We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big rooms, good location, bit dated but comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gold Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big rooms, good location, bit dated but comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Great location, right on the beach. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are a little older but they are huge and clean. The hot tub area is nice and they appeared clean. Breakfast is basic but is included with the room rate so you can't really complain. Generally it was pretty good value. Free net did not work in our room (located at the front at the beach) as we were too far away from the router. But we just set our laptop up in the office/breakfast room and were able to use the net there just fine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loz0378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    168
    54
    49
    28
See reviews for
105
259
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

Great oceanfront location, very helpful staff and good breakfast (my husband especially loved the waffles). The room was very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocFrankus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

Checked in for a Fri - Mon stay. Staff was incredibly friendly & helpful. In fact, one made a special trip to our room to drop off brochures on local points of interest for us. Room was pretty clean, although could use a paint job & small holes in walls repaired. Nice to have 'fridge, microwave & coffe maker also. Provided breakfast was quite adequate. Really good coffee! View was absolutely awesome! Sitting on our balcony with a glass of wine watching the waves, fishing boats, etc., was great! The deer meandering around the back were fun to watch also. Short, easy walk to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ex-AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

Ok... The Gold Beach Inn.... In this review I am going to write about everything that I saw. The reason for this is because while some things don't bother me, those same things might be something that someone else is looking for and might be a deal breaker. When we checked in the staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The lobby is small and quaint. They gave us a key.. a real one, not a card key for the door. We got room 301. This is what they consider the fourth floor since the first floor is just storage etc. We had a one King room, Ocean front. The view is pretty nice. I am very spoiled though when it comes to hotels "on the beach". The pictures DEFINITELY show that it is MUCH closer to the beach than it actually is. Some say that it is 100 yards to the beach, but I would have to say it is a bit farther than that(check out the pictures). While I personally do not have a problem with the 2 minute walk to the ocean, I do think that it would be harder for people who are a bit more feable. While I am on this subject, ALL the hotels in this area have about the same view. Some people had mentioned that the Pacific Reef would be a better place to stay, however they were right next door and only had two floors. So I cant imagine the view would be the same. Also there was the Gold Beach Resort and they had the EXACT same view as the Gold Beach Inn and they are two times more expensive, so while I didnt see the inside of the rooms I would have to say that staying at the Gold Beach Inn for 80 dollars a night was well worth it. Now to the room. When you walk in ( to our room at least, the second floor had different colors) you are welcomed by blue carpet. It is clean and the room is quite large! I absolutely loved the two little reclining chairs next to the picture window. We found ourselves here most of the time. They have a nice big tv, but no DVD player which was a small disappointment. The vanity area and bathroom had some oldish looking style of countertops, but were clean. They had TWO toilet paper attachments next to the toilet, which I thought was odd, but didnt bother me. The tub was not clean :( That was one of the small disappointments in this room. You have to hold the toilet handle down for literally 15 seconds so that the toilet will completely flush. This was annoying, but tolerable. The water pressure was good, but you really had to pull the handles out hard to get the full pressure. The bathroom door did not latch shut, so it wont lock either. It is odd that the window in the bathroom opens up to the walkway, so IF you open the window who ever is walking by at the time can see right into your bathroom. There were what looked like tobacco drippings on the wall in the bathroom by the light switches, and the heating lamp switch had seen better days. The bed was quite comfortable!! They had three pillows on the bed too, that was nice. Your private balcony was a joke though. It was so tiny, it was scary! They have two small chairs out here but we spent more of our time in the room watching the ocean because the balcony was really very small.(See pictures). They have a room that has Ice and Soda in it, beware because it STINKS!!! It has a trash can in it and the room is very small and not very close to your room either. The ocean front spa was terrific! I really enjoyed sitting in the spa which was heated wonderfully, and watching the waves crashing on the beach. You do not have an unobstructed view of the ocean but you can see it and it is beautiful. It was very clean. The towels however leave something to be desired! I dont think even my 5 year old would have fit the towels they offered in the hotel room and at the spa. Very small. The actual beach was a big dissapointment. It was dirty, and not a very good beach for beachcombing. I am a huge beachcomber. I love to collect shells and things. There are NO SHELLS at all on this beach and while some of the rocks are interesting that is all there is.. Rocks and wood and dirty sea foam. Very disappointing for someone wanting to collect things. Another small annoyance was the Siren/alarm indicating fires and Tsunami warnings. READ THE BOOK THEY GIVE YOU, because this could be quite disturbing if you dont understand how the siren works as far as how many alarms mean they are calling for firerighters or there is a Tsunami. This went off three times while we were there. Once at 7:21am, once in the mid afternoon and once at 1:00am. So if you are the type that cant get back to sleep after being woke up, this wouldnt be the city for you to stay in. This had nothing to do with the hotel, but with the town itself. Back to the hotel... the breakfast was actually quite satisfying! I took pictures of that too. They had cereal, bagels, hard boiled eggs, Eggo waffles, English muffins, coffee, juice and milk. It really was quite nice enough for us and we ate there both mornings we stayed there. I really did like the hotel. I was just disappointed with how far it was from the beach, and the walk back up from the beach you had to walk up the hill in the parking lot to get back to your room. So the access wasnt that easy. I would definitely recommend this hotel though if you are going to stay in Gold Beach. It is clean, and comfortable, has a great view and a fantastic price!!!!!!
One final note.. the first night we were there we ate at Spinners. The food is absolutely OUT OF THIS WORLD! It is amazingly good. It is quite pricey though. They handed out 15% off tickets when we checked in, I would suggest using those if you are going to eat there. Also we ate at the Port Hole Cafe. The food was pretty good, but they are way way way too pricey for a cafe.
IF I came back to Gold Beach I would definitely stay at the Gold Beach Inn again. Definitely on the third floor for the views though.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LearyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,024 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,616 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed here a couple of times in the past and enjoyed it, but had not stayed here for a few years.

First off, we got a great winter rate plus an AARP discount, so our cost was only $74!

We had a king on the top floor, which included a micro and fridge. There is no question the design of the room/bathroom is a little dated, since the bathroom window opens onto the outside walkway. The furnishings were adequate and in good condition, but it was obvious that they aren't "upgraded". The micro and fridge are "add-ons"; they do not have their own cabinet or table. Everything was clean and in good working order, and the wi-fi was free and very fast.

Our view was lovely from both our room and the deck, and we could easily see the 100 or so yards to the surf, plus miles looking both north and south. The lower floors probably do not have quite as nice a view.

They have recently completed what they call an "ocean front spa". It's located between the motel and the beach and is screened from the motel balconies by pine trees. This addition is very nice! There are two spas and a large expanse of decking, as well as a glass-enclosed storm watching room.

The reception staff was pleasant and efficient. We asked for one extra coffee packet and she gave us three, plus some milk in a cup so we did not have to leave the room to have our coffee and tea the next morning. They do not keep hairdryers in the room, but all I had to do was ask at the front desk.

The "breakfast bar" was limited, and consisted of breads, cereals, and hard-boiled eggs, no fruit or anything extra. I will say that if we'd paid $100 or more for our room, the breakfast would have been quite disappointing.

We had a nice stay, were happy with the room and the price, and will stay here again!

I do see that the review below is not for Gold Beach Inn, since they state they stayed in one of Ireland's Rustic Cottages, located next door. Both properties are owned by the same company, but Ireland's is much older.

  • Liked — The view and the very reasonable price
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

I'm still here at the Gold Beach Inn and Ireland's Rustic Lodges and created an account at TripAdvisor just so that I could warn others not to pay in advance to stay here. We made our reservation after looking at the website and talking to a staff member, and we should have done more research. Actually, arriving during the offseason, as we did, we could have waited and NOT made a reservation at all before checking out the different establishments. There are vacancies everywhere.

Warning 1: It's not as near the beach as the picture on the website makes it look. In the banner at the top of the website, it looks like the buildings are directly on the beach. In fact, it's a 100 yard walk along the path. Is the photograph of the same buildings?

Warning 2: The amenities are bare bones. Yes, there is WiFi; but there is just one bath towel per person, and it's really small and thin. No extra blankets in the room. No decaf coffee, either with the in-room coffee maker or at the daily breakfast bar, which also features no fruit (just a lot of starch, plus hard-boiled eggs). They're trying to save money, and it shows.

Warning 3: Maintenance is being deferred. One of the ice machines didn't work. The blanket on our bed had a stain on it (appeared to be washed but stained). Bathtub needs recaulking.

Notwithstanding all this, there are some nice features: the aforementioned WiFi, the fact that they accept pets ($5 charge per pet), and the fact that the beach is a short walk away. We just wish we had checked out the nearby Motel 6, which doesn't charge for pets and has cheaper rooms to start with.

  • Liked — Near beach and accepts pets
  • Disliked — Overall sense of decline and deterioration
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alissa_Friedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

I've stayed at the Rustic Lodges next door, but wanted a full ocean view that accepted pets. So, we booked the top tier room at the Gold Beach Inn for $109.

I asked NUMEROUS times if the rooms were as nice as the lodge rooms and if they were nice in general. I was reassured by 3 different people that the rooms were "amazing" and "gorgeous". That we had one of the nicest rooms at the Inn.

I was afraid to touch anything in the room. The walls were scuffed and filthy, the bedspread looked like it had been there since 1979, the bathroom was dark and dank and stinky.

The photos make it look like it is right out on the beach. It's not. You have to stumble down a long path and over the dunes to get there. Ocean Front is not exactly what one would think. The 'ocean front' hot tubs are not ocean front. When we were there, they were constantly in use by some scary pretty people.

The Good: Liberal pet policy. Great views from your balcony. Near enough to grocery stores.

The Bad: EXTREMELY dated and filthy. Free breakfast was dreadful.

If you go in expecting an old school Motel 6, then you won't be disappointed. I guess for the price, not much can be expected. If the Wynn is 5 stars, this is 1.5 or 2.

  • Liked — General Location, Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank VeelaVeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Property: Gold Beach Inn
Address: 29346 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gold Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing