We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Great view. Nice family room. Dirty carpet”
Review of Pacific Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Reef Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place. Great view. Nice family room. Dirty carpet”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We felt this was a great stay for the cost and view. The walk to the beach wasn't too far and staying on the top floor we had a great view and nice balcony. There was a community room by ours that we used for a gathering area. Very nicely up kept and welcoming. Our only complaint was that the carpet was very stained, however, being on the beach we can see how this could happen. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ND1438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Manager at Pacific Reef Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your review to our TripAdvisor page. We appreciate every review we receive. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the view from our Ocean View rooms. It truly is spectacular to watch the sunset over the Pacific. We are currently working on getting all of carpet professionally cleaned, due to the proximity to the beach it is very easy for our carpet to get stained. However we will take your note seriously, and make sure that we stay on top of our carpet cleaning. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    303
    122
    37
    30
See reviews for
208
484
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Pacific Reef. It was spring break so we got the last ocean view room. Fantastic view, large grassy area outside our unit. The room was clean with a comfortable bed. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linnda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on our TripAdvisor page. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view during Spring Break. We try to always provide an exceptional customer experience, and we are very glad that we were able to provide that to you. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Gold Beach. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Spacious room, nicely appointed with granite countertops, nice furniture, lovely view from a private patio. Nice bedding and comfortable bed. So glad for the wood floors and no nasty carpet. Very clean inside and out. Happy to see a microwave. Short walk to the beach. Pretty gazebo and koi pond. We enjoyed our stay and our dog loved it. Our rate was very good so this was a terrific value.

Room Tip: the ground floor ocean view rooms were so easy to use and still had a nice view. A bit more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our TripAdvisor page. We are glad you enjoyed our well appointed ocean front room, and all of the amenities associated with it. We thank you again for your glowing review of our rooms, and our property. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Clean spacious fresh room with king bed so comfy and our room smelled good. Has anyone else noticed that some places on the coast smell funky even if they look clean? No moldy smell here! The balcony was the nicest ever with rocking chairs. A wonderful stay right over the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1goodcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on our TripAdvisor page. We are glad you enjoyed your room with the King bed. We love the rocking chairs, and we are happy to hear that you feel the same. Watching the sunset over the Pacific is quite breathtaking. It is our goal to provide our guests with an exceptional customer experience, and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Pacific Reef Resort is family friendly in that they have an assortment of rooms to fit every budget. My room was in the first floor ocean view section. The room was larger than your usual one queen bed room.

Immediately upon entering the registration office I felt valued as a potential guest. When I asked to look at a room my request was met with a smile. The desk attendant provided information to assist us without our asking. She was quick to tell us that a 24 hour market was a short distance away. The location was great in that it was a short nice walk to an area where we were able to purchase dinner options.

Loved the coffee provided in the rooms.

If your looking for a place to accommodate yourself or your family that is friendly to your wallet this is the place.

Shirley from Springfield, Oregon

Room Tip: Inquire about all price ranged rooms. You will be surprised! I would suggest the 2nd floor for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Pacific Reef. We value all of our guests, and we try very hard to make sure every guest has an exceptional experience while staying with us. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to provide that type of experience for you. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The gentlemen on the front desk was so nice, he let me look at numerous rooms, till I found the one! Ya know when you don't get to vacation often you just know what you want! I did, and he made it his job to make me happy and helped me find my perfect spot. To me that is what will make come back again! The room was fantastic, the view incomparable, AND I found a rare piece of Yellow Sea glass while looking on the beach. Thank You so much for your kindness and a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on your TripAdvisor page. Our front desk has been trained to try and provide every guest with an exceptional experience. We are happy to hear that we were able to provide that to you. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Clean, comfortable and good value for a one night stay. Slept well which is so important for us when it comes to motels. Friendly staff, and a nice selection of travel materials which we found very useful for our trip. Close to the ocean - a place I might like to book for a week in the future.

Room Tip: breakfast was limited, but fine with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
673 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#6 of 8 in Gold Beach
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Gold Beach
Motel 6 Gold Beach
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Reef Hotel

Property: Pacific Reef Hotel
Address: 29362 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Reef Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Beach Oregon Lodging. #1 Rated Ocean Rooms in Gold Beach. The finest in Southern Oregon Coast Ocean Front Lodging is found at Pacific Reef Resort in beautiful Gold Beach. Our Gold Beach Or. accommodations include motel, hotel, vacation rentals and beach front condos. Located just 35 miles north of the California and Oregon boarder, at the mouth of the world famous Rogue River with its great fishing and exciting Jetboat Tours into the Rogue River Wilderness. Come visit the Southern Oregon Coast and Gold Beach. Experience the hospitality and lodging we have to offer at Pacific Reef Resort in Gold Beach Oregon. Listen to the soothing sounds of the surf as you enjoy our relaxed and beautifully furnished oceanfront rooms. Relax and enjoy our recently renovated economy rooms with just a short walk along our private trail to the beach below. Our luxurious two story condominiums overlook the Pacific Ocean and come with a fully equipped kitchen, living room, flat screen TV and two private patios. Relax and enjoy our numerous amenities as you watch the sunset and listen to the sound of the surf. One of our most popular units, this isolated Beach Cottage is just steps from the sand and surf, ideal for those looking to kick back and immerse themselves in coastal living. The Ocean Penthouse offers the most expansive views of the Pacific Ocean. At over 600 sq feet, this spacious room can accommodate up to 6 people and is ideally suited for larger groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Reef Resort - Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach
Pacific Reef Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing