We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but not 'very' good”
Review of Motel 101

Motel 101
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel 101
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I like to stay at owner operated, non chain motels...easier to get a better rate. Motel 101 was very clean, somewhat updated. New carpets, well maintained even if the bathroom did have pink tub and toilet. Convenient location right across the street from a nice little seafood restaurant ...good/reasonable. Motel offered coffee in a separate room, but only in the morning. No coffee or hair dryer (an issue for my wife, not me) in the room. In the end ..a comfortable bed at a very comfortable price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rick_w53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Motel 101
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 48 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

We loved our stay. Our room was exceptionally clean and quiet. Although it is an old motel, the owner has managed to place many up grades, like flat screen TV, small fridge, and microwave. I've never seen a price this good and walk to the beach, and quiet on 101. Then you add the exceptional kindness of the owner (he mailed an item I left the very next day and told me not to send him money if mailing was under $5!)...and we will return to enjoy the ocean in one of his motels ASAP.

Room Tip: For light sleepers when 101 is busy, as for a room far back.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I read another review that said the motel was run down, not true. Yes the bathroom is dated but my room was clean and the motel is well maintained. My room came with a newer fridge, microwave and large flat screen TV. The owner was very friendly and for the price I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob5440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Booked a room via the phone for one night. Upon arriving, broken down car with car parts in it parked in front of my room. Hotel owner was not even their so I had to call him and he had to come down to the office. He screwed up my reservation from the get go.After checking in, went into the room and was so disappointed at how outdated it was. The owner even asked me to not use one of the beds so he didn't have to make it. The door jam for the front door had not been wiped down for years. It was filthy. Being a single woman, I did not feel safe staying here. Asked for my money back and was refused. Would not recommend this place to anyone, I'd rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Poorly maintained property with most unhospitable innkeeper I've ever run into. Location is convenient, but that's about it. Not even for a quick overnight should this be your first choice. Price way out of line with value.

Room Tip: Lots of other options in town; choose one
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PMJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel/Motel business is labor and money intensive and I applaud those brave enough to make a go of it and goodness knows we need places to get a good night sleep however think twice on this unless there is nothing else available. I honestly was giving this place the benefit of the doubt as last time we stayed here it WAS clean, through and through. The first thing I did when I went into this room after drive down from Portland was look at two cloth chairs to see if I could put a few bags on them. I found fingernail clippings and the ecoskeleton of some kind of beetle and a few curly hairs stuck to the cloth on one of the chairs - not a good first impression. The the toilet leaked from the base (hazard because white floor and you could not see the water on the floor), the sink in the shower room leaked on the floor, there was no plug for the tub and black colored mold on the shower room window screen. The sink in the room at the vanity leaked. No coffee in room. Beds ok. Paper thin walls..we could hear our neighbors snoring. Packaged pastries and coffee was offered as a continental breakfast. My coffee was ok but the second pot was like more like coffee flavored tea. Because of muscle spasm I was determined to take a bath. Plenty of hot water after plugging drain with wash cloth. Freshly bathed and clothed except for bare feet I began the task of packing up and paused to lay down on the bed to look at a news article (nice t.v.) when my husband said, "look at your feet!". I looked. The bottoms of my feet were not brown or dark gray but.........gulp, black! My feet were filthy. Literally. I would hope that the owners, managers reading this will teach some room cleaner how to use a vaccuum on the floor AND the chairs and..........gee...maybe fix some leaks and wash or replace the carpets. If this is the least expensive hotel in the hood and/or you want to be right on top of the shore....then come but wear shoes in the room. We came from a hotel near Portland that cost exactly the same but was a five star compared to this place. The price for this room seemed to high for the quality of the room.

Room Tip: Might consider an end unit to reduce the noise from another room next to you.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50PlusCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BertRoss67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 101

Address: 29399 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718 (Formerly Sand Dollar Inn)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range: $52 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 101, A family run motel dedicated to offering clean, affordable accommodations. All rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerators and free wifi. Safe and secure with 24 hour security surveillance. Specials and extended Stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Motel 101 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing