We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What find!!”
Review of Gold Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gold Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is has both water and non- water view rooms but the view rooms have fabulous views of the rolling ocean. There are hot tubs with glass wind barriers along the beach and in January a very beautiful deserted beach. The room was large with two nice recliners, a small galley kitchen, nice bathroom and a truly excellent bed. It is also pet-friendly! We all slept like babies. IT comes with breakfast which is not bad and better than most. In January it was $70.00 for a view room - now in high summer it is a lot more but what a wonderful bargain in January!!! I would stay here again and wish we could have been here longer. The dog loved the beach and I could have walked on the beach forever.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money for a view room. Use the spas they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolBAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 546 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Room was basic but had just enough. Beds did the trick. I definitely recommend staying in one of the top two floors with a big window and private deck to enjoy the waves. We actually had our deck door open all night and could hear the waves lull us to sleep. The spa area is amazing and is located next to the beach trail, therefore our view from the spa was the waves. Very peaceful and relaxing. I've spent much more money and have had half the experience. Best part is that they are also very dog friendly and my dog really enjoyed playing on the beach and meeting other dogs along the trails. Breakfast bar was great too.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WishyOstermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We traveled down the Oregon coast from Idaho to California! We didn't make any reservations ahead of time and luckily found some great places to stay! We lucked out when we found this cozy place! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Gold Beach Inn has to separate motel. One is called the "Rustic Lodge" and Gold Beach Inn itself.

The room was worn and dated but clean. We stayed on the lower level and wished we would have taken second floor for a much better view. There was a small kitchen in the unit.

They have a pool/hot tub section on the way down to the beach which is nice.

The staff is very friendly and the breakfast (included) was OK.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. We did not stay in the "Rustic lodge part" so can't co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at Ireland's (adjunct to the Gold Beach Inn) and highly recommend the property. We opted for the historic cabins, twice, in the course of a month. Both times, we meant to stay one night and ended up staying two.
The cabins are great--funky decor, furnished like a family cabin--very comfortable. We enjoyed the fireplace. The property has a variety of rooms available, from the cabins to traditional motel rooms, to units with full kitchens and multiple bedrooms. The property is beautiful, nicely landscaped and sloping toward a great beach. There are multiple locations scattered around the site to sit or gather outdoors, including a fun lighthouse-like structure. There are three hot tubs, nicely spaced on a large deck. The service was excellent, very friendly and accommodating.
It was a good value at $84, $90 with tax, including a better-than-average continental breakfast.
My only suggestion to management is that the interior lighting of the cabins might be improved.

Room Tip: Number 7 is the only one of the cabins with a good view of the water, with a nice corner window. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

if you want to have an old world stay the cottages are good and the breakfasts that come with it is a good continental and you can eat as much as you like.The best thing is the 3 pools were you can go into hot tub and have good soak to get rid of those aches and pains.The parking is easy outside your cottage.

Room Tip: watch out for the scuncts in the garden the smell is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Let me start by saying that the view from our room - #209 - was amazing!! And I really enjoyed taking an early morning walk around the grounds and down to the beach.
But the mattress! It was so awful that we ended up sleeping on the floor!! It was quite literally like sleeping on jello that wasn't quite firm yet. When we went to the front desk that evening after getting back from dinner, and realizing how bad it was, the woman at the front desk seemed quite inebriated to the point that she was unable to understand what we were trying to tell her.
We have stayed in hotels all over the world and this is in the top 2 as worst nights sleep. With just a small upgrade of a new mattress, this would have received a much better rating. I strongly suggest that you check the room first, although we did ask to see the room and was told that we had to pay for it first. Have never been told that before, so I guess that should have been a warning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewater541, Owner at Gold Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

The mattress in Room 209 was replaced in April of 2013. The mattress is over a foot thick and I personally laid on it, and it is nothing like this review describes. Second, you mention you saw the room before taking it. Every customer we show rooms to is that one of the first things they do is check out the mattress. Third, we would move you for any reason if you were unhappy with the room. Fourth, our 4 front desk professional ladies are extremely nice, and have been with us for years. To suggest these nice women were drinking on the job is offensive. Finally, to believe a 50 to 60 year old couple would sleep on the floor rather than sleep on the nice mattress or switch to another room is almost impossible to believe. This review is suspicious. We received no complaint on Room 209.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Beach
0 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
712 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Gold Beach
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Address: 29346 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Gold Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing