We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced but friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gold Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gold Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced but friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the hotel because of our plans. The outdoor area behind the rooms was the best thing about the property - money better spent elsewhere. Why 3 hot tubs on a deck was necessary, I'll never understand. The quality of the rooms was a $75 room at best, but the price was almost twice that. The rooms were borderline clean. The decor reminded me of my grandmother's place. Nothing really matched, and things "made do". The good was the view, the rooms were fairly quiet and well, that's about it. The bad, other than the decor . . . the pillows were dead, the towels threadbare, the wifi didn't work worth a darn, and the room smelled like antiseptic. Though compared to the rest of Gold Beach, it's probably par for the course. The most interesting thing about the room was the framed letter hanging on the wall begging guests to post good reviews on TripAdvisor to counteract the bad reviews their local competitors were posting. A better suggestion would be to invite the owners to stay at a Best Western or Holiday Inn Express to see what a nice hotel room in their price group was like. In the meantime, if you need to stay in Gold Beach, be aware there doesn't seem to be anything as nice as a Best Western or Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewater541, Owner at Gold Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Our rooms are beautiful, clean, and have a fantastic view. If you know of a Best Western that is 19 acres oceanfront and charges less than we do, please give us a call. We could add movies on demand and charge another $125 a night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    169
    54
    49
    28
See reviews for
105
261
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The view from the rooms are fantatic, true no air conditioning but there are windows and the balcony door can be left open. We did not encounter any bugs either with the door open. The rooms have been redecorated recently and they are very pleasant. The breakfast hours are posted on the front door at check-in and there are several choices to choose from. We do not usually ask for maid service when we stay as it is not necessary unless we are there for more than 5 days. We can ask the maid for towel exchange if necessary. We arrived about noon and they were still cleaning rooms from Friday night, check-in is not until 3pm. They did check us in and we received receipt and were told room number. After lunch we returned about 230pm and the room was available. The spa is great, no dogs allowed and they have an adult only spa.

Room Tip: Level 2 is at ground level so no stairs. 3rd floor is quieter but you need to climb up 1 floor. Lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkayinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Check in was a ball of confusion. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and a standing fan in the corner. No A/C. Just open the widnow and use the fan. It was comfortable enough. The 3 hot tubs, one is adult only. Which is the one with a glass surround. The decking looked newish. The office staff said that breakfast was at 7am to 9am. They didn't open till 7:45am. Their sister hotel right next door The Irelands had boiled eggs, frozen waffles and pancakes, cereal, skim milk, bagels and cream cheese, cantalope, hot water for tea, coffee and orange juice. NO sausage or Bacon... very disappointed in the breakfast. The Ocean view was great and it's a short walk to the beach. The outside of the backside of the hotel could use a little pick me up. The grounds were kept up nicely and is totally PET Friendly. At $165.00, I would expect a better breakfast, better WiFi and A/C units. I might stay elsewhere should I stay in Gold Beach again.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you need assistance, make sure you book a room in the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Django G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Just left the Gold Beach inn. I don't like to give poor ratings, but this is why you come to trip advisor, to be informed, right? So... Here goes...
Upon check in at around 12:45,we were advised our room would be ready shortly. They had been full the night before. No problem, we went to the "beachside hot tub" changed and hung out a bit. This is a nice area. 3 hot tubs, towels provided and a small bathroom to change in. Nice beach view and breeze. I would rate this 5/5.
Room was ready around 4. We had a king room on the 2nd floor. My advice, ask for the top floor. Very noisy with people upstairs. No a/c, which would not be a problem if there was a ceiling fan or something to circulate air. Office closes down early, so if you need anything, so sorry. No one on site. Nice little balcony. Room 3/5.
The inn does offer free wifi, but it won't stay connected. The signal is very poor. Don't even bother. It will drive you mad!
No receipt for room was given, and upon checkout the desk personal could not offer me one. Said I should have received it when I checked in.
I would not recommend this property unless you don't mind paying a ridiculous rate ($150.00/night, with discount). Sorry for the review, Gold Beach Inn, but i believe in honesty in a review. With some attention to detail, this could be a property worth the rate it charges.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Texasislandgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is a gem! The ocean view from the room and balcony is gorgeous. It is a short, easy walk to the water and the outdoor hut tubs overlooking the ocean are one of the reasons we return.
Staff is friendly, rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagjira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a cheaply run motel in a great location, that is way overpriced. They charge as much as a much nicer hotel, but only because of their location near the beach. As we checked in one of the ladies at the front desk was in an argument on the phone with another guest and after she got off the phone she proceeded to mock the person to myself and another guest. Not very professional.
The beach is great, and there are hot tubs on a deck near the beach which can be used by guests of this hotel and the one next door. They were crowded though and people are allowed to smoke and drink in the hot tub area so not the greatest experience.
In the morning we thought breakfast ended at 10am so we arrived at 9:40am. Breakfast had actually ended at 9:30am, but the food and coffee were still out. We thought we'd at least get a cup of coffee, before it was dumped out, but the lady at the desk stopped us with "Uh...breakfast has ended, if that's what you're in here for." Very rude service for our $165 per night roadside motel room.
The rooms are Motel 6 quality with liquid soap dispensers in the shower. I would look for a better location on a future visit.

Room Tip: Walls and floors are very thin, at least get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TED80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, United States of America
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We didn't know how far we'd get down the Oregon coast, and waited until less than an hour out from Gold Beach to book a room. The Gold Beach Inn was a pleasant surprise. From the hot tub location (actually 3 nice whirlpool tubs) we watched a lovely sunset. They had towels by the tubs, so that was handy. The included breakfast was far better than the usual 'continental' so many places have. Our room was quite large, clean, well kept, and quiet. Wi-fi worked. The staff was friendly, and we ate nearby at a very good res-taurant. Our room was just $69 + tax---no complaints there. Most rooms were more, but it was a very acceptable room. All in all, a very good choice, lucky for us.

Room Tip: Our second floor, south side corner unit was less expensive than some of the others, & it was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Beach
0.0 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
0.0 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#5 of 8 in Brookings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Property: Gold Beach Inn
Address: 29346 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Gold Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing