We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel, more than your average...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gold Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Really nice hotel, more than your average...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

Really nice hotel, more than your average motel. Get a discount at Spinners down the road for dinner, which does pretty good nosh too.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idlebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    168
    54
    49
    28
See reviews for
105
259
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

Don't expect cushy luxury. This hotel is a bit dated. The rooms are big and have beautiful views. The balcony is small and is nothing you would relax on. The furnishings are cheap and dated. But nontheless, we enjoyed our stay very much. A quick walk down a sandy path right to the beach. The beach was amazing and we enjoyed it the most out of all the beaches we visited on our trip along the Oregon coast. We didn't try to the breakfast because it just looked too sad. Go for the location and figure the hotel is just a place to sleep while you're not on the beach!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WannabeTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This motel is in it for the money. We stopped because it advertised: AAA discounts, breakfast and free WIFI. Discount was$5 on an overpriced room in the Fall, breakfast was whatever everyone else hadn't already eaten (no refills on juice, rolls, HB eggs, etc.) WiFi did not exist on rooms w/ocean view. We had to park by the office to get any signal strength, which delayed our leaving in the morning. Beds were hard! Noticed staff treated 2 women differently than a couple when checking in--not as friendly and no restaurant discounts offered.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveretiredtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

When the kids go back to school and the Highway 101 tourism trail drops off, that is the time to hit Gold Beach in the heart of Southern Oregon's "Banana Belt" coast line. Moderate to warm temperatures and a totally crowd free beach front give you plenty of space to kite fly, look for rounded gravel bar rocks, agates and driftwood. Look no further that the Gold Beach Inn for comfortable lodging and friendly staff. Every room has a beach view patio and the big bonus....two beach side hot tubs. One in the open and large deck and the other tucked neatly in a plexiglass three sided enclosure to protect you from those sometimes windy beach evenings and winter time rains. Pet (and people) friendly!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbullphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
863 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 824 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

Gold Beach Inn is a tired hotel on the beach, but it is clean, and the rooms are spacious. Our room had 2 queen-size beds, 2 recliners, a table, refrigerator, microwave, and TV with room to spare. The bathroom had been remodeled in recent years; it was very nice -- my only complaint is that the shower head was low and dated. The area outside the bathroom had a long vanity with a second sink -- very nice. There was plenty of room for luggage and hanging clothes.

Breakfast was not as nice as I was expecting based on the AAA review. Frozen waffles and English muffins were provided with toasters for heating. Boiled eggs, miniature doughnuts, coffee, instant oatmeal, and hot water were also provided.

The owners of Gold Beach Inn had evidently also bought the property next door (Ireland's Rustic Lodges) which had cabins with kitchenettes. The same breakfast is also served at the other property at a slightly different time period, so you can suit yourself on which dining area to use.

We got a great pizza at a new-looking pizza restaurant in Gold Beach. I don't remember the name, but it was across the street from the Barnacle Bistro.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I would rate the room here as comparable to a Motel 6, but with a great view. The real problem for us was lack of A/C - even though the temperature outside was in the 60's, there was no air flow in the room and we had to use the portable fan (already in the room). Opening the windows didn't help much, especially with the drapes drawn since we were on the 1st level with no privacy. The spa's on the beach were a nice surprise.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjbCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Great location, right on the beach. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are a little older but they are huge and clean. The hot tub area is nice and they appeared clean. Breakfast is basic but is included with the room rate so you can't really complain. Generally it was pretty good value. Free net did not work in our room (located at the front at the beach) as we were too far away from the router. But we just set our laptop up in the office/breakfast room and were able to use the net there just fine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loz0378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#6 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Property: Gold Beach Inn
Address: 29346 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gold Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing