We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, clean, nice extras; very reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gold Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico, United States of America
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“comfortable, clean, nice extras; very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We didn't know how far we'd get down the Oregon coast, and waited until less than an hour out from Gold Beach to book a room. The Gold Beach Inn was a pleasant surprise. From the hot tub location (actually 3 nice whirlpool tubs) we watched a lovely sunset. They had towels by the tubs, so that was handy. The included breakfast was far better than the usual 'continental' so many places have. Our room was quite large, clean, well kept, and quiet. Wi-fi worked. The staff was friendly, and we ate nearby at a very good res-taurant. Our room was just $69 + tax---no complaints there. Most rooms were more, but it was a very acceptable room. All in all, a very good choice, lucky for us.

Room Tip: Our second floor, south side corner unit was less expensive than some of the others, & it was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    166
    52
    48
    26
See reviews for
104
251
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first stop on the Oregon Coast trip and we were very satisfied. For the price the motel was more than adequate. The view from our ocean facing 3rd floor room was fabulous and we could walk to the beach in 3 minutes. It was clean and the beds comfortable. There were internal and external sinks so as two females traveling together that short circuited our morning beauty routine. Staff were friendly and helpfuk bith when making the reservations nd once we got there. Only drawback in room was the chairs at the table. They wre easy chairs, impossible to move when we wanted to play cards in the evening. Easy walk to good restaurants.

Room Tip: Pay for an ocean view room. it is worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FranceAvignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you want a gorgeous view, big beach, and beautiful gardens and grounds to wander through, this is the place to stay. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and you can walk to restaurants. If you want to spend all of your time outdoors, there is plenty of space to find a quiet spot or have a barbeque. If you need a quiet retreat for a few days, you can have that too. I try to spend a restorative week here every year.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms with balconies are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marbel815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary, looking for a quiet place to hideaway for a few days. The Best Western 30 minutes down the road was our plan, but at $200 a night, we thought we'd give this one a chance since it was only $89/night. This was perfect. I was skeptical because there were some negative reviews on here, but our room, #108 is clean, modern, roomy and comfortable. I am extremely picky, so I went in to it with an open mind, but honestly, the only think I could complain about is there is a small hole in the upholstery on the side of one of the recliners, and at this price, with the view, I think I can live with that! On top of that, Char greeted us at check in with a huge smile and patiently (I'm picky and a little ocd) answered all of my questions. Overall- I honestly don't think you'll find a better value for your money when it comes to ocean front hotels! Very happy, would definitely recommend and will stay here again!

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor have a nice view, but second floor is better, and third floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The people at check in were so friendly, caring and helpful it got us off to a good start for our 2 night's stay.
The room overlooking the Ocean was huge, clean and had everything we wanted working perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,027 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,590 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've stayed here several times over the years. Although this motel is not 'new' it is well kept up. The furnishings may be a bit dated here and there, but this is not a fancy upscale 'hotel' - it's a reasonably priced oceanfront motel.

Since our last visit in I believe 2010, the rooms now have modern flat screen TVs, at least ours did. Our bed was a little soft and did have a low spot right in the middle, so it may be time for management to think about replacing some of them.

The balconies are large enough to sit and enjoy the view and there are solid walls in between each room for privacy. There is NO SMOKING on the balconies, but we had an unfortunate experience. The people next door were smoking on their balcony and of course it drifted into our room. We made several comments but they kept smoking. I finally took some Lysol and sprayed it over toward their room!

I did report this when we checked out and the clerk said she would make a note of it and charge them if their room smelled smoky. I hate it when people smoke on balconies, just ignoring the big sign telling them not too.

The only problem we had this visit was the breakfast - there wasn't any! I don't know if the person called in sick or what happened, but my husband went down about 8:30 and everything was closed up . . . and again just after 9:00 and still all closed. When we checked out about 9:45 there was still no sign of breakfast, so we stopped in Brookings to grab a quick bite.

But, even with that problem, the location plus the low price (I think we paid about $80) warrants a "four-dot" satisfaction rating from us. We'll stay here again, no question.

Room Tip: There are stairs, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were torn as to whether to give this hotel 3* or 4*.

First the pros ... location on the beach is great. It's a very short walk to the beach and the view from our room on the top (4th floor) was beautiful. The room overall was very clean. The bathroom appeared to be recently redone. The women working the desk were a delight to work with! I found having two fairly new recliners in the room to be much appreciated. There were some new pieces of furniture in the room. The hot tubs are great as well and are in a great location. Price - under $100 for this view is a deal no matter where you are IMHO.

The cons - the room smelled a bit like "grandma's house" ... not that that's a bad thing necessarily. The rooms look a bit like grandma's too. The bedding wasn't the most comfortable but the bed itself was. The Internet was very slow and basically we gave up trying to use it. The breakfast wasn't much to speak of overall but you can tell they really make an effort to have plenty for people to choose from without actually cooking anything. The shower head was VERY low (at about shoulder level).

Overall I would imagine this is the best to offer IN Gold Beach. If you know what you're getting into this is a worthwhile stay. Like the title says ... Think motel, not hotel. If you like luxury you may want to check out Tu Tu Ten ($270+ per night) which is up the Rogue River and not on the ocean. The people here at Gold Coast Inn were great and do their best to help you with anything you may need. Decent stay if you know what you're getting into.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Husker4theSpurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Gold Beach
Motel 6 Gold Beach
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Inn

Property: Gold Beach Inn
Address: 29346 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Ocean Views and service that are Unmatched on the Oregon Coast. Incredible Pacific Ocean and Sunset Views. Two large Ocean Front Spas with Enclosed View Room. The Gold Beach Inn features the Highest Elevated View Rooms in Gold Beach. Our 3rd and 4th floor rooms all have Private Oceanfront Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Gold Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing