We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old vs. New--huge difference”
Review of Pacific Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Reef Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, OR
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old vs. New--huge difference”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Trip Advisor shows this property as one of the top properties in Gold Beach, Oregon. Perhaps that could be true if you stay in the newer constructed two story buildings with ocean view rooms, which could about $160.00 a night. We opted to stay in what turned out to be the 'original' single story 'economy' building, which is a single story unit containing 20 or fewer rooms. Although the outside of this building has been re-painted, the doors still unlock with a key and you step into a space from the 1950's--and a small one at that. There is no table, just one chair against a counter which runs the length of the room. For two of us that was not at all convenient. Their web site says the economy rooms have 'new' queen beds. They weren't too bad, but my wife's bed had something wrong with it and it made a terrible noise with the slightest movement. Bedding looked a little gray and at one point my wife said--"hey, those aren't my hairs", when examining one of her pillows. Mini-blinds work but their are no curtains, so it is light in the room around 5:00 AM. Rooms have had some changes over time--notice I did not say "improvements". The bar light above the mirror is totally off center, apparently placed to be above the tiny sink (where the hot water faucet works in reverse), but looks pretty stupid. Room has a small coffee maker, mirco-wave and a refrigerator. No hair dryer, but when I went to the front desk they produced one. Problems with people stealing them? All lights were super bright--like a 200 watt bulb in a fixture meant for 40 watts. Tv set was an older 19" one--no hi-def. Bathroom was small, tile floor had been re-done. Tub/shower combination had the straight across curtain rather than the more convenient 'curved' model. Dirt (?) of some kind was smeared next to light switch in bathroom, a wet face cloth cleaned it up, but what the--? Water pressure was OK, disposable toiletries adequate. Towels, etc., were as expected. Hook on inside of bathroom door was broken off--long time ago, leaving the piece still glued in place. Front desk was helpful, but there is a prominent sign on the glass door as you enter the office: "Check In Time is 3:00 PM--No Exceptions". Yikes. We showed up around 1:00 PM ,but left rather than embarrass ourselves. We came back about 2:40 PM, walked to the front desk and said--"oops--didn't see the sign til now--should we come back--I can wait in the car?" Lady said no problem--"All of the rooms are ready". Chocolate chip cookies on the counter--. These rooms are 'maybe' worth $50-60 a night maximum. We were given an AARP discount and counting tax, still paid $100.00 Of course, we would decline to stay in those rooms again if it was free.

Room Tip: pay up and stay in the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lie2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ugenius, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We take your review seriously. We have dispatched our maintenance and maid staff to the room to ensure that it meets the standards of the traveling public. If, in the future, you have similar concerns at our property or another property be sure to report your findings so that we can address them immediately. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    307
    123
    37
    30
See reviews for
215
485
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this establishment while vacationing in the area. We were thrilled with our condo. From the minute we arrived, the staff was so helpful. They told us about attractions in the area, and gave us discounts for local restaurants. Our condo was a two story, one bedroom and two bath rental. There was a very nice living room with a flat screen TV. A kitchen with a large refrigerator, beautiful cabinets, granite countertops and a full range of dishes.
The bathrooms were very nice also. There was a balcony on both floors and a washer and dryer.
The hotel is located on the beach. If visiting this area again, we would ONLY stay at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdwacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidden valley lake,ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful,large clean room with a nice balcony for watching the sunset, big comfy bed.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the oceanview room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriT707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved the condo with the ocean view. It was very reasonably priced for a two bedroom two bath location equipped with dishes, refrigerator and a stove. The staff was excellent and very knowledgable about local attractions and restaurants. Stay here and you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Pay a little and stay in the condo, it is well worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 672Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our room at the Pacific Reef Resort overlooking the sea was one of the most spacious and well appointed of our trip down the Oregon coast.

Gold Beach is a sleepy little town on the south end of the coast but within an easy drive of many spectacular sights. It's one of a string of four or five similar hotels along the coast on the south side of town, very convenient. There are a few restaurants somewhat in walking distance.

Our welcome was friendly and informative, including some local restaurant discounts. We dined at Spinner's just a short distance away, which was great. Our top two choices were both closed (Tuesday).

Our ocean view room was on the top floor, which was a big plus. The view was spectacular, albeit a distance away. The grounds were well maintained with a nice trail to the ocean.

The room was very large with a great balcony. Bed comfortable.

Only downside at all was a meager breakfast served in a conference room that didn't smell very inviting. We opted to eat out at Indian Creek Cafe, which was a great experience.

Highly recommend Pacific Reef or the other hotels along the coast.

Room Tip: Get a top floor ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TumbleweedandCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I was very pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of the room. I enjoyed being able to walk to the beach from our sliding glass door. I like a little fresh air at night, but there was only the sliding glass door, and floor to ceiling windows that don't open. That didn't keep me awake, though. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeachingCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms (102Q) in the older motel as we were told they had been upgraded. Aside from a new mattress and some paint I did not see anything out of the ordinary. It looked like a 1950 ish motel that had been painted. It was still an older TV and they needed new chairs. On the good side, the bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the woman in the breakfast room. She was very nice and tried so hard to make our breakfast enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the new building facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
682 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#6 of 8 in Gold Beach
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Reef Hotel

Property: Pacific Reef Hotel
Address: 29362 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Reef Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Beach Oregon Lodging. #1 Rated Ocean Rooms in Gold Beach. The finest in Southern Oregon Coast Ocean Front Lodging is found at Pacific Reef Resort in beautiful Gold Beach. Our Gold Beach Or. accommodations include motel, hotel, vacation rentals and beach front condos. Located just 35 miles north of the California and Oregon boarder, at the mouth of the world famous Rogue River with its great fishing and exciting Jetboat Tours into the Rogue River Wilderness. Come visit the Southern Oregon Coast and Gold Beach. Experience the hospitality and lodging we have to offer at Pacific Reef Resort in Gold Beach Oregon. Listen to the soothing sounds of the surf as you enjoy our relaxed and beautifully furnished oceanfront rooms. Relax and enjoy our recently renovated economy rooms with just a short walk along our private trail to the beach below. Our luxurious two story condominiums overlook the Pacific Ocean and come with a fully equipped kitchen, living room, flat screen TV and two private patios. Relax and enjoy our numerous amenities as you watch the sunset and listen to the sound of the surf. One of our most popular units, this isolated Beach Cottage is just steps from the sand and surf, ideal for those looking to kick back and immerse themselves in coastal living. The Ocean Penthouse offers the most expansive views of the Pacific Ocean. At over 600 sq feet, this spacious room can accommodate up to 6 people and is ideally suited for larger groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Reef Resort - Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach
Pacific Reef Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing