We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel with Beach/Ocean Access”
Review of Gold Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gold Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Missouri Valley, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel with Beach/Ocean Access”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having stayed here at least three times, my sister and I always enjoy the ocean views from our 4th floor private balcony, leaving our door open to ocean sounds all night long and walking up and down the beach. Room is large and clean, two reclinders in the room to view ocean from inside room, beds comfy, front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, the spa is gorgeous especially at sunset .Breakfast was ok as I am not a big fan of frozen french toast or waffles but overall not complaining.. Love Love this place and will come again.

Great stopping off point for sights up and down the coast with a place to come "home"to at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    183
    58
    53
    35
See reviews for
119
277
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A friend, who has stayed in Gold Beach on several occasions, recommended the Gold Beach Inn. We were traveling from Sacramento CA to Gold Beach, OR via route 299. We had no Idea what an exhausting drive that would become! We reached Crescent City after 8:00p.m. and needed a break to refuel the car and our bodies. I called the Inn to let them know we would not make the final check-in at 10:00pm. The desk person said to take as long a break as we needed and proceeded to make arrangements for picking up the room key after hours. We got to the hotel at 11:00p.m. and were soon safely tucked into the most comfortable bed ever. The hotel is, as many have mentioned, an older hotel along 101; but from what we saw this seemed fairly typical for Southern Oregon coastal towns. Our fourth floor room was large, comfortable, and clean. We had just left temps in the high 90s so we welcomed the wonderful cool, salty air. We kept our windows opened at night so we could hear the ocean which was only a short walk from the hotel.
The Gold Beach Inn is conveniently located for day trips to the redwoods or venturing further up the coast. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and responsive to requests. The housekeeping staff did an outstanding job of keeping the room clean, providing wonderfully fresh towels and extra pillows Everyone on staff acknowledged us with a cheerful, friendly comment each day. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. .

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms provide an excellent view of the ocean. There isn't a restaurant at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mineralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 6 Contributor
758 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Gold Beach Inn competes with other properties along a stretch of Highway 101 in Gold Beach. We paid $109 for an ocean view king, which we thought was good value. The rooms are ok - they could use a little more pizazz - but the property fronts the gorgeous beach, has an updated outdoor area with three hot tubs, and is probably the best value in this section of Gold Beach. Next door are the rustic rooms which we found a little too dark and unappealing for the same price. This was a one night stopover on the way to California.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having been used to the highly developed coastline in the East, we were unprepared for the comparatively little development along the southern Oregon coast. Most of the facilities in Gold Beach were vintage looking. But don’t let the vintage appearance scare you away from the Gold Beach Inn. While on a road trip, one looks for a good sized, well appointed room, comfortable beds, cleanliness, reasonable rates and location. In these categories, the Gold Coast Inn has it all. The location is right on the beach with a great view and the staff is friendly and competent. The rates, for an oceanfront hotel, were reasonable and breakfast was included. It doesn’t have the flash of a modern high rise, but it is a very decent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zman-nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent one night on our way south and stayed on the 4th floor. Our room was clean with a great view of the Pacific. The room itself was very basic and the carpet on the deck needed to be replaced. For the price you would think that they would provide real glasses and ice bucket, not plastic, in the room.The staff was friendly and helpful picking a place to eat as it is the off season. The outside of the property could use a good sprucing up as the buildings need painting and the lights just need a good cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

More hotels need to do what this one has done: furnish the room with two recliners. We stayed on the top floor and faced our recliners towards our full ocean view. Before dinner drinks and early morning coffe became an experience! This hotel is situated on 19 acres of land with four paths leading to the ocean. Gardens and flowers are at every turn. There is even a lighthouse to climb. The breakfast is high carb ( although you can get a hard boiled egg), but the price is right (free). Wifi works great. There are three hot tubs on a deck system which allows group privacy. Picnic tables and park benches scattered throughout the grounds. Quiet. Unique and you can even rough it in a cabin next door ( next time). Be sure to bring some paint and paintbrushes so you can paint a rock and leave it at your special spot on the grounds. This is rugged Oregon Coast not boutique hotel. We were there for the 80 mile jet boat trip up the Rogue ( the only sun we saw!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurseop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a treat to find a beach resort among the endless chain motels. The people here are great and the beautiful beach is right in front. They have a platform just off the beach with three hot-tubs. Grab a beer and watch the sun go down. Good breakfast too. The rooms are fine, nothing special but comfortable, clean and spacious.

Room Tip: "Splurge" for an ocean-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWW660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
682 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#6 of 8 in Gold Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Property: Gold Beach Inn
Address: 29346 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gold Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing