We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back... That's a promise!!!!”
Review of Turtle Rock Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Rock Resort
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed 9 days in 2 different sites. We had a hot tub site (30, I believe) and a river site (54). The hot tub site was fantastic! Very private, lots of trees and shrubs, and lawn space for your family and dogs. Having the hot tub was worth the extra cost!!! Site 54 had a beautiful view of Hunter Creek. The sites are a nice distance from each other. The bathrooms are clean with FREE hot showers. The laundry was a nice convenience. The ladies in the office were wonderful to us. The employees we meet on the grounds were very helpful and accommodating. This resort is very dog friendly. There are at least 7 doggie stations throughout the resort providing free poop bags. I just wish more people would use them bags and pick up after their dogs.
Love, love, love Turtle Rock Resort!!!! We can't wait to return next year!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CNMarshall95252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is our 2nd time here in a 40 ft motohome/vehicle in tow. 5 minutes to the beach with tons of gravel/rock/agate/driftwood hunting! Loved the Turtle Rock-"kodak" moment for sure!
The roads are gravel but well maintained, staff friendly, they provide "pet stations" throughout the park with bags and disposal sites. A few 'view sites", mostly cottages but it you scope out the park first, find the best location for your needs. We love the beach and privacy so we chose the end of the park that backs up to the highway(a little noisy but not bad).
Main complaint we would have is poor satellite tv, few stations and few of those were clear. That is in need of upgrade. Also would request the bushes be trimmed as to allow views from the RV sites...Not to the same caliber as Winchester Bay but is adequate and the spa sites are a treat! I recommend if you aren't expecting the "ritz" HA!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

You simply can't beat the location of this place, just a few steps to the beach. Be careful which RV space you reserve as some are very close to each other and others are fantastic. Water view spa site is squished in between two cottages. The only big complaint we had was that we were a back in site next to a cottage and another back in site. The back in site next to us decided to make it a pull in site, then sat in their RV and stared at us. Never have we been to an RV park where management would allow that unless the parties were together. Also we were charge a sewer fee...... kinda thought that was part of the Full hook-up site charge. Would have like to have had a pool/spa for the whole campgrounds use.

Room Tip: Go for the RV sites against the woods or in the circle by hwy 101. Stay away from the river side or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elkies08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay here. Nice park and a beautiful beach. My kids loved walking along the creek. The weather was perfect during our stay. The staff was great and very helpful. The only thing I had a problem with is the way I heard the office supervisor/manager talking to the other workers, very unprofessional. Other office staff seemed to be way more knowledgeable than she was. They handled it great and was apologetic to me even though they didn't have to be.
We will most likely be back because we loved the park...and most of the staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebekkaan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dusty, dirty, gravel roads and pads. Sites hodge-podge, trying to squeeze as many people
in as possible. Many spaces unsightly. ¨Employees¨, work campers, who are not get-
ting paid (but get a space) are helpful and try their best, but are working many hours.
The web site looks nothing like the actual park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpeedyDinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naseka, Owner at Turtle Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Yes indeed the Roads and pad our gravel this required as per environmental concerns.
The park is lad down in a very methodical way Our site are bigger than most. But not as big as high end camp that cost more than $80.00 a night. All our employees are paid. Most people (99.5%) injoy and like our camp. Over 70% of customers are return customers

Julian Starr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed here at the RV park. We needed a pull-through and we were towing. They had spotless bathrooms and laundry facilities. The resort is located on the Oregon coast practically and the views were outstanding. We did pay $50 but we knew staying on a beach is a bit more costly than your average RV park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Overpriced for the amenities available. Office staff were not empowered to make decisions - telling me that they couldn't address my concerns because they "just work here" but couldn't put me in touch with someone who could help me (the owners). The beach is beautiful and just a short walk away which is the only redeeming factor for this place and it's not a good enough reason to stay at this campground in my opinion. Be aware that they add fees to your bill that are not disclosed when you reserve a site. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mcadrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naseka, Owner at Turtle Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Our prices are fair. We are water front next to the beach. If a customer believe beached stays our to expensive they consider staying inland where real estate is less expensive. This gentleman wanted a refund for early departure. We state quit clearly on our web site, posted in the office as well as the the stay agreement that we do not give refunds. All guess are more than welcome to check out our resort before staying or making a reservation.


Julian Starr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
930 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
701 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
1.0 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Rock Resort

Address: 28788 Hunter Creek Loop, Gold Beach, OR 97444-9626
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Gold Beach
Price Range: $167 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Rock Resort in sunny Gold Beach, Oregon offers luxurious cottages with private spas on the spectacular Southern Oregon Coast. The cottages are just a 3 to 5 minute walk to the beach. A beautiful 3 bedroom vacation home with spa is available for groups of up.Hear the sounds of the sea from your well appointed cottage and enjoy sunny, recreation rich Gold Beach tucked between the mountains and the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Rock Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing