We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Enough For A Quick Stop Over” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gold Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Decent Enough For A Quick Stop Over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Recently stayed for 2 nights at this motel on our way to the Redwood forest. Didn't have a reservation so we just drove up and got a room at the AAA rate. The gentleman at the front desk was very accommodating and offered his help if we needed it during our stay. Don't be mistaken though this is not a resort and have no idea why they call it that. There isn't a restraurant on site but they do offer a free breakfast with waffles scrambled eggs etc plus all the typical cold products you would find at a typical continental breakfast. As for the rooms ours was room 326 with a view of the ocean which was nice and it was clean with what seemed to be newer carpets and newer comfortable mattresses my only gripe was that the fitted sheets were not deep enough and kept coming off in the middle of the night. As far as the bed linens they were thin and had those old polyester blankets with holes in them maybe from the mid 80's? Not my style but it was okay. The rooms themselves are worn and there are signs that the decor is somewhere is the mid 80's. You can also tell that the exterior of the building is also showing wear as well (rotten wood etc.) there isn't an elevator so for some that may be an issue. The property grounds are well maintained with a few exceptions with beer bottles and can on the ground on the backside. Nice pool and hot tub- clean. Honestly, the rooms themselves are worth about 89.00-100.00 night but because of their location, the rate of 143.00 AAA was steep! There isn't a lot of choices here in Gold Beach and they are all about the same star rating. I wouldn't make this destination spot though.One last thing there is no Air conditioning the rooms do get hot at night and the sliding door doesn't have a screen door so you can't really open the door at night to cool down without mosquitoes around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    251
    108
    41
    24
See reviews for
234
312
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
350 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This motel advertises itself as a resort; that is amazing! The very positive reviews are also amazing. Our experience certainly does not mirror those positive reviews. Think a $60 Motel 6, with a view, for $160.

Our first negative experience began with making the reservation. After trying, unsuccessfully, to work with their very hostile web site, we called the hotel. They were too busy to take our reservation. We insisted and where finally able to make a reservation. We had initially wanted to stay in one of their condominiums until we realized that the were not on the ocean but across the street from the ocean. We opted for their most expensive room (over $150 per night) for an upstairs room.

Our disappointment started when we first arrived. It certainly did not look like a resort from the outside. The lobby is certainly dated and, as it turned out, so are the rooms. The entrance is up exterior stairs on the street side. On entering the room from the street side there is a sliding door on the other side of the room. The sliding door leeds onto a small balcony with views of the ocean. Don't think right on the beach. It is 50 yards or so to the beach, but it is close enough so that you can hear the waves crashing in the distance. When we opened the screen leading to the balcony it came off of its track. We sort of hung it back on its tracks but it kept coming off. It would require some major repairs to get it working again. Resort, really?

As noted, the room is pretty tired and dated. It was also pretty spartan. It looked like the carpet had been replaced recently but it did not fit the decor of the room. The bath was a big disappointment. It was standard motel bath but the floor tiles were broken and loose. They kept shifting under our feet. Resort,really?

When we arrived at the hotel there was a group as evidenced by the big bus out front. We were awakened the next morning at around 6 by the bus starting up. After listening to it for about 30 minutes I called the front desk to enquire as to how long the bus would be sitting out front idling. They informed me that it would be at least another 30 minutes! Really? When I insisted they did have them turn the bus off. They started again and left about an hour later. Resort, really?

Breakfast was OK, but certainly not "resort quality." interestingly enough, you were expected to bus your own dishes! Resort, really? As soon as we checked in they started pushing a restaurant called Spinners. We checked it out and decided it was of about the same caliber as the hotel, dated and tired.

So, in summary, I would not call this motel a resort and would recommend trying for different lodging when staying along the beautiful Oregon coast!

PS, I have no idea how they got the pictures that they show. The area and rooms look nothing link them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravelerGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great Location, clean, the only place with indoor pool in the area which was great for our kids.

The condos are a bit dated but the resort room was great and spacious. We saw deers from our windows which was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmamane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel was just as it should be. Updated, quality rooms with a nice view. The breakfast was home cooked and tasted good. Real food and cloth napkins - what a treat! The staff was knowledgeable and courteous. I wish we had been able to stay more than two nights.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Draurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Seemed a bit pricey but the location is great, and the beach is right there and beautiful. Front desk guy complained about his co-workers which wasn't great (they accidentally booked us twice). The room was nice but the carpet was stained and one corner smelled a little funny (mildew?). Nicely updated and the water pressure in the shower was good. Non-smoking property but our neighbor smoked on his balcony so we couldn't have the sliding door open. The pool has dangerously slippery tile!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeecarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We just got back from an overnight stay at Gold Beach Resort & Condominiums. I had never been to Gold Beach before so had no knowledge of places to stay ect, but after calling them I thought the fact that they had a short stroll to the beach, indoor pool, and free hot breakfast that it would be at least pretty good. Upon checking in they had already won me over, a sweet young man named Zeke was beyond helpful and he was the first of everyone else staffed there to blow me away with their wonderful customer service! We were starving at check in and he instantly mentioned coupons to local restaurants if we were interested and gave us a great recommendation to the Porthole Restaurant where we had delicious Cod & pie! Yes this hotel does accommodate dogs and between the hotel and pool of course the carpet is a bit smelly but if you would expect different than I'd say your expectations are a bit off. The pool and hot tub won the kids over, and the breakfast the next day won everyone over and saved a family of 5 a lot of money from eating out!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlygarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was greeted by a friendly staff person and received information for dinner and the free breakfast the next morning. The room was fantastic and looked over the beach. The facility was clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanside, but the best views are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singlechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
0.2 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#6 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Resort

Property: Gold Beach Resort
Address: 29232 Ellensburg Ave, Highway 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gold Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gold Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Resort And Condominiums Hotel Gold Beach
Hotel Gold Beach
Resort Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing