We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oregon never was so beautiful...”
Review of Gold Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gold Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oregon never was so beautiful...”
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I had just an incredibly awesome time at GB Resort. It's more or less right on the beach so I went out at night for a stroll on the serene beach. Absolute silence, no light pollution- the only time I ever saw 7 shooting stars all in the same night! It was absolutely magical... The crashing waves were soft on the ears yet pleasing to the soul. Solace was never appreciated as it was at GB Resort. Room service was prompt and attentive to the customer's needs. And of course for the rate, it was a great deal; a bargain! Thanks GBR!

  • Liked — The coastal front.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hyunggun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    256
    117
    41
    25
See reviews for
246
320
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sublimity, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We selected this one for its views (as shown on their web site) and although we managed to get a second-floor room, the view wasn't spectacular when compared to the rest of the Oregon Coast. Worse, you couldn't sit and enjoy the view because the six-inch wide boards of the railing (which also seemed unusually high, almost chest high) completely blocked the view.

Also, there's a new construction being built so any new comers will like face even more obstructions. It's not quite between the hotel and the beach but it's close.

We also selected this hotel because of the pool and the gym. The pool's size was terribly misleading on the website. It looked huge and definitely was not. Probably half the size of a standard pool. The "gym" was a few pieces of exercise equipment put haphazardly in a room that was on one half of the conference room. It was a little bizarre, actually.

The beds were stiff and uncomfortable as were the bedding. All in all, we won't be coming back.

The waffle house, about a half-mile north, is definitely the best place in town for breakfast.

  • Liked — Conveniently located
  • Disliked — They over sold it on their website; did not meet expectations.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SublimityDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbresortmanager, Manager at Gold Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2008
Thank you for your view of our property. Our balcony rails are high to keep children who might stand on a chair from falling one or two stories. The rails are placed to keep children from being able to slip through them. All of this is done in line with the city codes.

The construction to the south of the Resort is inactive. There are no structures to take away from the Resorts ocean view.

Our swimming pool is approx. 748 square feet, with three different levels of water, 3 feet to 5 feet. Gold Beach Resort offers our guest the use of treadmills and weights. Our gym is set up on one side of our convention center.

Knowing that some want firm beds and other people want soft beds, we do have rooms with either or. If a request is made every attempt is made to provide our guest with their choice of bed.


Sincerely,

Gold Beach Resort Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahiem
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2008

There is a major construction project going on that is between you and the views. The motel sits almost in a hole not on a ridge like the rest of the motels in Gold Beach so the views are not very good. The grounds are in terrible disrepair. It is obvious there is no management or pride of ownership. We were recommended by one of the jet boat companies of which we were furious. This motel could only have been recommended if there is some type of financial arrangement. Not even close to a resort.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — construction
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelyneasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbresortmanager, Manager at Gold Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2008
I am very sorry that you were not happy with your stay at Gold Beach Resort. Yes, there is construction to the South of the Resort. However, this does not effect the view of the ocean in all directions. In fact, at this time the view to the south is not obstructed. We are doing all we can to make sure that the construction to the South has as little of an effect on our view as possible. The Resort sits level with the beach, having two stories above "beach level". There are no rises between the Resort ground level and the beach. Due to the ground level being just that, the view from "beach level" is not as good as the view from the two upper levels of rooms. It is my understanding that each employee of the jet boat companies are allowed to make their own personal recommendation to customers in regards to what Resort/motel they themselves prefer.

Gold Beach Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2008

I had an excellent time at this resort. Me and my girlfriend went there for our 3 year anniversary and we couldn't have been happier.

The Staff was extremely nice and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and offered us several fun things to do. The room was the largest (and nicest) room i have ever seen in a hotel. It had an excellent view and brand new carpet, (While watching the sunset over the ocean we could see deer frolicking in the field below us, which was very nice). The pool was also great (it was a little cold for us and they turned temperature up instantly!)

Overall i had a wonderful stay and i would recommend this resort for anyone who is wanting an unforgettable experience.

  • Liked — The nice rooms and staff!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank taiki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
566 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

It has been a couple of years since visiting Gold Beach. In the past we have had mixed results with the accommodations. This time we thought we would try GB Resort and Condos based on it being the number 1 rated hotel on TA. That was our first mistake, the second being we should have looked at the room first before giving our credit card information to them. We should have questioned why they were offering such a good rate. Remember: you get what you pay for.

Our room faced the ocean, but it wasn't exactly a scenic site. Instead, it looked like a construction site. That being said, there is construction or something going on in the adjacent lot.

The room itself needed a facelift. Everything looked old and worn out, especially the carpet. And the windows needed to be cleaned. Upon entering the room, the first thing we saw was the mini refrigerator's door hanging open. It was not a pretty site.

We didn't even bother with the complimentary breakfast. Need I say more?

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — I was very disappointed with our accommodations
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Everyone there is very friendly and was attentive to my needs. The room had an awesome view of the ocean. Right in the backyard there were deers and wildlife. The pool is pretty clean and the jacuzzi was heavenly after a long day of hiking. Their breakfast is pretty decent (standard cereal, eggs, muffins, toast, etc...). The room was nice. It was very spacious and had everything that I would need. I stayed in February, so it was pretty cold up in Oregon, but still a fun trip. If you ever pass by Gold Beach, I really recommend staying here.

  • Liked — The jacuzzi
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Malia87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

There is very little not to like about the Gold Beach Resort.
Our room was on the third floor with a great view of the water; the room was, indeed, big, clean and comfortable; a walk to the beach took less than 3 minutes (it was an easy walk for the kids too); the hot tub was great and the pool, if you didn't mind your water quite cool, was refreshing; also, the breakfast bar had a nice selection (warm boiled eggs were a nice plus); and the staff was friendly and the grounds were kept extremely clean. All for a great rate.
You can't beat this deal in Gold Beach.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Impapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Beach
0.3 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
0.3 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
122 reviews
24.8 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Resort

Property: Gold Beach Resort
Address: 29232 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7777
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gold Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Gold Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Resort And Condominiums Hotel Gold Beach
Hotel Gold Beach
Resort Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing