We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”
Review of Chowder House

Chowder House
Ranked #10 of 31 Restaurants in Gold Beach
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The place never looked crowded the whole time we were in Gold Beach. We stopped here and had the fish & chips for lunch. Service & food was good. Someone (probably the boss) came around to see if we were satisfied with everything. How often do you get that?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pitdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, as well as the customer service that was provided to you. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    124
    93
    47
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level 6 Contributor
1,048 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,664 helpful votes
“Food was good. Restaurant design a bit odd”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had lunch here in May. We ordered at the counter and the friendly staff brought the food to our table. I thought the fish-n-chips were good and we got two generous pieces for $7. My husband had their clam chowder and said it was rich and creamy.

We both *loved* the little biscuits :-)

Overall, the menu is a bit limited. They make up sandwiches to order but at $9.50 each, that seemed on the expensive side. The restaurant was sparkling clean.

We ate in the sort of "side room" in a comfortable booth next to some bookcases. There is also a back room which was full of stacked tables and chairs. Plus there are some couches. That's the odd part I mentioned -- it looks kind of weird, to be honest -- maybe they might put up curtains or a screen or something to block it off? There were also some unused display cases off to one side which made us wonder if the place had changed hands recently.

Lunch was good though. There is no RV parking for anything large; no trailer parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at the Chowder House. The restaurant has not changed hands recently, however we have undergone a few changes. Your recommendation of curtains has merit, and we will consider that moving forward. Thank you again for posting your review. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockbridge Baths, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We (three of us: my wife, daughter and I) had lunch at the Chowder House. My wife and I both had fish and chips -- Excellent! -- and my daughter had fish tacos, which were good if a little light on the portions of fish.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gliddenr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Chowder House. The Fish Tacos and Fish & Chips are two of our house favorites. We are glad to hear that all three of you enjoyed them. Thank you again for your review. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bako
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ok Chowder.... And that's their specialty??”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here as it was out first day at the coast. Of course coast makes you want clam chowder. How can you go wrong a at a place called "the chowder house"?
Well the service was good, the fries were ok, the steamed veggie plate was great, but the chowder tasted more like potatoes than clams. Disappointed - but luckily we found great chowder at the Port Hole Cafe the next day.

Helpful?
2 Thank JennyTDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our Clam Chowder. However we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the fries, and steamed veggie plate. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place to stop for a bite”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

A great place for an informal meal with great food and very resonable prices. You're not going to find a prime rib here, but the food they serve is excellent! Had fish & chips and Shrimp Tacos for dinner, and the Cinnamon French Toast for breakfast. We highly recommend it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene P, Owner at Chowder House, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Fish & Chips and our Shrimp Tacos. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our Cinnamon French Toast, it is a house favorite. Thank you again for your review. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder House also viewed

 
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing