We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, older setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good breakfast, older setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel just for a night on a long weekend when all hotels in Hood River were full. My first impression was that it was a bit old and meant to serve the ski enthusiasts visiting Mt. Hood. This hotel made quite an impression when I saw that the remote for the TV was sterilized and freshly bagged. As we all know, remotes are the worst germ carriers in hotel rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Additionally the last star of the review is for a good hot breakfast in the morning. Lake Trillium is 5 minutes drive away and we had a great morning walking along its banks. Highly recommend as a great night's rest after seeing the Gorge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    152
    57
    37
    22
See reviews for
175
170
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We (my husband, teenage son and I) stayed here for one night in July and I’m still not quite sure what to make of it. Government Camp is very touristy and busy but luckily the hotel is situated just on the edge of the town so it is a good bit quieter. It is fairly large and built in a style similar to the ski chalets found in Europe. The entrance hall and reception are welcoming and I can imagine that in the winter with open fire roaring, it will be cosy. The bedroom was quite clean and of average size with two queen beds. Mattresses and linens were fine. The room had a fridge and microwave and we had no problems with the complementary internet. There was no airco but a fan was provided that could be placed at the window. There is a hot tub on the ground floor which looked clean but there were used towels lying around making it untidy. Breakfast was served in the entrance hall and had the usual fare together with eggs and sausage.
Why did we find the hotel just adequate?
Although the room was clean we counted at least 9 moths flying around. Our window didn’t close properly, not a problem in the summer but could be rather chilly come winter. And two electrical sockets were hanging loose from the wall. When we went to breakfast, although we were early, most things needed refilled and there was no coffee and no-one around to refill it! As we only stayed the one night we didn't see the point complaining to reception.
All in all, not a disaster but still not quite what you expect having paid 137 dollars including tax for the night. I feel the hotel was overpriced and even though there was nothing really wrong with the accommodation I just can’t get enthusiastic. It’s not that I wouldn’t recommend it but just be aware that the price-quality ratio isn’t great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blossom_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel's location was a decent ways up the mountain. The room was great (except an episode with the window). The bed was comfortable. The Jacuzzi was a nice-to-have. TV worked well. No issues with that.

The reason the rating is average is because the things that you take for granted weren't up to snuff. You'd think a place that knows there's no 7-Eleven or such nowhere near would make sure the vending machines they had were stocked. Had to spin-the-wheel to final land on a Coke because everything else was out. No bottled water in the machines. And, the Coke I did get had a temperature warmer than my skin. I put it in the room's freezer, and by the time I took it out, the ice had melted into a holder around it. That was a bit disappointing.

There was a snack machine as well. However, $2 for ANYTHING in the machine was way spendy. A regular bag of M&M's...airplane peanuts...Rice Krispy treats...sunflower seeds...all $2? Sigh...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

the room was ok, we were there in july it was 86 degrees that day, the hotel has no air , the room baked all day in the air conditioner the room baked in the sun all day.i happen to be a smoker, if i fully understand there is no smoking in the room,at night we had to leave the window open because it was so hot, and about two oclock am i woke with a burn smell i got frighten i thought was a fire our room had smoke in it, i panic woke my husband we checked all around we saw smoke coming out of the fireplace right into our room. if we had air our window would of been closed,also i went downstairs to tell the clerk , she informed me they lit it for a wedding party they had that night. does anybody else count
needless to say i was up all night pissed warm & unhappy. we left the next morning .

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay! The beds are very comfortable, pets are allowed and you can get a room with a hot tub. If that isn't enough, there is also an outdoor fire pit to sit and have a night cap while watching the stars. The continental breakfast was great, it was more like a buffet.

Room Tip: The eastside of the building overlooks a forested creek while the westside view is the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unicornfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great location and price for visiting the Mt Hood Area. Comfortable beds and back rooms have view of the mountains. Very quiet compared to Timberline Lodge when we visited in August, though a visit to the lodge is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
400 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Another typical Best Western - you can almost picture the decor of the room, which was fine but basic. Because of the hot temperatures in the summer and the fact that there is no A/C you want to be able to sleep with an open window to get the cooler night air for your sleep. However, the Best Western is located right at the main road to Portland, with heavy truck traffic - try to sleep through that with an open window. The breakfast is included, but is your paper plate help-your-self to a bagel kind of breakfast, which you eat in the lobby of the hotel. I would say fine for a stopover night, but I would certainly not spend my vacation there...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
10.0 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
13.5 mi away
No photo provided
Salmon River Inn
#1 of 2 in Brightwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028-0108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing