We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget room vs Ocean Front”
Review of Gold Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gold Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Reviewed October 13, 2013

You will be grabbed by the sign, "rooms from $69." You see that the hotel is ocean front. Just don't send your husband in to book the room and find he accepted the value price which was in the little building over the office. I mean, if you are on a budget or you are not going to be in your room at all, then it's a fine option. If your only reason to be here was to rest and gaze at the ocean, pay the normal price and get the main building. FYI for travelers: I've found there is no room on the Oregon Coast that is safe and clean with an ocean view for under $100. Not complaining, just know that I should have known there was no way it was going to be that front building for $69. OK onward..

The Value rooms are all upstairs without handicapped access and they are 401-406. We were lucky enough to get room 406, that had a window facing west where we could see a sliver of the ocean. Room 405 next to us, had a view from the bathroom window. 401-404 overlook the parking lot or highway.

We had a queen bed, a small round table and two chairs, micro, mini fridge & mini coffee pot. The carpet, the bed & furnishings and the entire bathroom appeared fairly new. The shower had one of those caddies with soap, shampoo and conditioner in pumps on the wall, which actually makes it very easy to use. If you have concerns about what kind of soap or shampoo it it is, then carry your own. The bed was comfortable, and sturdy. We both have bad backs, so we know cheap mattresses. This was a good mattress.

They have a unique and interesting feature, hot tubs with an ocean view. 3 tubs in a plexi glassed in area make up for not having a pool. They are very proud of this feature and it's mentioned when folks call (while I was hanging in the lobby, I overhead a few calls), at check in, and in a binder in the room. In fact the binder exists to tell two things: how cool their hot tubs are and how bad other hotels are. As in, how fancy other hotels can be so you never leave the room, and they aren't like that. Uh... kind of a weird sales pitch, eh? The binder would be better served to have menus and area information. By the way, the pizza place was good.

There was a breakfast room from 7-9:30 with boiled eggs, cereal, and all sorts of toaster items including French Toast. Jam, peanut butter and cream cheese were available, as was coffee and orange juice. It was enough, especially for $69 a night. I was in the lobby however when I heard the person at the desk rattle off prices and tell the caller that if they had discounts coming, it would be $5 off the room. My husband offered AAA, AARP and Government (being there on Gov biz for their town, too), and was not given any further discount. Maybe that doesn't apply to the budget rooms.

So here's my final thought: It was good, it was clean, it was peaceful as long as you weren't Jonesing for a bit of relaxation with an ocean view. Pay the real price and get one of the other rooms if that's what you're there for. $69 for a good mattress and clean room and a bit of breakfast is a great deal on the Oregon coast.

Room Tip: If you're on the cheap, ask for 406. Otherwise, Motel six is the same price with a view of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 539 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

First stop heading north along the Oregon coast and this was the worst place we stayed during a 2 week 3,000 mile road trip. The rooms were just poorly designed and the furniture out of place for the location of the inn. Two old musty blue reclining chairs looked like they may have been purchased used from the salvation army. Balcony was very small with 2 cheap plastic chairs and even cheaper green outdoor plastic floor covering with cigarette burns in it everywhere. The entire place looked like it needed a paint job. Grounds on the ocean side of the inn were ok, but the other side was nothing but parking lot. Flatscreen TV was fixed flat to the wall, unable to be moved in any direction (which would have been helpful since it wasn't lined up with the bed). Shower fixture was cheap. But, the worst and most unforgivable thing about this place was the absolutely RIDICULOUSLY THIN FLOORS/CEILINGS between rooms. It was so bad that there are actually signs on the wall inside the rooms encouraging guests to walk and talk quietly! TERRIBLE!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5p0rtyDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewater541, Owner at Gold Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Initially, we do not have blue recliners anywhere in the Gold Beach Inn. Our recliners are attacked by competitors because they do not want to spend the money to put them in. We also advertise recliners on our marquee which upsets some of our local competitors. Our recliners are cleaned regularly and are in very good shape. No one would be upset for a sign asking customers to walk lightly as the customers below would appreciate it. I could not imagine anyone being as upset as this person wrote. We had no such complaints. We are a beautiful coastal hotel that charges reasonable rates. Read through are other reviews and disregard this one as we have no idea where it is coming from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed one night in one of the ocean front rooms. we did appreciate the recliners in the room but one was too filthy to sit in and the other looked like it had not been clean in a while. The rest of the room was very clean but obviously an old property that still needs some work in spite of the very large flat screen T.V. The best part was the beautiful property surrounding the motel. Beautifully kept and landscaped. The front desk people were friendly. The breakfast was average but adequate. Rooms are a little pricey!

Room Tip: They have many different price points explore them all to see what fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewater541, Owner at Gold Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Our recliners are replaced on a regular basis. Also, we have a huge specialized machine to clean the recliners on a regular basis. The recliners are a popular feature of the hotels as they are very relaxing to watch the big screens or the ocean's waves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We left Vancouver, WA with friends early Sat. Morning 9/28/2013 just before a tremendous storm started in our vintage Triumph cars. We were headed for a car show in Waldport that was cancelled before we got there because of weather. We got on Highway 101 and headed south to Gold Beach where we had reservations at the Gold Beach Inn. Wonderful and friendly staff checked us in to our beach front rooms. We happen to love the ocean in a storm. The next morning they served a very nice complimentary breakfast before we were on our way. We definitely would go back! Not sure about a pool or fitness room, but they do have hot tubs right by the ocean!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a view of the ocean but be sure to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Oceanfront rooms (or rooms with an ocean view) and spas even closer to the surf, what more could you ask for? The breakfast was pretty comprehensive, the TV in the room was a wide flat screen, and the room came with two recliners and tall, poofy beds. Bath and sink were clean with lots of little hygiene amenities. I think overall it is a comfortable if not exceptional place to stay and watch the Oregon coast at ease or as a base for Gold Beach recreation.

Room Tip: Top floor for the best view probably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having stayed here at least three times, my sister and I always enjoy the ocean views from our 4th floor private balcony, leaving our door open to ocean sounds all night long and walking up and down the beach. Room is large and clean, two reclinders in the room to view ocean from inside room, beds comfy, front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, the spa is gorgeous especially at sunset .Breakfast was ok as I am not a big fan of frozen french toast or waffles but overall not complaining.. Love Love this place and will come again.

Great stopping off point for sights up and down the coast with a place to come "home"to at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A friend, who has stayed in Gold Beach on several occasions, recommended the Gold Beach Inn. We were traveling from Sacramento CA to Gold Beach, OR via route 299. We had no Idea what an exhausting drive that would become! We reached Crescent City after 8:00p.m. and needed a break to refuel the car and our bodies. I called the Inn to let them know we would not make the final check-in at 10:00pm. The desk person said to take as long a break as we needed and proceeded to make arrangements for picking up the room key after hours. We got to the hotel at 11:00p.m. and were soon safely tucked into the most comfortable bed ever. The hotel is, as many have mentioned, an older hotel along 101; but from what we saw this seemed fairly typical for Southern Oregon coastal towns. Our fourth floor room was large, comfortable, and clean. We had just left temps in the high 90s so we welcomed the wonderful cool, salty air. We kept our windows opened at night so we could hear the ocean which was only a short walk from the hotel.
The Gold Beach Inn is conveniently located for day trips to the redwoods or venturing further up the coast. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and responsive to requests. The housekeeping staff did an outstanding job of keeping the room clean, providing wonderfully fresh towels and extra pillows Everyone on staff acknowledged us with a cheerful, friendly comment each day. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. .

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms provide an excellent view of the ocean. There isn't a restaurant at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mineralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
701 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Address: 29346 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range: $95 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Gold Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing