We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Resort”
Review of Turtle Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtle Rock Resort
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dusty, dirty, gravel roads and pads. Sites hodge-podge, trying to squeeze as many people
in as possible. Many spaces unsightly. ¨Employees¨, work campers, who are not get-
ting paid (but get a space) are helpful and try their best, but are working many hours.
The web site looks nothing like the actual park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpeedyDinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naseka, Owner at Turtle Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Yes indeed the Roads and pad our gravel this required as per environmental concerns.
The park is lad down in a very methodical way Our site are bigger than most. But not as big as high end camp that cost more than $80.00 a night. All our employees are paid. Most people (99.5%) injoy and like our camp. Over 70% of customers are return customers

Julian Starr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed here at the RV park. We needed a pull-through and we were towing. They had spotless bathrooms and laundry facilities. The resort is located on the Oregon coast practically and the views were outstanding. We did pay $50 but we knew staying on a beach is a bit more costly than your average RV park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Overpriced for the amenities available. Office staff were not empowered to make decisions - telling me that they couldn't address my concerns because they "just work here" but couldn't put me in touch with someone who could help me (the owners). The beach is beautiful and just a short walk away which is the only redeeming factor for this place and it's not a good enough reason to stay at this campground in my opinion. Be aware that they add fees to your bill that are not disclosed when you reserve a site. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mcadrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naseka, Owner at Turtle Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Our prices are fair. We are water front next to the beach. If a customer believe beached stays our to expensive they consider staying inland where real estate is less expensive. This gentleman wanted a refund for early departure. We state quit clearly on our web site, posted in the office as well as the the stay agreement that we do not give refunds. All guess are more than welcome to check out our resort before staying or making a reservation.


Julian Starr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is an RV park and also has cottages. We stayed in an RV spot. It was $50 a night, which is high (no pool or other amenities) but then they added on a $19 sewer tax for a week, charged a $10 transaction fee, which was not disclosed or we would have paid cash. Staff ran around in golf carts doing more than the 7MPH speed limit. Dust kicking up all the time from them. They did a lot of watering but the "grass" was pretty brown. $330 for the week in an RV spot. Prior to this we stayed in a nice campground and paid $175 a week. Also took over and hour to get checked in. Don't think staff was familiar with computer system. Also laundry facilities were on second floor of bathrooms. Hard lugging laundry up and down stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nvkrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naseka, Owner at Turtle Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

This park is next to the beach along side a beautiful creek well worth the price! Real state is very expensive along the cost thats get reflected in our price ( other wise the park wouldn’t be here) All taxes and fee are disclosed in the receipt as well as our web site. If this value customer wanted cash discount that available, but he/she has to ask.
As to the sewer fee, the city has built a brand new state of the art sewer plant and has raise our fee substantially, we could raise our rates or let the public no where the money goes. Our electric golf cards are not capable of going over 5 MPH. I hope their future vacations are more enjoyable


Julian Starr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great RV park/campground right on the Ocean. It is a lovely, vast 7+ mile beach that is great for walking, beach combing, clamming, and exploring. We saw seals just off shore and our kids loved climbing on all the rock formations along the ragged edges of this part of the ocean.
The park is quiet, wooded, and the staff is SUPER helpful. We had a wonderful 5 day stay. The town of Gold Beach is nice to visit as well.........shops and restaurants.
The bathroom and laundry layout is the best we have seen anywhere. There is a large gym, wonderful great room, and small, but adequate store. Lots of DVD's and VHS's to rent also!
These are folks that CARE about their RV park, always going about cleaning up and making improvements. We were very impressed.
They also offer hot tub RV sites!!

Room Tip: Even though you are assigned a site and it might not be to your liking, don't hesitate to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5frys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

During a recent trip to Gold Beach, Oregon, my family and I vacationed at the Turtle Rock Resort. It was an amazing experience. There's a path at the campsite where you walk down to the beach (only about a five minute walk) and it is just beautiful. The home was lovely and is also pet friendly~!! Also during sunrise and sunset you can witness deer walking around the camp, or at least we did :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelaHutchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Dont waste your time! During our stay the staff came into one of our cottages multiple times and stole from us! The place was dirty, one cottage(we rented 10) had all the vents taped up trying to mask the smell of whatever was dead under it. Staff is SO Rude! Our group spent over $10,000 here and were promised a 20% discount upon arrival, when we got there they refused to honor it and said a senile ex employee had promised us that and we werent getting it! The owner sat back and said nothing as his employee screamed at us for asking for a 10% discount of the 20% we were promised. Then they tacked on all these bogus charges to our bill, most of them after we checked out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naseka, Owner at Turtle Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

I trust my staff!! We have never in our 16 years of ownership had any of our customers complain about their belongings being stolen and until this review is the first I have heard of it. This family did get a 10% discount. Groups do not receive a 20% discount and again this is the first I have heard about 20%. I was in the office while this guest was being checked in. While I witnessed the staff being firm with this group they were never out of line. My employees never at any time screamed or yelled but I did observe different members of this family behaving in a less than polite way. No one in the 10 cottages they rented complained about them being dirty. Guests before and after this group did not complain about dirty cottages either. The bogus charge after the guest left is in reference to a very expensive glass coffee table that was broken during the stay. Although the guests did not mention the damage when they departed we have spoken with them and resolved the issue. We have had many very happy groups in years of owning Turtle Rock Resort. This one we could not please which is sad as we enjoy groups. Although most of family did behave in a respectable manner.

Julian Starr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Beach
1.2 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
956 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Gold Beach
17.1 mi away
Whaleshead Beach Resort
Whaleshead Beach Resort
#7 of 9 in Brookings
146 reviews
1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Rock Resort

Address: 28788 Hunter Creek Loop, Gold Beach, OR 97444-9626
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Gold Beach
Price Range: $167 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Rock Resort in sunny Gold Beach, Oregon offers luxurious cottages with private spas on the spectacular Southern Oregon Coast. The cottages are just a 3 to 5 minute walk to the beach. A beautiful 3 bedroom vacation home with spa is available for groups of up.Hear the sounds of the sea from your well appointed cottage and enjoy sunny, recreation rich Gold Beach tucked between the mountains and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Turtle Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Rock Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing