We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otter Point State Recreation Site

Otter Point State Recreation Site
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Gold Beach
Attraction details
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Otter Point is just off Highway 101 north of Gold Beach. It's worth the stop because the view is grand. And yes, if you hike down to the beach there's a good chance to spot otters. Also a good clamming beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebPat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
FREMONT
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“OK, but lots better elsewhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Saw the other reviews....thought I MUST see this place......narrow road, small parking area...short walk to VERY steep cliff with ocean views.....really dangerous area....view was really nice, but we have traveled the entire Oregon Coast several times and we prefer the spectacular views from the Coquille Point Overlook and the Face Rock Overlook in Bandon, Oregon.....easy pull in with car and short walks along breathtaking panorama views from both places. Especially accessible for handicapped people. Also, the views from various places along Samuel Boardman State Park are also spectacular. Some have a trail, some are from the parking lot. My must see advice is the above mentioned places in Bandon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ANNMARIESFREMONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“incredible place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

small parking lot precedes the trail. i'm a single female & - depending on what kind of people are parked in cars - i'll leave. much better to go on trail with multiples...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We sort of stumbled upon this area and started to walk down this dirt trail that led us to otter Point and there must have been hundreds of seals and otters.
It was amazing!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Awesome view, but hard to find. We had to use our g p s to no were to turn.Long walk if you are going to walk to the beach but the View is WOW.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ssfamily758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter Point State Recreation Site also viewed

Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Otter Point State Recreation Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing