We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good -- working on Great”
Review of Saltwater - CLOSED

Saltwater
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Good -- working on Great”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Saltwater has moved into much larger quarters (formerly The Bridge building). We have had two very good meals since the move. A good apple smoked prime rib on the 1st visit - excellent flavor but not too smoky. Unfortunately they were out of the prime rib on the 2nd visit but the burgers we had instead were very good. Excellent service on both visits. We are so pleased they have moved into the larger space and now have a liquor license. The wine choices were limited but affordable. They encourage diners to bring their own wine with a small $5 corkage fee. Once they get the rough edges smoothed out, we're confident it will be a great place and a much appreciated addition to Gold Beach restaurant choices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Gold Beach”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We really enjoyed talking to Ben (owner/partner) and the food was very good. We tried a few other restaurants but always wished we'd gone back to Saltwater, it was that good. Very generous wine pours too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoDen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockbridge Baths, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New location -- great start!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife, daughter and I ate at Saltwater just a few days after it reopened in a new location in Gold Beach. Very pleasant ambiance and excellent food. My wife had prime rib with potatoes au gratin and summer squash, which was very good, and I had cioppino, which was full of seafood in a rather spicy (but not too) sauce that was delicious. My daughter had a starter of steamed clams, Thai style, which she loved, and then she had a crab cake burger, which she also loved.

The service was good and the restaurant was conscientious about accommodating my wife's allergy to garlic. We recommend Saltwater as a great place for lunch or dinner in Gold Beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gliddenr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Salmon Burgers...”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Big juicy salmon burgers, with garlic fries and a cold beer... sometimes nothing else will satisfy me. Good food and fast service with reasonable prices.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“MOVED”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The crew has moved to Wedderburn loop, across from Jot's. Opening TBA. This location use to
be called The Bridge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davendeb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater also viewed

 
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing