and did her best to accommodate us) was obviously told to blame the lack of parking on a "winter storm." While yes, there was snow, that's not unusual for this SKI TOWN situated near Mt. Hood. The snow banks that had piled up made it tough for people to park correctly in the outdoor lot, which appeared to have reduced their parking capacity by 2-3 spots. However, there were way more than 3 cars without parking spots.

The only options for parking were:
1.) Park on a steep incline in a zone in which your car will get towed when the plow comes through
2.) Park in a lot for the adjacent restaurant, where the restaurant's management is quick to tow
3.) Park on the street (if you're lucky enough to be there on a day when parking is allowed on the street) where you're likely to get stuck in the snow that the plows push up against the cars throughout the night

We first chose option #1. And our all-wheel-drive SUV got stuck on the steep incline once the temps got cold enough to create a thick layer of ice under our car. We were apparently the second guest that night to get stuck in the snow. And Best Western doesn't reimburse guests who need to pay a tow truck to come pull them out.

In addition to this frustration, they screwed up our bill and were unable to figure out how to fix it. The hotel was supposed to call me back regarding the billing issue 5 days ago and I still haven't heard back.

I would've happily overlooked the other issues with the room if it hadn't been for the parking debacle. (Other issues include: a shower door that wouldn't close, ripped upholstery on the chair in the room, a Kleenex holder ripped out of the wall, a heater that didn't really work, the fact that they CHARGE you extra to store your skis in lockers but don't allow you to bring the skis to your room, etc.) Their parking "policy" is irresponsible. If there aren't enough spots in the winter, they shouldn't book to capacity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaychelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,057 reviews
10.1 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#64 of 144 in Portland
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
11.7 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range: $126 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing